We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Livery

The Livery
217 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV
304-645-9836
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Livery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 40 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Price range: $15 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Description: fine dining,new appalachian cuisine,extensive wine list and full bar
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just a nice place to go relax and have a great glass of wine or a nice cocktail plus a wonderful meal. The ambiance is very upscale but yet totally comfortable. The owners have done an amazing job with this new entry to the Lewisburg market. It's not a cheap date but reasonably price for what you get. Enjoy it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    14
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beckley, West Virginia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stopped in to have cocktails. We sat at the bar. The bartender was knowledgable, personable and a pleasure to talk with. The place was neatly decorated and just gave you that cozy feeling. I will definatly revisit if in the area.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Lack luster”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

From the outside the place looks warm and inviting, but inside not so much. The first thing that you notice is the stark lighting in the front bar area and then the lack of lighting in the back section of the bar. The hostess was very personal and sat us quickly. The waiter arrived in due time. The first thing we noticed was the limited menu selection. But we did key in on they had Mac & Cheese but it was only available in the bar(?). So we placed our order and asked the waiter if we get the Mac & Cheese as a side dish. He then reacted oddly by looking to his left & right, acting if he was a spy and we had asked for information detrimental to the security of the United States and blurted out, the Mac & Cheese was sold out. The fried chicken entrees arrived quickly, but not as described in the menu. We realized it was it was all dark meat and the size of the pieces of chicken were extremely small. There was no biscuit as per the menu but there was a lump of starch which we later learned was cheese grits. When we brought the discrepancies to the waiter at the end of the meal, he acknowledged the entrees were incorrect and hastily asked us if we wanted dessert. We declined, paid the tab and flew out the door.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Fancy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Very nice to see this restaurant pop up in Lburg. It is pricey & a little upscale but very nice. Now, the food is not very vegan friendly at all but with a little work with my waiter I got a tasty treat ....that was not vegan. I could taste the butter all over it. Dang it! I soooo wanted it to be vegan but deep in my heart I just knew it wasn't.

If you aren't vegan though...this place looks delicious!!!! The other people in my party were so pleased with their entrees & service....only thing discussed was the price. It is a little pricey at the Livery, but if it is a special occasion.. the setting is beautiful, dimly lit, wonderfully decorated....so go for it!!! Just don't take your vegan friends & fam there. They will be left twiddling their thumbs!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Interesting menu items and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The Livery restaurant has a really interesting entree selections. My wife enjoyed the quail and I enjoyd the seared duck breast. The portions were ample and the sauces and vegetables were delicious and fresh. We both had a salad before our main meal and the ingredients were very fresh. The restaurant also has an extensive wine list. The decor is comfy and inviting.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Livery also viewed

 

Been to The Livery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Livery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;