We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fancy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Livery

The Livery
217 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV
304-645-9836
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Livery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 39 restaurants in Lewisburg
Price range: $15 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Description: fine dining,new appalachian cuisine,extensive wine list and full bar
Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Fancy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Very nice to see this restaurant pop up in Lburg. It is pricey & a little upscale but very nice. Now, the food is not very vegan friendly at all but with a little work with my waiter I got a tasty treat ....that was not vegan. I could taste the butter all over it. Dang it! I soooo wanted it to be vegan but deep in my heart I just knew it wasn't.

If you aren't vegan though...this place looks delicious!!!! The other people in my party were so pleased with their entrees & service....only thing discussed was the price. It is a little pricey at the Livery, but if it is a special occasion.. the setting is beautiful, dimly lit, wonderfully decorated....so go for it!!! Just don't take your vegan friends & fam there. They will be left twiddling their thumbs!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    25
    13
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Interesting menu items and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The Livery restaurant has a really interesting entree selections. My wife enjoyed the quail and I enjoyd the seared duck breast. The portions were ample and the sauces and vegetables were delicious and fresh. We both had a salad before our main meal and the ingredients were very fresh. The restaurant also has an extensive wine list. The decor is comfy and inviting.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Had a good variety on their menu as well as some really good specials. Also a very good wine list. We highly recommendit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
“Good ambiance and timely service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Good selection of wine but rather pricey with not a lot of wine by the glass as I hoped. I had the kind side trout bouillabaisse. That had shrimp and crawfish. Pretty good.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very Nice new Addition to Lewisburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Went there for a business dinner, and was impressed with the food and the decor. Service was tops. The menu options were unusual but very nicely done.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Livery also viewed

 

Been to The Livery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Livery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.