We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting menu items and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Livery

The Livery
217 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV
304-645-9836
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Livery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 44 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Price range: $15 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Description: fine dining,new appalachian cuisine,extensive wine list and full bar
California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Interesting menu items and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The Livery restaurant has a really interesting entree selections. My wife enjoyed the quail and I enjoyd the seared duck breast. The portions were ample and the sauces and vegetables were delicious and fresh. We both had a salad before our main meal and the ingredients were very fresh. The restaurant also has an extensive wine list. The decor is comfy and inviting.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    15
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Had a good variety on their menu as well as some really good specials. Also a very good wine list. We highly recommendit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
“Good ambiance and timely service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Good selection of wine but rather pricey with not a lot of wine by the glass as I hoped. I had the kind side trout bouillabaisse. That had shrimp and crawfish. Pretty good.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very Nice new Addition to Lewisburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Went there for a business dinner, and was impressed with the food and the decor. Service was tops. The menu options were unusual but very nicely done.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Pretty good spot for Lewisburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I wish Tripadvisor had a 3.5 star, because that's what I'd really give The Livery, but I'm going to give them the benefit of the doubt. It is clear they spent a lot of money in building the space and making a comfortable restaurant. I know one of the criticisms has been the price of items, but my wife and I found it pretty reasonable. Service was so-so, but they were busy when we were there and I think if they focus on it they can speed up. Food was brought out quickly.

The food offerings were quirky, and it was nice to have something different. BBQ pulled goat? I'm going to vote yes to any restaurant that tries something like that, and it turned out pretty tasty. The entree was not bad and the dessert was really good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Livery also viewed

 

Been to The Livery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Livery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.