We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Livery

The Livery
217 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV
304-645-9836
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Livery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 40 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Price range: $15 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Description: fine dining,new appalachian cuisine,extensive wine list and full bar
Charlotte
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Had a good variety on their menu as well as some really good specials. Also a very good wine list. We highly recommendit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    14
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
“Good ambiance and timely service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Good selection of wine but rather pricey with not a lot of wine by the glass as I hoped. I had the kind side trout bouillabaisse. That had shrimp and crawfish. Pretty good.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very Nice new Addition to Lewisburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Went there for a business dinner, and was impressed with the food and the decor. Service was tops. The menu options were unusual but very nicely done.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Pretty good spot for Lewisburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I wish Tripadvisor had a 3.5 star, because that's what I'd really give The Livery, but I'm going to give them the benefit of the doubt. It is clear they spent a lot of money in building the space and making a comfortable restaurant. I know one of the criticisms has been the price of items, but my wife and I found it pretty reasonable. Service was so-so, but they were busy when we were there and I think if they focus on it they can speed up. Food was brought out quickly.

The food offerings were quirky, and it was nice to have something different. BBQ pulled goat? I'm going to vote yes to any restaurant that tries something like that, and it turned out pretty tasty. The entree was not bad and the dessert was really good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“New tastes to try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Livery is a newer dining treat in Lewisburg. The interior is warm woods and stone. The booths next to the rock wall were comfortable. The staff was welcoming and everyone did their job very well. We started with a simple wedge of lettuce decked with bleu cheese and this and that--some greenery to make us feel healthier. The grilled pork chop was a little tough with excellent flavor. It came with a very sweet polenta and some dark greens (Swiss chard?), with a sprig of watercress. It was a flavorful combination. The Moroccan beef (locally raised) had been simmering all day and had deep flavors with enticing spices; the texture was a little off-setting with either chunks or flossy consistancy. What we liked was the original combinations and a chef willing to explore the flavor palette.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Livery also viewed

 

Been to The Livery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Livery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.