We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ambiance and timely service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Livery

The Livery
217 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
304-645-9836
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Livery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 46 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: First and foremost, our family loves the town of Lewisburg; it's shops, people and rich history. Our family has been visiting Lewisburg since 2003 when we purchased Westwinds, a horse farm in western Virginia near Lake Moomaw. While we've enjoyed the several restaurants in town, we also felt the locals as well as tourists would welcome and support more restaurant options, and so far we've been right! Our family's first restaurant, Stella's, has been a hit since we opened in January, 2011. Stella's, named and inspired after our mom Alice Stella Hirt who passed away in 1985, is warm, welcoming and elegant, just like our mom was. Stella's has many feminine touches which were influenced by our mom and put into place by Tammy. Our newest restaurant, The Livery Tavern, on the other hand is a very masculine interpretation of a mid-1800's tavern, with an open beamed ceiling and a generous use of natural materials and earth tones both inside and out. The Livery has a full bar, privacy booth seating, outdoor patio seating and an extensive wine and port list. Our menu is a reflection of this same interpretation, with dishes including grilled venison, quail, lamb and local beef cuts like 2 inch bone-in rib eyes. The Livery is also fashioned with a unique military motif to honor our father Major General John B. Hirt USMC, who passed away in 2012. You'll find these military influences in our logo and other decorative treatments inside the restaurant.
South Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
“Good ambiance and timely service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Good selection of wine but rather pricey with not a lot of wine by the glass as I hoped. I had the kind side trout bouillabaisse. That had shrimp and crawfish. Pretty good.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    19
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
89 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very Nice new Addition to Lewisburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Went there for a business dinner, and was impressed with the food and the decor. Service was tops. The menu options were unusual but very nicely done.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Pretty good spot for Lewisburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I wish Tripadvisor had a 3.5 star, because that's what I'd really give The Livery, but I'm going to give them the benefit of the doubt. It is clear they spent a lot of money in building the space and making a comfortable restaurant. I know one of the criticisms has been the price of items, but my wife and I found it pretty reasonable. Service was so-so, but they were busy when we were there and I think if they focus on it they can speed up. Food was brought out quickly.

The food offerings were quirky, and it was nice to have something different. BBQ pulled goat? I'm going to vote yes to any restaurant that tries something like that, and it turned out pretty tasty. The entree was not bad and the dessert was really good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“New tastes to try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Livery is a newer dining treat in Lewisburg. The interior is warm woods and stone. The booths next to the rock wall were comfortable. The staff was welcoming and everyone did their job very well. We started with a simple wedge of lettuce decked with bleu cheese and this and that--some greenery to make us feel healthier. The grilled pork chop was a little tough with excellent flavor. It came with a very sweet polenta and some dark greens (Swiss chard?), with a sprig of watercress. It was a flavorful combination. The Moroccan beef (locally raised) had been simmering all day and had deep flavors with enticing spices; the texture was a little off-setting with either chunks or flossy consistancy. What we liked was the original combinations and a chef willing to explore the flavor palette.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natural Bridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Kiss the Chef!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Tried this new restaurant while in town to bike the Greenbrier Trail. Named for the original building located where the Livery Tavern is now. Beautifully crafted building with lots of room to sit outside offering an elevated view of Washington Street. Fresh, local food expertly prepared!! The service was excellent, especially our waiter! Kept us smiling!! Looking forward to dining here the next time we're in Lewisburg!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Livery also viewed

 

Been to The Livery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Livery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.