We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice new Addition to Lewisburg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Livery

The Livery
217 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
304-645-9836
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Livery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 44 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Description: First and foremost, our family loves the town of Lewisburg; it's shops, people and rich history. Our family has been visiting Lewisburg since 2003 when we purchased Westwinds, a horse farm in western Virginia near Lake Moomaw. While we've enjoyed the several restaurants in town, we also felt the locals as well as tourists would welcome and support more restaurant options, and so far we've been right! Our family's first restaurant, Stella's, has been a hit since we opened in January, 2011. Stella's, named and inspired after our mom Alice Stella Hirt who passed away in 1985, is warm, welcoming and elegant, just like our mom was. Stella's has many feminine touches which were influenced by our mom and put into place by Tammy. Our newest restaurant, The Livery Tavern, on the other hand is a very masculine interpretation of a mid-1800's tavern, with an open beamed ceiling and a generous use of natural materials and earth tones both inside and out. The Livery has a full bar, privacy booth seating, outdoor patio seating and an extensive wine and port list. Our menu is a reflection of this same interpretation, with dishes including grilled venison, quail, lamb and local beef cuts like 2 inch bone-in rib eyes. The Livery is also fashioned with a unique military motif to honor our father Major General John B. Hirt USMC, who passed away in 2012. You'll find these military influences in our logo and other decorative treatments inside the restaurant.
Richmond, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very Nice new Addition to Lewisburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Went there for a business dinner, and was impressed with the food and the decor. Service was tops. The menu options were unusual but very nicely done.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    16
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Pretty good spot for Lewisburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I wish Tripadvisor had a 3.5 star, because that's what I'd really give The Livery, but I'm going to give them the benefit of the doubt. It is clear they spent a lot of money in building the space and making a comfortable restaurant. I know one of the criticisms has been the price of items, but my wife and I found it pretty reasonable. Service was so-so, but they were busy when we were there and I think if they focus on it they can speed up. Food was brought out quickly.

The food offerings were quirky, and it was nice to have something different. BBQ pulled goat? I'm going to vote yes to any restaurant that tries something like that, and it turned out pretty tasty. The entree was not bad and the dessert was really good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“New tastes to try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Livery is a newer dining treat in Lewisburg. The interior is warm woods and stone. The booths next to the rock wall were comfortable. The staff was welcoming and everyone did their job very well. We started with a simple wedge of lettuce decked with bleu cheese and this and that--some greenery to make us feel healthier. The grilled pork chop was a little tough with excellent flavor. It came with a very sweet polenta and some dark greens (Swiss chard?), with a sprig of watercress. It was a flavorful combination. The Moroccan beef (locally raised) had been simmering all day and had deep flavors with enticing spices; the texture was a little off-setting with either chunks or flossy consistancy. What we liked was the original combinations and a chef willing to explore the flavor palette.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natural Bridge, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Kiss the Chef!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Tried this new restaurant while in town to bike the Greenbrier Trail. Named for the original building located where the Livery Tavern is now. Beautifully crafted building with lots of room to sit outside offering an elevated view of Washington Street. Fresh, local food expertly prepared!! The service was excellent, especially our waiter! Kept us smiling!! Looking forward to dining here the next time we're in Lewisburg!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dauphin Island AL
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice porch!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

During the Lewisburg Literary Festival we stopped in The Livery for a light supper. Other restaurants we had visited before were way overcrowded, so we opted for this new place. Checking the menu outside, we entered to find no hostess to seat us. Since it was crowded and dark inside, my husband moved to the porch to check the seating. A hostess appeared quickly and beckoned to him to return. He returned the beckon and we were eventually seated not at the table he found which was reserved but at the one next to it. Finally we settled on two appetizers: a cheese and fruit plate and trout fritters with horseradish sauce. He had a nice glass of wine and I had a beer (no drafts). We tried to order from the bar menu, but we were informed that you had to sit at the bar to order from the bar menu. The small bar was full.
The food and drinks were fine but not exceptional. The porch was very nice.
The Livery is obviously a "place to go" for locals in Lewisburg. If you are planning to spend some time over a leisurely, several course supper, you might try this place. Make sure your wallet is full!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Livery also viewed

 

Been to The Livery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Livery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.