We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New tastes to try” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Livery

The Livery
217 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
304-645-9836
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Livery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 45 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: First and foremost, our family loves the town of Lewisburg; it's shops, people and rich history. Our family has been visiting Lewisburg since 2003 when we purchased Westwinds, a horse farm in western Virginia near Lake Moomaw. While we've enjoyed the several restaurants in town, we also felt the locals as well as tourists would welcome and support more restaurant options, and so far we've been right! Our family's first restaurant, Stella's, has been a hit since we opened in January, 2011. Stella's, named and inspired after our mom Alice Stella Hirt who passed away in 1985, is warm, welcoming and elegant, just like our mom was. Stella's has many feminine touches which were influenced by our mom and put into place by Tammy. Our newest restaurant, The Livery Tavern, on the other hand is a very masculine interpretation of a mid-1800's tavern, with an open beamed ceiling and a generous use of natural materials and earth tones both inside and out. The Livery has a full bar, privacy booth seating, outdoor patio seating and an extensive wine and port list. Our menu is a reflection of this same interpretation, with dishes including grilled venison, quail, lamb and local beef cuts like 2 inch bone-in rib eyes. The Livery is also fashioned with a unique military motif to honor our father Major General John B. Hirt USMC, who passed away in 2012. You'll find these military influences in our logo and other decorative treatments inside the restaurant.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“New tastes to try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Livery is a newer dining treat in Lewisburg. The interior is warm woods and stone. The booths next to the rock wall were comfortable. The staff was welcoming and everyone did their job very well. We started with a simple wedge of lettuce decked with bleu cheese and this and that--some greenery to make us feel healthier. The grilled pork chop was a little tough with excellent flavor. It came with a very sweet polenta and some dark greens (Swiss chard?), with a sprig of watercress. It was a flavorful combination. The Moroccan beef (locally raised) had been simmering all day and had deep flavors with enticing spices; the texture was a little off-setting with either chunks or flossy consistancy. What we liked was the original combinations and a chef willing to explore the flavor palette.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    17
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Natural Bridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Kiss the Chef!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Tried this new restaurant while in town to bike the Greenbrier Trail. Named for the original building located where the Livery Tavern is now. Beautifully crafted building with lots of room to sit outside offering an elevated view of Washington Street. Fresh, local food expertly prepared!! The service was excellent, especially our waiter! Kept us smiling!! Looking forward to dining here the next time we're in Lewisburg!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dauphin Island AL
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice porch!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

During the Lewisburg Literary Festival we stopped in The Livery for a light supper. Other restaurants we had visited before were way overcrowded, so we opted for this new place. Checking the menu outside, we entered to find no hostess to seat us. Since it was crowded and dark inside, my husband moved to the porch to check the seating. A hostess appeared quickly and beckoned to him to return. He returned the beckon and we were eventually seated not at the table he found which was reserved but at the one next to it. Finally we settled on two appetizers: a cheese and fruit plate and trout fritters with horseradish sauce. He had a nice glass of wine and I had a beer (no drafts). We tried to order from the bar menu, but we were informed that you had to sit at the bar to order from the bar menu. The small bar was full.
The food and drinks were fine but not exceptional. The porch was very nice.
The Livery is obviously a "place to go" for locals in Lewisburg. If you are planning to spend some time over a leisurely, several course supper, you might try this place. Make sure your wallet is full!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budds Creek
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Friendly staff and great atmosphere. We only sat at the bar, but intend to go back because the menu looked great!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An excellent dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I decided to give this new restaurant a try while celebrating our 10 year wedding anniversary. We were greeted with a complimentary glass of champagne and excellent service throughout our meal. The decor is beautiful and the atmosphere is wonderful. I tried the grilled port0bello mushroom dish and it was amazing! My husband tried the veal and thoroughly enjoyed it. We also shared an appetizer that consisted of craw fish and grits. Stacy provided excellent service for us along with Chris. I highly recommend this place and plan on returning.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Livery also viewed

 

Been to The Livery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Livery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.