We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My very first Bob Evans...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bob Evans

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bob Evans
1 gateway blvd, Lewisburg, WV
(304) 647 3336
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 44 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Warren, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“My very first Bob Evans...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I was driving through West Virginia on a road trip, and we were hungry, so stopped here for a late lunch.

I see Bob Evans everywhere and drove by the exit for their farm, so I wanted to try it.

It is nice inside, but there was a lot of flaws.

We were quickly seated and our drink orders were taken, then awhile later, our food order was taken.

My girl friend got the 6.99 soup and salad special and she was served way before my friend and I.

She was supposed to get a plate of salad, but instead got a huge bowl of lettuce.

I got the 9.99 three course meal, and chose soup (same as her but came ten minutes later.....) and sirloin with mushrooms and mashed potatoes. Also included was bread, and I asked for biscuits.
We only got regular rolls, she asked for a different kind too, but we never got them...

So what I got was the sirloin and fries?? So no biscuits and fries instead of my mashed..

My friend got a burger and it was fine...

When we got the bill... I was charged an extra dollar for the soup for some reason, and he never asked what I wanted for dessert, and had given us the bill. He disappeared for awhile and when he finally returned, we asked about the bill, he spent 10 minutes trying to fix it, and I got the same exact bill again, frustrated and eagerly wanting to leave, we paid the overpriced amount, after wasting over 20 minutes trying to leave...

Of course the manager asked how everything was when only my g/f had received food, but he was no where to be found during the billing fiasco. At least the caramel sundae was good. The food in general was pretty good, but the service was terrible.

I would try Bob Evans again, but definitely a different location.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Nice service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Loved the fried eggs with just tiny bit of oil. As I said I am dieting.
Salad was good. All in all a good experience.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best chain food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We have had breakfast here many times. The service is excellent, and the food is truly down home cooking. They have even modernized the menu with a turkey sausage, my favorite. You can always count on a good meal at Bob Evans

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Surprisingly bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I absolutely love Bob Evans and was so very disappointed with this one.

We ordered our meals (both breakfasts) and the server brought our food and I looked at the biscuits she brought with my meal. I could tap on them with my fingernail and get a "bonk" noise. Then I picked one up and knocked it on the table and it didn't even crumble. It was that hard.

She asked us one time if we wanted anything else, then the next time she came to the table, she left the checks and we never saw here again for drink refills or anything else. She actually never even offered us a drink refill.

When I went to the register, I told the boy there that I had a gift card that I was unsure of how much was left on it, but if he would just run $20 on it, I'd settle the rest with cash. Apparently, he interpreted this as me having asked him to perform long division because he became flustered and was going to have to ask for help when I told him to forget it and just use my debit card for the entire ticket.

What a disappointing visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
321 reviews 321 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Good place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have eaten at Bob's in many different locations around the country. They have always had good service and good food. This one is no different. The server was pleasant and took care of our needs. The food was good for all three of our meals. Price is very good for what you get. I will continue to go to Bob's whenever I have a chance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bob Evans also viewed

 

Been to Bob Evans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bob Evans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.