We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly bad” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bob Evans

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bob Evans
1 gateway blvd, Lewisburg, WV
(304) 647 3336
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 42 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Surprisingly bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I absolutely love Bob Evans and was so very disappointed with this one.

We ordered our meals (both breakfasts) and the server brought our food and I looked at the biscuits she brought with my meal. I could tap on them with my fingernail and get a "bonk" noise. Then I picked one up and knocked it on the table and it didn't even crumble. It was that hard.

She asked us one time if we wanted anything else, then the next time she came to the table, she left the checks and we never saw here again for drink refills or anything else. She actually never even offered us a drink refill.

When I went to the register, I told the boy there that I had a gift card that I was unsure of how much was left on it, but if he would just run $20 on it, I'd settle the rest with cash. Apparently, he interpreted this as me having asked him to perform long division because he became flustered and was going to have to ask for help when I told him to forget it and just use my debit card for the entire ticket.

What a disappointing visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Good place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have eaten at Bob's in many different locations around the country. They have always had good service and good food. This one is no different. The server was pleasant and took care of our needs. The food was good for all three of our meals. Price is very good for what you get. I will continue to go to Bob's whenever I have a chance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, WV
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This location has good breakfast food and is very popular with the Sunday crowd. Service is pretty fast normally but some times not so much.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Perfect service and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I try to eat breakfast at Bob Evans when I have the chance because I love their biscuits and gravy. This visit did not disappoint. The service was attentive and friendly, the restaurant and rest room were very clean, the food was fantastic and the coffee surprisingly flavorful and strong.

Bob Evans is not the cheapest place to eat but I have yet to be disappointed in the food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I have eaten in cleaner barns.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This restaurant has had the new dining area upgrade. It is far easier to see food, napkins, and other debris on the floor. Our table was cleared of garbage and crumbs were wiped onto the floor by the hostess as she seated our party. The table was covered with spills that were allowed to dry, making the table sticky. During our meal I observed the three tables surrounding ours being cleared. The manager called for the bus man to clear and wipe tables surrounding ours. Dirty dinnerware and large debris was removed from the table top, again I observed the manager use his bare hands to remove loose food from table before seating guests. The trash and food on the floor was ignored. The same busboy instructed the manager to inform his employees that if they can remove the tips from their tables they can clear them as well. This employee addressed the manager in this unprofessional manner loudly and in front of customers. This employee's behavior was so unprofessional i could not help but to turn around to see what was going on. The busboy then addressed me loudly by raising his voice to ask me if he could help me while he postured towards me as if I needed to mind my own business. Had that employee worked for me, he would a the very least been dismissed for a few days. He has the presence of mind to tell a manager what he needs to be doing while at the same time he cannot seem to find the time to properly wash tables, remove garbage from the floor, or replace tables and chairs to their proper location. Servers need to be reminded that they should not be touching food or drinks when serving the food. It is deeply disturbing to watch a server wipe their nose or mouth and then grab the rim of my glass to refill a beverage. My meal and my son's meal was not completed at the same time, my meal came out on three separate trips. And the server asked us about beverage refills and instead of bringing refills brought us our bill which had been crumpled into a ball. If memory serves me correctly the service was poor on my last visit, my complaint was never responded to.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bob Evans also viewed

 

Been to Bob Evans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bob Evans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.