We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stella's

Stella's
208 W Washington St, Lewisburg, WV 24901
+1 304-520-4937
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 44 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Stella's is a special experience in a special town. Take a step back in time to the romance period of the West Virginia mountains, meet the people who've made this historic town their home and enjoy the community spirit that has made Lewisburg grow and prosper. Stella's is a true reflection of this town's spirit, its warmth, charm and above all, it's hospitality. Its everything our mother, Alice Stella would have wanted. See for yourself and join us at Stella's!
Silver Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Six of us stopped by without a reservation before the Jimmy Buffet concert on July 5th. They were very welcoming and accommodating. An acoustic guitar payer/singer was outside on the porch overlooking a nice sized patio with outdoor tables. We sat inside and found the service to be very good. We all ordered something different than each other and I believe everyone enjoyed their meals. I would definitely return if we are in Lewisburg again.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    19
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hinton, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Company Meeting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Cute place. Friendly service. Not many items on menu but food was good. Might want to see the menu before you go so you can decide what you want in advance. My food was very good. I don't know what the price was. I wasn't the one paying.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

It can be a little pricey, but the food is excellent. My husband had a beautiful, rich, lamb stew ($20) and I had Asiago crusted chicken with a lemon-butter sauce on greens ($12). All in all, a great lunch enjoyed outside in the gardens, shaded by an overhead tent.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Nice garden sitting but overpriced meal with slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We ate here during the Greenbrier classic golf tournament week on the Fourth of July. We did not have a reservation and were happy to wait an hour for a table for our larger party.

The good:
Outstanding bar service and bartender. We had several drinks and he was attentive and very pleasant.

Our door seating was so nice on an unusually cool July evening. We enjoyed corn hole in the garden and drinks while we waited.

The bad:
No bread served before or during meal. This seems a bit stingy at the price of $20 for a bowl of ravioli. Bread would be a nice touch

Price. Would seem reasonable if there was a little faster and attentive service. Food was ok but not spectacular.

Service. Very slow. By the time we were seated it was closer to 8 so it was slowing down with a lot of empty tables. Not sure what took so long in kitchen. We didn't finish until 9:30 and put our orders in shortly after being seated.

Wish I could give better rating. Love this little town and garden seating was gorgeous but service and food quality brings down overall grade. We actually had better service and food quality at the drive in up the street the next day. See my other review.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Ridge Mountains, Virginia
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
“Wonderful brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

On a Sunday morning in Lewisburg, WV, the place to go for brunch is Stella's. They are located in a great spot downtown and have wonderful outdoor seating. Wait staff is excellent, coffee was delicious, and the food was outstanding. I had the lobster and mushroom crepe and my husband had the Eggs Benedict. Both were presented and cooked perfectly. We will return next time we're in Lewisburg!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella's also viewed

 

Been to Stella's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stella's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.