We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice garden sitting but overpriced meal with slow service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stella's

Stella's
208 W Washington St, Lewisburg, WV 24901
+1 304-520-4937
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 40 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Lunch Served Thursday thru Monday from 11am to 2pm Dinner served Thursday thru Monday from 5:30pm to 8:30 pmSunday Brunch served 10am to 2pm
Huntington, West Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Nice garden sitting but overpriced meal with slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We ate here during the Greenbrier classic golf tournament week on the Fourth of July. We did not have a reservation and were happy to wait an hour for a table for our larger party.

The good:
Outstanding bar service and bartender. We had several drinks and he was attentive and very pleasant.

Our door seating was so nice on an unusually cool July evening. We enjoyed corn hole in the garden and drinks while we waited.

The bad:
No bread served before or during meal. This seems a bit stingy at the price of $20 for a bowl of ravioli. Bread would be a nice touch

Price. Would seem reasonable if there was a little faster and attentive service. Food was ok but not spectacular.

Service. Very slow. By the time we were seated it was closer to 8 so it was slowing down with a lot of empty tables. Not sure what took so long in kitchen. We didn't finish until 9:30 and put our orders in shortly after being seated.

Wish I could give better rating. Love this little town and garden seating was gorgeous but service and food quality brings down overall grade. We actually had better service and food quality at the drive in up the street the next day. See my other review.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    16
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blue Ridge Mountains, Virginia
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Wonderful brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

On a Sunday morning in Lewisburg, WV, the place to go for brunch is Stella's. They are located in a great spot downtown and have wonderful outdoor seating. Wait staff is excellent, coffee was delicious, and the food was outstanding. I had the lobster and mushroom crepe and my husband had the Eggs Benedict. Both were presented and cooked perfectly. We will return next time we're in Lewisburg!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Stella's Not So Stellar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The location had moved so we were like 10 minutes late for a 7:30 reservation and they close at 8:30. Waiter was friendly, service was slow. Wine menu very limited and as well as the entree selection. My pork was dry and tepid mashed potatoes. Wife was disappointed as the online menu had an entree that was no longer served as well as several other items, including a varied wine list and appetizers. Other patrons were complaining of the same issue and the wait-staff said "the online site needed updated, including new address and current menu"!. The atmosphere was nice, yet the overall dining experience was not! So much for our Wedding Anniversary Dinner!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good meal, outdoor seating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Good food in a casual atmosphere. Service is perhaps a bit too solicitous, but our server was certainly friendly. Good sandwiches, salads and meals, all with fresh ingredients. Limited wine list doesn't detract much. Worn a visit if you're in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Stella's had moved to new surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stella's has moved a few blocks to Washington Street across from Carnegie, New River CC and North House and a lovely green space.

We ate under the tent in the garden which is a delightful venue. I heard the menu had been changed and it has, but for the better I think. They have added some simpler fare and some more moderate priced items but still have kept their outstanding quality and tastes and desserts, which are divine (try their Fig Bread Pudding and Sticky Toffee Pudding, and Creme Brulee). I had a world class Cosmopolitan, then a Caesar Salad, and the Mussels in a curry sauce. Excellent. Husband had his usual steak which is always perfection, others had the coffee crusted pork and the wonderful trout (so glad to see that still on the menu) all of which was perfectly prepared! Bottom line, moving hasn't hurt Stella's at all! It is still number one in my book - and the dining in the garden is a bonus. Oh yes, our server, Harold, was a delight.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella's also viewed

 

Been to Stella's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stella's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.