We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Lewisburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stella's

Stella's
208 W Washington St, Lewisburg, WV 24901
+1 304-520-4937
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 47 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Stella's is a special experience in a special town. Take a step back in time to the romance period of the West Virginia mountains, meet the people who've made this historic town their home and enjoy the community spirit that has made Lewisburg grow and prosper. Stella's is a true reflection of this town's spirit, its warmth, charm and above all, it's hospitality. Its everything our mother, Alice Stella would have wanted. See for yourself and join us at Stella's!
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best in Lewisburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

On a recent trip here for business and pleasure we had dinner and brunch at Stella's. The food was amazing both times with wonderful friendly service. We ate at other restaurants in town but none compared to this gem. Definitely worth a visit if you are in town. They are opening a new restaurant soon called "The Livery" and we can't wait to try it out on our next visit. We are definitely "foodies" and this place surpassed our expectations!
bandh, Charlotte NC

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    24
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Much More Than a Tea House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stella's is in a delightfully renovated cottage with a glorious garden and fountain to encourage summer outdoor dining. Dress is anything from jeans to the little black dress and the food is divine - The Livery and Stella's share Reed, outdoubtedly the best chef in Lewisburg.

We have eaten there many times both lunch and dinner and I have never been disappointed. If you can't do spicy, ask...a few of the menu items can be spicy and they can be adjusted to taste. Desserts feature Sticky Toffee Pudding (an English date cake with sauce) that is unresistable, a creme brulee (a husband pleaser) and a flourless chocolate cake among other creations.

Check their hours and days open - at last report they are closed Tuesdays and Wednesday.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We have eaten here a number of times when staying at the Greenbrier and it is one of the best restaurants we have enjoyed. The food is exceptional, the decor very nice and the sister who runs it is an absolute delight. The food can be rich and the portions generous so keep that in mind when ordering. We can't wait for the other sister to open the Livery restaurant a block or so away later this month or next.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Elegant Little Restaurant with Creative Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Stella's is located in a nicely refurbished old house decorated in cheery whites and light yellow walls. The dining rooms are intimate, have lots of windows, with not too many tables in each area.
Although the menus are limited in terms of items served, most people should be able to find something that pleases them. I had the Maryland fried chicken--a generous portion of moist breast meat and delicious home fries. My wife chose the mushroom and artichoke crepe (delicious but it could have been served a little warmer), and our cousin enjoyed the omelet du jour--with a nicely seasoned mixture of diced vegetables. Our waiter informed us that the kitchen will attempt to accommodate requests for other types of omelets as well. Several of the other guests appeared to be ordering the Stella burger--a sandwich large enough that should satisfy almost any appetite. All meals were beautifully presented.
Stella's regular lunch and dinner menus were equally interesting containing meat, fish, and pasta entries, as well as soups and salads and other appetizers.. The wine menu contained a nice selection of wines--most at a reasonable price. Bottled beer also is available although the variety is limited.
The wait staff is friendly, efficient and helpful without being intrusive. This is an elegant little restaurant that is well worth a visit. We will happily go there again next time we are in Lewisburg.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We keep planning to return but can't get the timing right! Nice Victorian house that's very bright and cheery, and even the decaf is tasty!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella's also viewed

 

Been to Stella's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stella's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.