We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful church and graveyard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Stone Presbyterian Church

Old Stone Presbyterian Church
200 Church Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
(304) 645-2676
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 15 Attractions in Lewisburg
Type: Churches/ Cathedrals, Cultural
Attraction details
Michigan
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful church and graveyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Was told by a WV resident to stop at Lewisburg as she said it is one of the state's most charming towns. Happened upon this church and it definitely caught my attention. It was built in the 1790's and is adjacent to a beautiful grave yard. The church was not open, but enjoyed walking around the building and the churchyard. It is just down the street from the Carnegie building. Definitely worth a look when you are in Lewisburg.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrenton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ancestor at Rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

First time into Lewisburg (I am a Lewis), my husband and I walked around the town, coming upon this lovely church. It wasn't open, however, we were quite taken with the old graveyard. I walked past a couple of graves, and right to the grave of John Lewis, of the 1700's - an ancestor of mine! This graveyard is extremely old, so it is very rich in the history that few of us can get close to - do not miss it! Due to the nature of this graveyard, it is not for those who have walking-assisted devices such as walkers or wheelchairs.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Lots of history here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We got to see inside the church and hear some stories from a local tour guide. The church is very neat inside but the coolest stories are out in the graveyard!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestertown, Maryland
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lovely, quiet location for thought and prayer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Visited the church to gather some information about my ancestors who are buried there. It is a beautiful stone church and the grounds are immaculately maintained.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A must for any visit to Lewisburg!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Wonderful old church with an interesting history and graveyard. Be sure to see the last collection taken during the Civil War.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Stone Presbyterian Church also viewed

 

Been to Old Stone Presbyterian Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Stone Presbyterian Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.