We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Accomodating and Friendly ... plus an awesome breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Great Oak B&B

The Great Oak B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Great Oak B&B
Save Saved
You added The Great Oak B&B to your Saves list
421 E Washington St, Lewisburg, WV 24901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Lewisburg B&B and Inns
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Accomodating and Friendly ... plus an awesome breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

After staying at the Great Oak I agree with most of all of the earlier tripadvisor reviews and think they are generally accurate. There are few things worth mentioning that are very import to us. First, the hosts were flexible in dealing with some late changes to our reservations which was very nice. Second, they were willing to allow our dog to stay with us in the room if our friends couldn't care for her during our stay. As it turns out the dog didn't make trip but we like to support pet friendly businesses. For those that may be concerned about cleanliness (since pets do stay at the Great Oak from time to time) rest assured ... the room was very clean and odor free. Third, the Breakfast was outstanding!

Last but not least, this would be an excellent choice for a first time "Bed n Breakfast" (BnB) experience. I mention that because before I had tried a few BnBs, I was always a little concerned about privacy. The Great Oak is very private. They have just the one unit that is above the coach house and physically separate from their main house. Your biggest "first timer" concern here should be the breakfast, which is going to spoil you and unrealisitically raise your expecations of what other BnBs offer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have stayed in the Lewisburg area quite a few times and were very happy to find The Great Oak available on a very busy weekend. The room is beautifully done, very large, private, and furnished to a high standard. The innkeepers have put a lot of thought into providing those details that make your stay comfortable: coffee and tea in the room, lovely soft sheets, and plush towels. Their most notable hidden secret? Both innkeepers have years of culinary experience and provide one of the most decadent breakfasts ever. We hope to stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The only room offered here is the large room with two beds over the carriage house. The room is sweetly decorated with the finest sheets and blankets (high thread count, a delight to feel). The space is recently renovated with a nice bathroom, and is well stocked with a microwave, mini-fridge, coffee maker and basket of goodies. Breakfast was delightful - we got to choose what we wanted from a large menu and Tara went over the top with additional goodies. For just my husband and I, Tara and Wayne prepared the most delicious quiche ever ever had, sausage patties, biscuits, lemon poppyseed muffins, pecan sticky buns, grits, apple juice, an assortment of jams, hot tea, and fresh fruit salad. After all that, they sent the leftovers home with us!!

My ONLY reason for not giving it a 5 rating is that the rattly air conditioner kept me awake all night and the curtains above the bed are pretty sheer, so each time the air kicked on, I stirred enough to think "Its getting light outside, almost time to get up." The third time that happened, I checked the clock and it was only 2:30am! All in all, I highly recommend Greak Oak B&B and if our travels lead us back to Lewisburg, I sincerely hope we get to stay there again.

Room Tip: There is only one room so plan in advance. Also - they don't take credit cards, cash or check on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is actually my second time staying at The Great Oak and it will likely not be the last! The first time I stayed was in 2006 and remembered it all these years to think to stay there again this trip! The owners Tara & Wayne are amazingly friendly and helpful and are fantastic chefs!

Their property is right off the main strip of Downtown Lewisburg and is close enough in to make it an easy walk into downtown for dinner and entertainment. It is a lovely quiet area with tons of shops, some historical attractions, caverns, theatre, and great places to eat, including the cannot be beat breakfast right there at the B&B!

Your stay will be in their carriage house, a little apart from their main house, so completely private. You walk up a flight of stairs to a nice size room with both a double and a king bed as well as A/C, a ceiling fan, TV, DVD player, a mini-fridge, coffee-maker, and a microwave. The room is very tastefully decorated and quite comfortable. There is also a nice sized bathroom with a tub/shower combo and tons of fresh towels.

While the room is lovely, the absolute best part of the stay here is the breakfast, not only for the great food which you get to choose from a large list, but also because of the company of Tara & Wayne while you dine in their home. They are a lovely couple and are great storytellers who seem to truly enjoy sharing their passion for cooking and life with others. Our breakfast ran almost 2 hours, mainly because we had such a good time chatting. The food though, is absolutely spectacular and they will happily accommodate requests for off menu items as well.

Do not miss out on this gem!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I recently visited this bed and breakfast, and we absolutely loved it. The room is private, quiet, and very clean. The property is beautiful, and the town of Lewisburg was full of fun things to do and places to eat. The breakfast served at the Great Oak was delicious! The owners make everything fresh that morning, based on the guests' selection from a menu the night before. It was clear that the owners put a lot of time and effort into making their bed and breakfast high quality! We will definitely be returning for a visit in the future, and we will recommend this place to our friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Holly, North Carolina
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We traveled with a 60lb lab and needed somewhere we could leave him while we went sightseeing. I wanted somewhere he would not be bothered by noises from other guests and where he would not bother anyone if he barked. The Great Oak was Perfect!!! The room is actually the upper floor of the carriage house and it is charming. Immaculate, pretty, and private sums up this room. We were thrilled!! The breakfast was more than we could ever eat and so good! Lots of choices! Tara and Wayne were super friendly and knowledgeable of the are. A short walk past beautiful historic homes brings you to downtown where there are shops and restaurants galore!! We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: The house is on the corner of two busy roads, so there is a little road noise, but don't let tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powhatan, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

I made a reservation while still on vacation. We were coming back from Marion In so we had traveled about 500 miles. Was greatful to find the home however when I pulled up it need painting and that was a little bit of apprehension...all that went away when we got up stairs to the room we stayed in. WOW. We walked into town to enjoy a wonderful dinner and then came back and enjoyed our beautiful room and some of the amenities. Comfortable beds and a good size bathroom. The carraige house room is just above an old carraige house that has been transformed into a private room.
You choose what you want for breakfast from a LARGE menu and the next morning you have more than you could ever eat sitting in front of you. All freshly made to order and hot. Wonderful company talking to Wayne and Tara. We could have stayed all day in conversation if we didn't have be somewhere else that day.
If you have the pleasure of staying here you will not be dissappointed.

Room Tip: There is only one room. The house sits on a conor lot and it is a little bit to find but look for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Great Oak B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Oak B&B

Address: 421 E Washington St, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lewisburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Great Oak B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.