We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“99 bottles of beer on the wall!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Irish Pub on Washington

Irish Pub on Washington
109 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV
(304) 645-7386
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 42 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“99 bottles of beer on the wall!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and I stopped in the Irish Pub while we were sight seeing in Lewisburg. One of the cool things here was that there were 99 bottles of beer on the wall. The friendly bartender explained to us that if patrons drink one of each beer they have....they carry 99 different types....the patrons get their name on the wall and a hoodie. I thought that was interesting and fun. Don't worry, you don't have to drink them all in one night...they have a check list. So, if you like beer, this may be a place that you want to check out if you are in Lewisburg. They play traditional Irish music, they also have live music, but not on the night we were there, and friendly service.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    20
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A great stop for drinks and entertainment!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

While in Lewisburg this past weekend, we stopped in to the Irish Pub downtown for a drink and stayed for a few as well as the fun!

The Pub is located on the main strip in downtown and is an easy walk from many of the B&B's nearby. You will likely want to walk since their drink menu is extensive, well-priced, and very good! They also had a local entertainer singing a lot of Irish pub songs and he was a lot of fun, getting the crowd involved and even heckling some of the patrons!

The drink list is a booklet they drop by the table, about 10 pages long and includes several pages of beers by category/style, a page full of shots, a page for wine offerings, and a cocktails section. The food menu is quite lacking, just a few small items to be ordered, and just ok quality there, but the place makes up for that in what it is meant to be, a pub!

I started with their Black Velvet... a mix of Guinness and champagne. Had never had it before, but likely will again when and if I can ever find it! I then moved on to their house special Bloody Mary and it was the spiciest and one of the best I have ever had! Sooo spicy! To me it tasted like it may have habaneros in the recipe, but they would not share any info on their house secret mix with me. It was garnished though with green bean, pickled okra, lemon, lime, and olives, so I was a huge fan all around!

There aren't many places to go at night in downtown Lewisburg, but it is nice to know that this one is open and is worth the trip. Just eat before you go and maybe plan to walk back to wherever you are staying!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Delicious food - excellent beer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Delightful little place in the middle of downtown, with easy street parking.

The friendly wait staff helped us choose our beers. We really enjoyed our Corned Beef and Swiss, and the Irish Stew for dinner!

You won't be disappointed: Great atmosphere!! Delicious food. Excellent, AUTHENTIC, live music!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherdstown
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is your typical pub. They have a great choice of beer and menu items. They also have Happy Hour for 3:00 - 7:00 and you can get $3.00 drafts. The bartender was very personable. It was the perfect spot to get a cold beer on a hot day.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“As close to an Irish Pub as you can find in WVa!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Ended up here when our target restaurant was closed. Bartender uber-friendly and food was good for a regular restaurant and not just a pub.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irish Pub on Washington also viewed

 

Been to Irish Pub on Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irish Pub on Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.