We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, Poor Service, Understaffed!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Wild Bean

The Wild Bean
119 E Washington St, Lewisburg, WV 24901
(304)645-3738
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 38 restaurants in Lewisburg
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Vegetarian
Restaurant details
Newport News, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced, Poor Service, Understaffed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Was looking for starbucks and this place was suggested. Waited 30 minutes and got the wrong order even though the cashier is the same person that made my drinks! Dont waste your time or money!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    23
    13
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“An oasis for vegans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Visiting West Va has been a challenge for vegan friendly food. I found Wild Bean on Happy Cow and all I can say is, thank goodness. We had a very tasty black bean burger and a wonderful salad with marinated tofu, greens and veggies. The atmosphere is friendly, casual and comfortable. I would happily come back here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Coffee is great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I loved their Irish cream latte! I have had their food it is good, and my semi-vegetarian friend loves to have choices at a restaurant for a change!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great food & staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Even though they were about to close, they took our order to go and it was delicious and everyone was very friendly, accomodating and helpful. Food was great, too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Disgusting! They serve HAIR in the smoothies! -->no apologies<--”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

On our most recent road trip, we decided to pass through the oft overlooked, charming, well-to-do area of Greenbrier County, West Virginia.

Lewisburg offers much of the charm and eclecticism as any Coastal hip town offers. One of the Lewisburg's downtown venues is a place which appears to be trendy and smart: the Wild Bean: "Organic coffees, and All-natural vegetarian dishes."

During our 3-day visit, we decided to stop for a smoothie and check out the scene. While the vibe feels open and appealing, the haughty staff and ridiculously long wait was almost enough to make us leave (there were only 2 other patrons at the time we were visiting).

We ordered a Blueberry-Banana smoothie. While it was being prepared (or so we thought), we sifted through the wide assortment of vinyl. Lucky us!! The best part of our visit to "the Bean" was snagging a great old album for only $.50.

But it took FIFTEEN minutes to receive our drink --> because (I quote) "we use local, organic blueberries"... ?? Fact: they didn't even begin preparing our smoothie until nearly 10 minutes after our ordering. During that long wait we figured out that the place must be nothing more than a pretentious wanna-be hip and trendy coastal joint.

We opted to enjoy our smoothie outdoors (when it was finally ready). The lovely Lewisburg Main Street should have been the perfect place to sip such a delight .... You can imagine our disgust when we discovered not one, but TWO hairs in the drink !!!

I was so grossed out that I almost lost my lunch (thank God we'd eaten elsewhere!).

When my husband went in to inform the Counter folks, they simply shrugged him off and said "It happens sometimes" then went back to whatever was more important behind the counter, than the customer in front of them.

Wow!! Check out our Trip Advisor reviews: we really try to go out of our way to visit 'Mom and Pop' places wherever we go. Service (NON-service) like that, especially in an upscale place such as Lewisburg WV, was a real shock.

I'm not sure when or if I'll be able to drink another smoothie away from home again. But you can be certain we will let as many people know what happened there, and how it needs to step up its game if they want to tout themselves as being healthy, OR classy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wild Bean also viewed

 

Been to The Wild Bean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wild Bean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.