We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice wines!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Watts Roost Vineyard

Watts Roost Vineyard
2245 Blue Sulphur Pike, Lewisburg, WV 24901
304-645-5308
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 Attractions in Lewisburg
Type: Wineries
Attraction Details
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice wines!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I finally found this place & so glad I did! Check it out. The wines are very good & the prices are very reasonable. The owner is very pleasant. I will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamieWV, Owner at Watts Roost Vineyard, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you! Hope you will come again. Barbara T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun Winery Tasting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I took a side trip from the Greenbrier Hotel to explore the area, and had a great time at Watts Roost Winery. We liked the peach wine so much we bought 3 bottles to share with our dinner discussion group. (and they liked it too.) Owner is very knowledgeable, offering a wide range of wines to taste.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Winery!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was our frist stop in lewisburg and we loved it!

After the long seven hour drive this is just what we needed a wine tasting in a beatiful setting!

For $3 you get to try 10 types of wine and get to keep the wine glass! We also were given a private tour of the winery and were told about the process and machinery that is used in the wine making process.

After teh tasteing we played corn hole on the patio and took some pictures of the barn and grounds.

Best stop on our trip!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Wine, Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We arrived in Lewisburg after a very very long, traffic filled drive and we wanted to start our vacation with a wine sampling. The wine sampling hours are listed as Thurs-Aat 1p-6p. We had a hard time finding the location with GPS. So I called and was upset as it was about 10 minutes before six on Saturday, but we made it right before 6pm and then had no problem letting us taste the wines and view the property. We had a great time. The owner were incredibly kind, professional and interesting. Their friendly conversation and great tasting wine, made me forget the hours were spent in traffic in the pouring rain. We had a great time, just wish we could have been there earlier to stay longer. There is a porch outside where people can hang out and relax and have a glass of wine. There are a variety of wines for purchase at reasonable prices and also wine related items in their shop. But again, the service and friendly atmosphere makes it a place you will want to visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenic winery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We visited Frank & Barbara's winery and really enjoyed our tour and tasting! It's located just outside of the city of Lewisburg, WV and is very easy to find. The wine was delicious and very affordable and has won numerous awards in competition. I highly recommend the "Hern's Mill Red" named after the historic covered bridge nearby built in 1884 ( go there too!! ).

LIFE IS GOOD!

*

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watts Roost Vineyard also viewed

 

Been to Watts Roost Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watts Roost Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.