We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Winery Tasting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Watts Roost Vineyard

Watts Roost Vineyard
2245 Blue Sulphur Pike, Lewisburg, WV 24901
304-645-5308
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 15 Attractions in Lewisburg
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun Winery Tasting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I took a side trip from the Greenbrier Hotel to explore the area, and had a great time at Watts Roost Winery. We liked the peach wine so much we bought 3 bottles to share with our dinner discussion group. (and they liked it too.) Owner is very knowledgeable, offering a wide range of wines to taste.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Winery!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was our frist stop in lewisburg and we loved it!

After the long seven hour drive this is just what we needed a wine tasting in a beatiful setting!

For $3 you get to try 10 types of wine and get to keep the wine glass! We also were given a private tour of the winery and were told about the process and machinery that is used in the wine making process.

After teh tasteing we played corn hole on the patio and took some pictures of the barn and grounds.

Best stop on our trip!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Wine, Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We arrived in Lewisburg after a very very long, traffic filled drive and we wanted to start our vacation with a wine sampling. The wine sampling hours are listed as Thurs-Aat 1p-6p. We had a hard time finding the location with GPS. So I called and was upset as it was about 10 minutes before six on Saturday, but we made it right before 6pm and then had no problem letting us taste the wines and view the property. We had a great time. The owner were incredibly kind, professional and interesting. Their friendly conversation and great tasting wine, made me forget the hours were spent in traffic in the pouring rain. We had a great time, just wish we could have been there earlier to stay longer. There is a porch outside where people can hang out and relax and have a glass of wine. There are a variety of wines for purchase at reasonable prices and also wine related items in their shop. But again, the service and friendly atmosphere makes it a place you will want to visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenic winery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We visited Frank & Barbara's winery and really enjoyed our tour and tasting! It's located just outside of the city of Lewisburg, WV and is very easy to find. The wine was delicious and very affordable and has won numerous awards in competition. I highly recommend the "Hern's Mill Red" named after the historic covered bridge nearby built in 1884 ( go there too!! ).

LIFE IS GOOD!

*

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Quaint Winery, good wines, nice people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Really love Frank and Mr. Beagle (the dog). We were passing through Lewisburg and Sugarbear really enjoys fruit (blueberry, blackberry wines....) did not see any of those varieties at the local stores so we called Frank, and he said he would open up for us.... went out, tasted a new special blackberry wine (highly endorsed by SB), talked about some new wines and some special blends and toured the countryisde. Frank is wonderful to talk to to learn about the local area and the wines just make the day!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watts Roost Vineyard also viewed

 

Been to Watts Roost Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watts Roost Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.