We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Winery, good wines, nice people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Watts Roost Vineyard

Watts Roost Vineyard
2245 Blue Sulphur Pike, Lewisburg, WV 24901
304-645-5308
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 Attractions in Lewisburg
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Quaint Winery, good wines, nice people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Really love Frank and Mr. Beagle (the dog). We were passing through Lewisburg and Sugarbear really enjoys fruit (blueberry, blackberry wines....) did not see any of those varieties at the local stores so we called Frank, and he said he would open up for us.... went out, tasted a new special blackberry wine (highly endorsed by SB), talked about some new wines and some special blends and toured the countryisde. Frank is wonderful to talk to to learn about the local area and the wines just make the day!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewisburg, West Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bottled wine for us!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Found this winery on our way to UVA, and it was a great experience. The tastings were of at least 7-8 wines-most hybrids and very good! We were about to leave, when the woman working offered to take us back into the production area and to try one of their newest wines that hadn't been bottled yet- "Noir"-we loved it so much she offered to start up the equipment and bottle it for us! Great experience, service and would recommend this to any one in the area or traveling through!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eckman
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Excellent red wines for food pairings!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We purchased Watts Roost Vineyard red wines at Tamarak for a "West Virginia Wine Dinner Weekend" at the Elkhorn Inn and found them to be truly excellent- a very happy surprise!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience, wonderful people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

Our trip to this winery was just fabulous. We tasted at least 8 wines, leaving with numerous bottles. The owners, the Tuckwillers are gracious, making the afternoon a true pleasure. They opened the winery specifically for us, accommodating our schedule, making sure that we had a pleasant experience. Loved their alpacas too! If you are visiting the Greenbrier at White Sulphur Springs, make sure you take the short trip to Lewisberg and visit Watts Roost Vineyard.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hospitality and Good Wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

Friendly couple grow their grapes and make wine right on their charming & peaceful farm property at foot of Muddy Creek Mountain. Beautiful views and a covered bridge just a mile away. Wines are smooth, award-winning, easy to drink. French-hybrid grapes opened new wine experiences.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watts Roost Vineyard also viewed

 

Been to Watts Roost Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watts Roost Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.