We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MY trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Lewisburg

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Lewisburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Super 8 Lewisburg
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   550 N. Jefferson Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Lewisburg
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    56
    38
    19
    11
See reviews for
59
28
23
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WOOSTER
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

You might want to try staying in either Beckley or Summerville if in this area of West Virginia..while the accommodations were not terrible, it wasn't one of the nicer Super 8 chain hotels I have stayed in...breakfast was just cereal and breads...would be alright for short stay if not so pricey..just the week prior stayed in a Super 8 in PA that was 25 dollars less and much, much nicer

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM3276, General Manager at Super 8 Lewisburg, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for the comments you posted regarding our Super 8 in Lewisburg, WV. I apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations.

For the last two years we have done many upgrades to our Super 8 in Lewisburg which have included bed comforters mattress pads, pillows, drapes, pictures, beds, chairs and this year include bathroom vanities. I am truly sorry that you thought our Super 8 did not meet your standards.

As regards to the breakfast items, I am sorry we did not meet your requirements for food items. Our Super 8 has just upgraded to the new Super 8 breakfast program which includes, yogurt, cereal, fruit cup and the new brands specific “Simply Super Cinnamon Roll.”

Again, please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectations. I hope when you are in this area again, you will consider us for your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed 2 nights last week on vacation because I couldn't find a good hotel for pets (WV is not very pet friendly) The place reeked of smoke but had a perfumy smell over that. The parking lot was trashy and so was the grassy area in the back and far side. There was no outlet from the front parking lot. It was old, dark and depressing. Rusty fixtures in bathroom. The rooms in Super 8's are very small. You have to step aside to let someone pass. Way overpriced--this should be a $45 hotel, not $65 plus a pet fee. My dog was cleaner than their old carpets.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM3276, General Manager at Super 8 Lewisburg, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
I would like to thank you for the comments you posted regarding our Super 8 in Lewisburg, WV. You are correct that there are many hotels that do not allow pets to stay with you. However, we are a hotel that does allow pets.

The smoke smell that you encountered concerns me. The hotel only had 6 rooms that allow smoking, so I am not sure how the entire hotel had a smoke smell. As of the first of September, Greenbrier County has passed a new law that all hotels are now non-smoking; and we have started the process of converting our last 6 smoking rooms to non-smoking.

Regarding the hotels conditions - the hotel guest rooms were renovated in 2010 with new carpet, paint, bed coverings, pictures, and drapes. This year we will finish with our bathroom renovations that included new vanities and faucets.

I realize that you may not be satisfied with my response to your complaint. So please remember that all Super 8’s are independently owned and operated. Your dissatisfaction with our hotel should not cause you to stop staying at other Super 8’s. Those hardworking owners and operators deserve the opportunity to provide you with accommodations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Large rooms, beds with a comfort level that is more upscale than expected. Upgraded shower head with semi-circle rod for more space. Nice soaps and shampoos. Cora, the manager could not have been more accomodating and was very welcoming to our two dogs. She and her staff fussed over them and really made us all feel welcome. Some rooms on the second floor even have a few of greenery out the window. Did not hear the typical parking lot noise or road noise you often get from motels in this price range. The only slight hitch is the achilles heel of every room not covered by central air...the aging air conditioner. In our first room it sounded like a Cessna going all night. Second room was much better but still audible. Hey Wyndham! Pay attention find a better cooling option! Overall would recommend this place highly.

Room Tip: Second floor, they also have a few suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM3276, General Manager at Super 8 Lewisburg, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your most recent stay at the Super 8 in Lewisburg, West Virginia.

I have passed your comments onto Cora for taking care of you and of course your two dogs that travel with you. Not all hotels accept pets but we are one that is a “pet friendly” hotel, and I can see that Cora went out of her way to make your dog’s felt at home.

For the last two years we have done many upgrades to our Super 8 in Lewisburg and I am glad you noticed those changes. We continue to work on replacing or repairing our individual air conditioning systems for each guest room. I am truly sorry that the air conditioner was not working correctly in your first room but were able to move you to another room with no issues. I would like to thank you for bringing that to our attention.

Again thank you for the wonderful recommendation for future travelers and if your through the Lewisburg, West Virginia area I hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross Lanes, West Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I stayed there for the state fair. My daughter shows her horses at the fair. Day one-bathtub won't drain and alerted staff only to return at 11pm with a daughter needing a shower and same problem. Front desk said maintenance not in and NO other rooms. Day two-new room and an air conditioner that makes a horrible noise and doesn't work. Called front desk and they know-part order and no other rooms. Fair is in AUGUST and no air conditioner! Town sold out of rooms-stuck. Front desk knew of both tub and air issues and rented rooms anyway.

Room Tip: Find another hotel or go home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM3276, General Manager at Super 8 Lewisburg, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your most recent stay at our Super 8 in Lewisburg, West Virginia. We strive to provide each of our guests with a comfortable room and a pleasant stay. I am sorry that that goal was not achieved during your stay at our hotel.

You are correct with the issue with the tub drain. The following morning it was fixed, by the time it was fixed we had already moved you to another room. We also looked into noise that the air conditioner was making. It turns out that nothing was wrong with the unit itself, the room was cooling down. But we did find the issue being the air conditioner sleeve was loose from the wall causing the noise.

Per our conversation at the hotel I did give you a complimentary room for the issue with the tub drain and reduced your rate on the other room caused by the air conditioner.

Again I am truly sorry that this happened to you during your stay for the state fair. I realize that you may not be satisfied with my response to your complaint. So please remember that all Super 8’s are independently owned and operated. Your dissatisfaction with our hotel should not cause you to stop staying at other Super 8’s. Those hardworking owners and operators deserve the opportunity to provide you with accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Lewisburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Lewisburg

Address: 550 N. Jefferson Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Lewisburg 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Super 8 Lewisburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Lewisburg Hotel Lewisburg
Super Eight Lewisburg
Lewisburg Super 8
Lewisburg Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Lewisburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.