We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BED BUGS” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Lewisburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Lewisburg to your Saves list
Super 8 Lewisburg
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   550 N. Jefferson Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights, Save 25%
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Lewisburg
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BED BUGS”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Do not stay here whatsoever...my boyfriend was staying in the hotel for a week while working an event. After three days his entire upper body, shoulders, arms and face were covered with bites. I came out to visit him on his job and at five thirty am I was awoken by him telling me he had more bites on his face which he did not have the night before. I woke with him and immediately started to look for bed bugs knowing this had been an epidemic across America and sure enough we spotted not only the first nymp star bugs but full on adult bed bugs. we took pictures and documented everything. We packed up our stuff right away and threw all clothing that has been on the bed in the room in a trash bag and took to laundry right away. We also reported this to front desk who claimed that it was a dead tick. They did refund our room and claimed they would be calling pest control...Only to find out that the front desk told his boss later when he spoke with hotel that it was only a tick...A tick. Look we have full on pictures of these bugs....Just dont stay here unless you to want to be eaten alive at the super 8....

Room Tip: "No room is good untill they treat for bed bugs"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Super 8 Lewisburg, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
My supervisor and I have had an opportunity to further investigate the issue with your boyfriend’s guest room at the Lewisburg Super 8. You have implied that there was a long standing bed bug problem and that we did nothing. That’s not true.

Over the past 3 or 4 years, local and national news organizations have run stories about bed bugs in hotels and motels. Some of the stories have even involved bed bugs in upscale clothing stores, theaters, and other places where people congregate.

Bed bugs are “hitchhikers” which spread from place to place by hiding in the clothing and other personal effects of travelers who are generally unaware of their presence. If luggage and articles of clothing become infested in one motel, then, unbeknownst to the guest, bed bugs can be transported to another motel; cleanliness, or a lack of cleanliness, are not the cause of the problem. From well-known high priced hotels in New York City to small non-branded motels in rural areas, no segment of the lodging industry has been insulated from the problem.

Because of the increased incidence of bed bugs, those of us in the hotel industry have become much more knowledgeable about bed bugs. Our housekeeping staff is trained to look for bed bugs. When there is a bed bug infestation, there are telltale signs on bed linens, along the edges of mattresses, behind headboards, behind pictures, and in other crevices around the room.

After receiving the complaint from you, on July 4, I inspected the room along with 2 housekeepers. None of us saw any evidence of a bed bug infestation. Nevertheless, the room was put on an out of service status and was inspected by a professional pest control company on July 6. The pest control expert found 5 or 6 live bed bugs around the base of the bed. The pest control company then made an in depth inspection of the room and found no evidence of a long term infestation. Neither the mattress, box spring, nor any other fabric materials had any evidence of an infestation. Further, when the headboard, wall hung pictures, and other items in the room were examined, there was no evidence of bed bugs.

Your boyfriend stayed in the room for 9 days from June 25 to July 4. Prior to that time, the room had been continuously rented, by 16 different guests, since May 28. None of those guests made any complaint about bed bugs or any other insects.

The Center for Disease Control has stated that “bite marks may take as long as 14 days to develop in some people so it is important to look for other clues when determining if bed bugs have infested an area”. Because we had received no prior complaints regarding bed bugs in the room your boyfriend stayed in, and because our staff had found no evidence of bed bugs in the room before or during his stay, prior to July 4, and because the experts only found evidence of a very recent infestation in his room, your boyfriends clothing or personal effects could have come in contact with bed bugs somewhere else.

When a guest is bitten by bed bugs, lodging operators are not automatically responsible. Hotels, like all businesses, are obligated to exercise reasonable care regarding the safety and comfort of guests. That obligation is related to the ability to reasonably foresee a potential problem. There were no signs of a problem prior in the room your boyfriend stayed. I am satisfied that our hotel exercised reasonable care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    70
    48
    22
    18
See reviews for
70
42
28
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galax, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

well its ok this was my second time staying here and it will be my last its just ok. the past two times ive came home with big bites on my body the next day and not just one but this time i have 6 and one is the size of a quarter. the beds are kinda hard and the breakfast is sorry. the tv you have to stand almost on top of it to change the channel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM3276, General Manager at Super 8 Lewisburg, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
I would like to thank you for the information you have provided on your most recent stay with us. I am not currently aware of any pest issues and I would like to investigate your issues further with our pest control company. Would it be possible if you could contact me directly so we can investigate to see if the bites you mentioned actually came from our hotel? I would also like to apologize for the breakfast experience, just to let you know Super 8 is updating their breakfast standards and will be in place this summer. Again thank you for comments and if possible please contact me about the bug bites so we can further investigate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lewisburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I don't know where these other people stayed, but they didn't stay at this hotel and give that kind of review. The staff was non-caring. Mud was tracked in the hall in the morning and remained there all day and evening. The room smelled like smoke/milddew and covered up with a room freshener. The pillows were thin and flat. The volume on the TV didn't go above a whisper but the staff didn't care. Somebody was up all night above us, bare feet on bare floor. Several people were complaining in the morning, and the staff said its the drunks that the police put upstairs. Thats why they only rent downstairs. The breakfast was poor, but we expected it would be with only 3 tables to sit at right at the front desk. I brought my own fruit and breakfast items. Then one of our friends stayed across the street at the Fairfield motel. SAME PRICE and much, much nicer with an indoor pool and nice staff, nice lobby, nice decor, and nice breakfast area with waffles and fruit. SAME PRICE!!!! Geesh. I wish I had gone there.

Room Tip: There are several motels in this area of town. Try one of them instead. You'll be much happier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Great staff, Friendly and polite.They even brought local menues to our door when we called down to the front desk asking about pizza places that deliver. King bed was a true King..they are remodeling and the Hotel is very nice..They are pet friendly without huge charges even for our Mastiff..We over slept and were not rushed out..Housekeeping was very polite and helpful..even giving us a bag for our dirty clothes..Its quiet and we didnt see any riff-raf going on that you see at alot of these hotels these days..Everyone speaks and understands English..We travel for work and are marking this hotel a definate return to place..and our socks didnt turn black from walking around in the room..2 thumbs up...

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM3276, General Manager at Super 8 Lewisburg, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you for choosing our Super 8 for you lodging needs. We were delighted to know your stay was pleasant and enjoyable. We hope that on your next visit you will be able to stay longer and visit the surrounding area and see what makes us the Coolest Small Town in America.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed one night with two adults and our dog. The staff was friendly. The room was clean and the free breakfast was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM3276, General Manager at Super 8 Lewisburg, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you! It means alot to us to know that we are making our guests stay comfortable and meeting our guests needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester,VA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Recent roadtrip with friends traveling thru West Virginia. Stayed at the Super 8 in Lewisburg,W.V.
Great location for visiting Greenbrier Resort casino. Rooms were clean and the price was right!
Enjoyed the Irish Pub in downtown on washington street. This trip was casino's & dog tracks for gambling. Will return again for rafting trip. Thanks Super 8 staff for your great service and recommendations of the local pub. They also have a vodka distillery just down the road with tours Smooth Ambler Spirits.

Room Tip: property in located away from the interstate and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM3276, General Manager at Super 8 Lewisburg, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to comment on our Super 8. We strive to make each guest experience pleasant. I was glad to hear you were able to visit our city and take in a few of the area attractions. Perhaps on your next trip for rafting you could visit the Museum's in town and stroll to the local family owned resturants. Again thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Shabby, rundown, dirty-hair in the sink, outer doors that won't open with the key card, very abrupt front desk. I got a good deal on Expedia that wasn't such a good deal. Spend a few extra dollars and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM3276, General Manager at Super 8 Lewisburg, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thank you for your candid comments. We have been working hard at improving our super 8. During the past year we have replaced all room and area carpeting, updated most guest rooms with new beds, linens, drapes and more. We have also scheduled to have the interior rooms painted for a more refreshing and updated look. I am sorry these updates were not to your liking but we hope that you will give us another opportunity to change your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewisburg
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 8 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 8 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
3.0 mi away
Motel M Lewisburg
Motel M Lewisburg
#7 of 8 in Lewisburg
3.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
23.7 mi away
Quality Inn Covington
Quality Inn Covington
#3 of 5 in Covington
3.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Lewisburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Lewisburg

Address: 550 N. Jefferson Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Lewisburg 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Lewisburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Lewisburg Hotel Lewisburg
Super Eight Lewisburg
Lewisburg Super 8
Lewisburg Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Lewisburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.