We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of General Lewis Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
General Lewis Inn
Save
You added General Lewis Inn to your Saves list
301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Lewisburg B&B and Inns
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

The General Lewis Inn was absolutely fantastic. We got there late and the person behind the counter offered to help us with our luggage. We were tired and didn't need the help, but it was nice of her to offer. The hotel is non-smoking, but there are areas in the garden that accomodate a smoker. Our room was large with a sitting area. The bed was comfy. The bathroom was a bit small...room enough for one... but that is understandable in older Inns. The room and bathroom were immaculately clean. The garden was beautiful and very relaxing. We choose the Garden Queen room and had a lovely view of the garden and well manicured grounds. We had breakfast in the dining room the next morning at the Inn and the food was tasty and nicely served. We enjoyed walking in the town of Lewisburg. The town is quaint with lots of cozy eateries and shops. I would recommend the Inn in to anyone who wants a lovely getaway weekend.

  • Liked — Beautiful antique rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    57
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
43
101
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

We were visiting the US and were travelling around the East Coast / Midwest by road. Between Washington DC and Cincinnati, we picked this as our stopover point and the opportunity to get a little bit of a feel for non-big city USA.

The General Lewis Inn delivered everything we were after. The staff we dealt with by email were very helpful and so they were in person also on our arrival. The Inn was as pretty as the pictures on the internet and for us visitors to the US it was a great thrill to stay in place with the big white columns out the front and rocking chairs on the porch.

The rooms are largely and lovingly furnished in period pieces. The beds were comfortable and the ambience was delightful. We ate in the restaurant and had a great meal - and an even better breakfast the following morning. My wife tried "grits" for the first time.

The location was easy to find and the place was great - exactly what we were after and we were so glad we chose this place to stay. Unfortunately, our timetable did not allow us to spend much time looking around the town other than a quick walk-through, but it is a quaint little town.

Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Old world ambience
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2005

My husband and I and another couple stayed at the General Lewis Inn in mid October, and we loved it.

ATMOSPHERE: The Inn oozes with atmosphere. There is lots to look at (tons of gorgeous antiques everywhere), and the "living room" was very comfortable and homey. We had drinks in front of the fireplace before dinner and coffee there in the morning while we read the paper.

COST: Our small room in the old part of the inn was $120 plus tax. I thought we got what we paid for, but my husband thought it was too expensive. He's a Super 8 kind of guy, though. Our friends had a "Garden Room" and it was $140.00. It looked out onto the lovely back lawn and gardens. Their bathroom was absolutely tiny. But they were happy anyway.

THE ROOM: We were lucky to get a reservation at alll, I think. We called a week or so ahead of our arrival and they only had two rooms left. Our room was small, and the bathroom was small, too, but it was adequate. I had no complaints about the room. It was very clean, which is most important to me. There are a few rooms with two double beds and even a family suite.

FOOD: We had dinner and breakfast in the dining room. The service was excellent for both meals. The food was average to slightly better than average in quality, but it wasn't outrageously expensive, either. The dining room is relatively small ( I think it seated around 40 or so) but the atmosphere is nice.

THE GARDEN: When we first arrived, it was lunchtime. We had packed a picnic and wanted to go to a park to eat it, but there were no local parks (!) so they let us eat our picnic on the lawn behind the Inn. We enjoyed it immensely.

THE TOWN; The Inn is on a hill, within walking distance of the downtown area, which is very nice. We walked downtown after we arrived and shopped. I am a super shopper and I found things that I had not seen elsewhere. Then early the next morning, my husband and I took a walk around the residential area. The whole downtown area is a historic area. Later we drove around the town and countryside. The town is just beautiful and the countryside is like a postcard.

OTHER: Everyone at the General Lewis Inn is so friendly. If you call and ask, they will send you a very nice brochure.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2005

We stayed at the General Lewis Inn on our honeymoon. Although it appears grand on the outside, the rooms were very plain and rustic so we were a little disappointed in the furnishings. We had previously stayed at the Foxwood Inn the night before and we couldn't help but compare the beautifully ornate and grand furnishings of that inn with the General Lewis. I must say that the restaurant in the hotel served decent food. My suggestion would be to eat at the restaurant but stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2005

The General Lewis Inn is immaculate and lovely. It is not opulent, but it is a very nice place to stay. The service was wonderful and we very much enjoyed dinner and breakfast at the Inn restaurant. We have been to the Lewisburg area many times to pick up and drop off our children at summer camp, and have previously stayed at the Greenbrier which is exquisite, but not really worth the price unless you have time to enjoy the amenities. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2004

There are so many elements that make the General Lewis Inn an especially wonderful and stress free experience. The key seems to be the staff - from the front desk help of Rhonda and Helen, to the patience of Elizabeth in the dining room, or the well informed housekeepers, you find yourself surrounded by folks whose hearts radiate the charm and gentility of the Inn. We really cannot emphasis enough how delightful it is to sit at the breakfast table, be visited by Mr. Morgan, and conclude our day with wine on the porch and a friendly kitty in our lap. They are in the business of providing excellent and sincere service, in a charming setting with delicious food - in short, the respite that we all need.

We want others to enjoy the General Lewis, we just hope we can get back there in the near future!! Our appreciation for a wonderful stay, and do what we did - try several different rooms!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2004

We just returned from a three-day stay at the General Lewis Inn. The atmosphere is so welcoming and comfortable that we plan to make it our "home" whenever we travel to the area. We felt so very much at home and so relaxed that it turned what began as more or less a business trip into a getaway. We plan to return often.

  • Stayed April 2004, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Lewis Inn

Address: 301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antique filled country Inn serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. We've been welcoming the traveler with warm hospitality since 1929. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Lewis Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.