We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Inn with attention to service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of General Lewis Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
General Lewis Inn
Save Saved
You added General Lewis Inn to your Saves list
301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Lewisburg B&B and Inns
bayrunner326
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Charming Inn with attention to service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

Our room was clean, spacious, and well appointed. We were able to tour any of the unoccupied rooms which was nice. The onsite restaurant is excellent. Our server Michael was extremely attentive and courteous. The food was delicious and prepared to perfection. Surprisingly affordable, I would recommend The General Lewis to anyone visiting Lewisburg.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    55
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
43
97
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

This is an Inn for those who have lots of time on their hands and don't need elevators, internet access, help with luggage, or 24/7 service. Although I called ahead and was assured that all guest rooms had internet access, it is simply not dependable service and the front desk neither understands it nor appears to care. I had spotty service at best and reporting it produced only indifferent responses.
The Inn is a charming building, full of antiques, with a restaurant on-site. It is a short walk to the downtown shops and restaurants (many of which are not open on Sunday or Monday). I only tried the Inn for breakfast; the food was fine and the service leisurely.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

A great way to slow down and enjoy life. Excellent food for dinner and GREAT Breakfast!
If you were to ask us to choose between the Greenbrier Resort or General Lewis Inn, the inn wins for us.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, OH
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

Although we were only there for one night we would certainly consider another visit and have already told several friends about Lewisburg and the General Lewis Inn. We were glad that we arrived early enough to take a walk down the hill to visit the quaint shops in Lewisburg and still had enough time to enjoy the backyard gardens before dinner in your lovely dining area. Our beds were perfect and all in all we had a perfectly grand visit. Thank you...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hill, MD
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

The General Lewis is a country inn, with charming period rooms and country ambiance. We love the setting, the big porch, and the cozy rooms. Food in the restaurant is excellent, and service is relaxed and friendly. Grounds and setting are lovely, and location is convenient for exploring Lewisburg on foot.

Informative website makes online booking easy.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

A lovely inn chocked full of antiques...each room is unique. The location is great - Lewisburg is a wonderful town to stroll and check out the unusual shops. We were very comfortable and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

I traveled with my husband and two colleagues. They were surprised at the ccommodations for business travel. I wanted to provide a relaxed atmosphere the night before we attended our business meetings. The rooms were very comfortable and the meals (dinner and breakfast) were delicious. Staff was extremely warm and friendly and the service was first class. We are trying to decide between you and The Homestead for our Fall Foliage trip to enjoy the changing of the leaves. Thank you for a wonderful experience and we hope to stay with you again soon.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Lewis Inn

Address: 301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antique filled country Inn serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. We've been welcoming the traveler with warm hospitality since 1929. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Lewis Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.