We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A restful and relaxing place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of General Lewis Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
General Lewis Inn
Save Saved
You added General Lewis Inn to your Saves list
301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Lewisburg B&B and Inns
North Carolina
1 review
“A restful and relaxing place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

A lovely inn chocked full of antiques...each room is unique. The location is great - Lewisburg is a wonderful town to stroll and check out the unusual shops. We were very comfortable and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    53
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
91
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

I traveled with my husband and two colleagues. They were surprised at the ccommodations for business travel. I wanted to provide a relaxed atmosphere the night before we attended our business meetings. The rooms were very comfortable and the meals (dinner and breakfast) were delicious. Staff was extremely warm and friendly and the service was first class. We are trying to decide between you and The Homestead for our Fall Foliage trip to enjoy the changing of the leaves. Thank you for a wonderful experience and we hope to stay with you again soon.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

Main floor room with two beds and quite unusual use of former closets to creat bath; no need for air conditioner and only used ceiling fan. Menu and waiter in restaurant were outstanding for both evening meals and breakfast. A quiet elegance, gently refined to modern standards while retaining bygone era motiff with decor. Each room different which adds to the uniqueness with quaint touches. Tip: inquire as to bath facilities in room you consider booking as some are quite small. However even this adds to the charm.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clay, WV
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

It was our anniversary weekend and our first stay away from our infant daughter. So, we wanted to make our night out special. The General Lewis Inn has a great reputation and we love downtown Lewisburg. I really loved the fact that the Inn was decorated with antiques that we could use as well. The service was great and the room was very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southeastern ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

Believe the room air-conditioner was overwhelmed by a hot day and night.
We should have opened the window and found the ceiling fan earlier.
But that's our fault.
Otherwise, a perfect stay in a really great environment.
Will return to the General Lewis Inn

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

Our room was very clean with a home like feeling. I wouldn't change a thing. We loved Lewisburg. It is not far away from our home and close to some realatives. We plan to visit next summer.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

The General Lewis Inn is a charming place, full of character and ambience. Momentos of days gone by can be found everywhere, and the rooms are simple, yet interesting. I recently visited with my sister and mother, and we stayed in one of the "family suites." It consisted of two small rooms with windows onto the garden, one bed in the first room, and a step up to two beds in the back room, which also featured a fireplace. The rooms were not spacious, but they had everything we needed, including TVs in each and ample seating. The bathroom was minimal, but we did notice the soft towels. The restaurant served a wonderful dinner with wine. We enjoyed rocking on the front porch and in the large gathering room. The backyard was delightful, with benches and flowers in bloom. It was a nice respite after dinner. The quaint shops of Lewsiburg were a delightful walk down the hill. I recommend this Inn, especially if you enjoy a step back in time!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Lewis Inn

Address: 301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antique filled country Inn serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. We've been welcoming the traveler with warm hospitality since 1929. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Lewis Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.