We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little on the Average Side” 3 of 5 stars
Review of General Lewis Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
General Lewis Inn
Save Saved
You added General Lewis Inn to your Saves list
301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Lewisburg B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“A Little on the Average Side”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2005

We stayed at the General Lewis Inn on our honeymoon. Although it appears grand on the outside, the rooms were very plain and rustic so we were a little disappointed in the furnishings. We had previously stayed at the Foxwood Inn the night before and we couldn't help but compare the beautifully ornate and grand furnishings of that inn with the General Lewis. I must say that the restaurant in the hotel served decent food. My suggestion would be to eat at the restaurant but stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    55
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
42
97
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2005

The General Lewis Inn is immaculate and lovely. It is not opulent, but it is a very nice place to stay. The service was wonderful and we very much enjoyed dinner and breakfast at the Inn restaurant. We have been to the Lewisburg area many times to pick up and drop off our children at summer camp, and have previously stayed at the Greenbrier which is exquisite, but not really worth the price unless you have time to enjoy the amenities. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2004

There are so many elements that make the General Lewis Inn an especially wonderful and stress free experience. The key seems to be the staff - from the front desk help of Rhonda and Helen, to the patience of Elizabeth in the dining room, or the well informed housekeepers, you find yourself surrounded by folks whose hearts radiate the charm and gentility of the Inn. We really cannot emphasis enough how delightful it is to sit at the breakfast table, be visited by Mr. Morgan, and conclude our day with wine on the porch and a friendly kitty in our lap. They are in the business of providing excellent and sincere service, in a charming setting with delicious food - in short, the respite that we all need.

We want others to enjoy the General Lewis, we just hope we can get back there in the near future!! Our appreciation for a wonderful stay, and do what we did - try several different rooms!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2004

We just returned from a three-day stay at the General Lewis Inn. The atmosphere is so welcoming and comfortable that we plan to make it our "home" whenever we travel to the area. We felt so very much at home and so relaxed that it turned what began as more or less a business trip into a getaway. We plan to return often.

  • Stayed April 2004, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2003

The General Lewis is my # Top Favorite Location on the planet!


I am an army brat who has been to 31 countries, and I know whereof I
speak.


Mary Moore

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2003

The General Lewis Inn is inviting to overnight guests as well as casual dining clientele.

We look forward to either staying as guests or taking a meal or two on our semi-annual trips to the area. The rooms are all different and most times you may pick anc choose the one that suits you best. The sitting area has something for everyone, games, rocking chairs, a fireplace, books and magazines. You may have your dessert and coffee served there if you like

The owners and locals are seen here frequently and are friendly and open to answer inquiries.

Visitors can feel free to stop in and browse through another century and don't miss the antiques exhibited in the hallways.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Lewis Inn

Address: 301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antique filled country Inn serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. We've been welcoming the traveler with warm hospitality since 1929. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Lewis Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.