We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Coming Home, Every Time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of General Lewis Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
General Lewis Inn
Save Saved
You added General Lewis Inn to your Saves list
301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Lewisburg B&B and Inns
Blue Ridge, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Like Coming Home, Every Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

Our sixth-seventh time at the GL because it's so much like coming home. The character and charm of the Inn is only exceeded by the helpful and caring staff. Dinner is always a treat, and prepared with the greatest of care. Are you tired of "yet another Hiton"? Use the General Lewis to set the standard for your out-of-mundane stays.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    55
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
41
97
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

it was a wonderfully furnished museum like hotel with lots of authentic period charm.
the service was amazing and the staff was friendly.
the general lewis is convenient to everything greenbrier county and should not be missed by any visitor to the area..

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford OH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

We have stayed at the General Lewis several times and have never been disappointed. Everything is clean and comfortable. The people are always warm and inviting. And the dining is great for any meal. Our favorite time is a glass of wine on the porch after dinner.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

The staff was great, food was excellent, I will come back to see the city

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

Love the General Lewis Inn. I have been staying here for years while visiting WVSOM and it's always a pleasure. The rooms and service are delightful and I love the restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, WV
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

The bed was one of the most comfortable in which I've slept while traveling. I loved the ambiance. The dining experience was wonderful. The staff, both in the restaurant and at the main desk, were great. Very hospitable. My only complaint with the room (118) is the faux painting on the moldings in the bathroom. Absolutely terrible and not consistent with the integrity of the period of the inn. "If it were my inn" I would either replace with stained wood or just paint the existing molding white.

Also, we were once seated in the restaurant by a window that was filled with glass pieces on shelves. From a distance it was very pretty. However, sitting next to it revealed that most pieces were chipped or cracked and all were dirty.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

My wife and I were guests at the inn in Jan. This is part of a long-standing love affair with WV, Lewisburg...and mostly, this inn. We intended to drive to Asheville, NC, after spending a couple of days in the area.

We love the atmosphere they have created, the sense of place they give us, blending great history with exceptional service, cozy rooms and one of the most charming dining rooms anywhere!

Unfortunately, my wife....a stroke survivor....fell downtown during this visit. We came back to the inn but the pain slowly increased and we finally ended up having to be taken by ambulance to the hospital, where we were also treated royally.

The hip was broken, but the fracture (disguised as an old injury) was not apparent for another week or so. During our stay we experienced some of the best and most sincere customer service we have encountered anywhere in the world. All of the staff....directed during our stay by Helen....were nothing short of terrific.

I know this comes directly from the "corporate culture" as they call it, or more precisely, the owner innkeepers. This is the sort of hospitality sorely missing in most hostelries and the reason for the great success of independent properties such as this.

There was not one detail missed, not one kindness left out, not one hand left unextended in the attempt to make Mary comfortable and our stay memorable.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Lewis Inn

Address: 301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antique filled country Inn serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. We've been welcoming the traveler with warm hospitality since 1929. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Lewis Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.