We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stepping back in time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of General Lewis Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
General Lewis Inn
Save
You added General Lewis Inn to your Saves list
301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Delaware
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Stepping back in time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

What's good;
- Convenient location to downtown shops and restaurants
- Decent price

Some might like:
- Historically charming, it's an old inn so you feel like you stepped back in time.
- It has an old front porch with rocking chairs.
- They also had a county music duo playing the night we stayed here.
- Authentic beds. TIP: Look under the bed for a step to get in and out of bed, the one we had was really tall.

What could use some improvement:
- the front office staff were ok but not overly friendly & seemed a bit stressed.
- the room we stayed in was tight - a lot of furniture and decorations for the size of the room.
- bathroom was tiny.

Room Tip: Look at line for pictures of the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review us on Trip Advisor. We always appreciate tips on how to improve, as well as hearing that you had a good time with us. Please come back! Sincerely, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    65
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
54
118
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Staying at the General Lewis is always a treat. If you are looking for a rather mediocre stay, then stay at one of the chain hotels. The General Lewis is clean, efficient, and in the adorable town of Lewisburg...with great restaurants and shopping. Always a treat and relaxing too!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
We greatly appreciate that you took time to write your review of the Inn. Looking forward to your return soon. Sincerely, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My family and I went to the WV State Fair and needed a place to stay over night. At first, we looked at all the big chain hotels in the area, but I came across the General Lewis Inn and thought it would be fun to stay somewhere more local. Our stay was fantastic! The service was excellent, our rooms were clean and quaint, and the restaurant downstairs was good too. Very charming, with great space in the front and back lawn to sit and chat with friends and family. Plus, it was walking distance to awesome local restaurants and shops.

Highly recommend! Skip the boring chain hotel and stay at the authentic, historical General Lewis Inn!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for sharing with Readers about the great restaurants in Lewisburg. Hope that you'll be back again soon. Sincerely, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stopped in Lewisburg for one afternoon & night on a longer road trip. The General Lewis was an ideally located base for exploring the downtown area on foot, a welcome break from hours in the car. The inn is an older property furnished with antiques, so be prepared for some creaks, crannies, and character. However, the staff was great, the room was clean, breakfast was good, and the overall ambiance was a nice change from chain hotels.

Room Tip: Each room is unique. Second floor requires climbing stairs, so ask for first floor if you have limi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Friends, Thanks for the kind review! Creaks, Crannies and Character should be written under General Lewis Inn in all of our publicity! We'll look forward to having you back. Sincerely, Nan Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed one night ( July 31 2014) when passing through Lewisburg on my way to South Carolina.
The general Lewis is an old 25 room Inn centrally located in Lewisburg. It has a large front porch with rocking chairs to enjoy a late afternoon cocktail . Public areas are quiet, clean and simply furnished in keeping with an old Inn. Rooms are basic,very clean and well kept although double room was very small even for one person and TV was poorly located and very small with only basic cable service. Bathrooms are very small , old and outdated as you might expect but clean and serviceable.
Service is pleasant and good. Food is decent but nothing exceptional.. Overall, a good experience as long as your expectation is for a quaint, old Inn that is clean and pleasant and not the Ritz. Recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a mid price room. Lowest priced rooms are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Traveler, Thanks very much for posting on Trip Advisor with you kind comments. Especially like the use of "quaint old inn" as that description well describes us! Hope you'll come back again. Sincerely, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

What a nice experience. We were greeted at check in by someone who was accommodating and displayed a genuine interest in our staying that the hotel. We had packed bikes to cylse the Greenbrier Trail and the hotel provided a secure covered space for us to stow our three bikes for the night.
The hotel was a pleasant change from the traditional boxes provided by the chains - very unique decor, comfortable beds and an overall excellent facility

Room Tip: We had three adults in the party - got room 202 which had two doubles in one room and a queen and si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you very much for posting your fine review on Trip Advisor. Sometime the perfect combination of people get to stay in our "Family Suite" which is actually two rooms with "lots of beds"... Glad you enjoyed your stay here and hope that you'll come back again. The Greenbrier River Trail is an attraction which we feel fortunate to have so close by. It's fun from both top to bottom and the other way. Sincerely, Nan Morgan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We like staying at lodging that is not the usual sterile but bland look alike chain inn. In that regard, the General Lewis Inn did not disappoint. Regal on the outside and comfortable and rustic on the inside, it is chock full of historical artifacts and the ghosts of times past. A peaceful garden sits out back. We stayed in the family suite, which has a spacious central room with a queen bed and a smaller, tight bedroom with two beds that accommodated three adults and one child adequately. The bathroom was a bit small, but clean and well stocked with towels and toiletries. It was located off of the central room in the far corner instead of between the rooms, which was a bit inconvenient. The beds were comfortable. We ate breakfast in the dining room where the service staff were very warm and friendly. The food was good and comparable to the usual hotel breakfast in quality and price. The location is within easy walking distance to downtown Lewisburg's cafes, shops and other businesses. Other attractions and great outdoor adventures are a short drive away.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor to avoid hearing foot traffic. Don't expect a typical hotel la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Friends, Thanks so much for sharing your experience staying with us by using TripAdvisor. We appreciate knowing about the inconvenience's, too. Sometime the "charm" of the old inn makes sharing a suite with others a little difficult, especially when they have to walk through your room to get to the shared bathroom!!! Sorry! Hope you will stay with us again and try out all of our rooms. Sincerely, Nan Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewisburg
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 8 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 8 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
1.7 mi away
Motel M Lewisburg
Motel M Lewisburg
#7 of 8 in Lewisburg
3.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
24.4 mi away
Quality Inn Covington
Quality Inn Covington
#4 of 5 in Covington
3.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Lewis Inn

Address: 301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique lodging for the modern traveler who loves antiques and modern amenities. Handmade soaps, 100% cotton linens and towels, spring water in every room. We welcome you and look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Lewis Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.