We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to Commend This Quaint Old Inn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of General Lewis Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
General Lewis Inn
Save Saved
You added General Lewis Inn to your Saves list
301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Lewisburg B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lots to Commend This Quaint Old Inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed one night ( July 31 2014) when passing through Lewisburg on my way to South Carolina.
The general Lewis is an old 25 room Inn centrally located in Lewisburg. It has a large front porch with rocking chairs to enjoy a late afternoon cocktail . Public areas are quiet, clean and simply furnished in keeping with an old Inn. Rooms are basic,very clean and well kept although double room was very small even for one person and TV was poorly located and very small with only basic cable service. Bathrooms are very small , old and outdated as you might expect but clean and serviceable.
Service is pleasant and good. Food is decent but nothing exceptional.. Overall, a good experience as long as your expectation is for a quaint, old Inn that is clean and pleasant and not the Ritz. Recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a mid price room. Lowest priced rooms are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Traveler, Thanks very much for posting on Trip Advisor with you kind comments. Especially like the use of "quaint old inn" as that description well describes us! Hope you'll come back again. Sincerely, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    53
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
38
94
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

What a nice experience. We were greeted at check in by someone who was accommodating and displayed a genuine interest in our staying that the hotel. We had packed bikes to cylse the Greenbrier Trail and the hotel provided a secure covered space for us to stow our three bikes for the night.
The hotel was a pleasant change from the traditional boxes provided by the chains - very unique decor, comfortable beds and an overall excellent facility

Room Tip: We had three adults in the party - got room 202 which had two doubles in one room and a queen and si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you very much for posting your fine review on Trip Advisor. Sometime the perfect combination of people get to stay in our "Family Suite" which is actually two rooms with "lots of beds"... Glad you enjoyed your stay here and hope that you'll come back again. The Greenbrier River Trail is an attraction which we feel fortunate to have so close by. It's fun from both top to bottom and the other way. Sincerely, Nan Morgan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We like staying at lodging that is not the usual sterile but bland look alike chain inn. In that regard, the General Lewis Inn did not disappoint. Regal on the outside and comfortable and rustic on the inside, it is chock full of historical artifacts and the ghosts of times past. A peaceful garden sits out back. We stayed in the family suite, which has a spacious central room with a queen bed and a smaller, tight bedroom with two beds that accommodated three adults and one child adequately. The bathroom was a bit small, but clean and well stocked with towels and toiletries. It was located off of the central room in the far corner instead of between the rooms, which was a bit inconvenient. The beds were comfortable. We ate breakfast in the dining room where the service staff were very warm and friendly. The food was good and comparable to the usual hotel breakfast in quality and price. The location is within easy walking distance to downtown Lewisburg's cafes, shops and other businesses. Other attractions and great outdoor adventures are a short drive away.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor to avoid hearing foot traffic. Don't expect a typical hotel la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Friends, Thanks so much for sharing your experience staying with us by using TripAdvisor. We appreciate knowing about the inconvenience's, too. Sometime the "charm" of the old inn makes sharing a suite with others a little difficult, especially when they have to walk through your room to get to the shared bathroom!!! Sorry! Hope you will stay with us again and try out all of our rooms. Sincerely, Nan Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This was my second time staying at the General Lewis. The first was 14 years ago and it was just myself and one other person. This time it was myself, my husband and 5 children. You actually feel like you are stepping into the past from the moment you walk in the door. The children loved playing all of the games in the parlor and sitting on the front porch. The food at the restaurant was amazing for both dinner and breakfast. The staff was super nice and made us feel at home the entire time. One person took the time to tell my children ghost stories about the inn and they are still talking about how cool it was... The bed was so comfortable I didn't want to get up each morning! We will definitely be back next year and plan to spend more than one night so we have time to check out the rest of the town.

Room Tip: The rooms are all different but some are larger than others. The ones with the two beds are larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Friends, It was a pleasure to have your family stay with us. We really do enjoy telling the ghost stories! Different staff have different stories, so be sure to ask about any new stories the next time you visit. Thanks for your kind words on TripAdvisor. Sincerely, Nan Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hometown, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My wife and I have stayed here most summers for the last 15 years while she is in town on business. There are many options to stay nearby with pools and exercise rooms but we just can't tear ourselves away from the wonderful service we receive at the General. The food service is also amazing. Their chefs rival anything we have tried in the area and that includes the Greenbrier. The entire staff go out of their way to ensure a delightful visit. If we are traveling anywhere near Lewisburg we make a point to stop in for a meal. I am happy that the dinning room is again serving lunch also.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Joe, It's hard to believe that it's been that many years!!! Wonderful to have you as our guests. We look forward to keeping the Inn a tradition for your stay in Lewisburg. Thanks for all the good words and many years of knowing each other. Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is my favorite place to stay. Better than all other hotels nationwide. The atmosphere, the service and the restaurant are just magical. I have stayed here many times over the past 25 years, and it just gets better. The decor and atmosphere is amazing. The restaurant serves nothing but the best, and the service is impecable.

Room Tip: Any room of great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Friends, How kind you are to post on Trip Advisor. Time passes so quickly. Hope that you will make the Inn part of your travel plans for many years to come, Sincerely, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My family stayed here on our way to take our children to camp. Although the bed was small (do not stay here if you are used to a king!), overall it was great. The service was very friendly, the rooms were clean, it was quiet, and the breakfast we had at the restaurant downstairs was hearty.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
We hope you'll make the Inn part of your Camp experience. We have generations of "girls" that have stayed with us and it's always a pleasure. Thank you for your kind words. Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Lewis Inn

Address: 301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antique filled country Inn serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. We've been welcoming the traveler with warm hospitality since 1929. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Lewis Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.