We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Friendly Place to Get Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of General Lewis Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
General Lewis Inn
Save
You added General Lewis Inn to your Saves list
301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Lewisburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Midway, Kentucky, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Friendly Place to Get Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

A friend of mine and I rented one of the two two-bedroom "suites" at the inn. This is the fourth or fifth time I've stayed at the General Lewis, and my experience has always been excellent. This stay was no exception. Although we had breakfast elsewhere every morning of our visit, we had dinner at the inn restaurant all three nights of our stay. Each meal was outstanding: well prepared, plentiful portions, and delicious. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I would recommend the General Lewis most highly.

Room Tip: Every room is different. Some have two double beds, some have king-sized beds, and some have beds fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Friends, Thanks so much for the great review! Those family suites make great rooms for getting together with family and/or friends. So glad that you enjoyed having your meals here at the Inn. With all the great choices that Lewisburg for fine dining, it's good to hear that you choose us! We look forward to having you again, warmer weather next time, we hope!!! Best regards, Nan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    59
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
44
109
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbus Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We originally wanted to go to the Greenbrier for our 30th anniversary but just couldn't justify the cost of the room and the outrageous meal prices. Found the General Lewis instead and what a treasure. Desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms are cozy and charming. They leave the vacant rooms open so you can look in them. They have a variety of rooms for all kinds of groups. Some have complained about the firm beds--I slept very soundly on ours. Breakfasts are delicious! Staff in dining room were fun, efficient and very good at their jobs. Lewisburg is a real gem and the General Lewis is the best place to stay. Within walking distance of the downtown shopping area. Looking forward to going back some day. Thank you all for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful but choose your room based on the number in your party--no need for two or t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Ohio Friends, We love being so close to the Greenbrier Resort, and what good news for us that your interest in staying there led you to our doors!!! It's great to be close enough that you can enjoy all the wonderful shops at the Greenbrier and then come back to Lewisburg to enjoy our lodging and great variety of wonderful restaurants and shops downtown here, too. Thanks so much for posting your review. So many people use Trip Advisor to find us!!! Hope you'll be back again to celebrate another anniversary. Sincerely, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I travel regularly to the area for business and love to stay at the General Lewis Inn. I loved it so much that I had my wedding in their garden area. On my last stay I asked about the soup of the day. It was a broth-base spinach soup. I couldn't imagine it being good, but tried it anyway. As with everything else I have ever eaten, it was delicious!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear General Lewis Inn Bride! What a great review you've done for us on Trip Advisor. Thank you so much. Phyllis' spinach soup has been a favorite for many years - so glad you like it, too.
We look forward to having you as our guest for many years. Thanks again! Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, KY
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

My husband had stayed here 51 years ago with his parents as they would bring him to camp. He said the place was unchanged with a smile on his face. It was like stepping back in time. The bed as nice and the bathroom small. Very close to Washington Lee College & VMI.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Friends, Thanks for your thoughtful review of the Inn. Your husband was correct in his observation that it hadn't changed much in 50 years. The updates (WIFI, HVAC, Sprinklers) were all done with as little change to the overall look as we could possibly manage. It is certainly lots of history and a pleasure when our guest take notice. Thank you so much. I enjoyed seeing your beautiful paintings on line. Warm regards, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richwood, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had a lovely dinner in the dining room and then spent a restful night in our second floor room. What a wonderful Valentine's Day present for both my husband and me. On Saturday morning after breakfast we talked with the Inn's owner and reminisced about her father who was "Mr. Personality" of the Inn and the first person we met on our first trip to the restaurant over 10 years ago. Going to the Inn is like visiting old friends, and we always enjoy returning and feeling welcomed..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Friends, What a great pleasure to reminisce with you about days gone by. Mr. Morgan, Dad, enjoyed the chance to meet and make new friends, year after year. They came to the Inn in 1985 which was the year that Dad retired from forty years with DuPont. How much fun it was for me to talk about Richwood and your dedication to travel and tourism there. It's a great business to be in!!! Look forward to having you back. Sincerely, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

My husband and I have fallen in love with the General Lewis Inn as have our friends, and this is our second weekend stay with friends. The Inn is charming and warm, and every room is different. They are all furnished with antiques, but still have flat screen TV and wi-fi! The food, too, is not to be missed! You absolutely must try the winter weekend special the Inn offers. The dinners and breakfasts are all included in a two night stay for a fabulous value. Make reservations for your dinner! Staff is great, too!

Room Tip: No elevators, so first floor rooms are great for those who'd rather not deal with stairs. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Well, thanks for a great Trip Advisor Review. You were such a fun group of people it seemed like the Inn came alive when you arrived, and it got very quiet when you left. We just loved having you all here and the weather seemed to give us all lots to talk about. Looking forward to having you back. Sincerely, Nan and all the Crew here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Excellent time...my sister and I took mom for her 60th. Great dinner and breakfast. Enjoyed the fireplace, string music, games and drinks on Sunday night. Had been there several times prior with my spouse. Always a great experience. Staff is very kind and accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Friend, Thanks so much for your review on Trip Advisor! Glad to hear that you enjoyed our live music! Hope that you'll make the Inn a destination for the next hallmark birthday. Thanks for celebrating 60, too. Warm regards, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Lewis Inn

Address: 301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antique filled country Inn serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. We've been welcoming the traveler with warm hospitality since 1929. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Lewis Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.