We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots & Lots of History” 4 of 5 stars
Review of General Lewis Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
General Lewis Inn
Save Saved
You added General Lewis Inn to your Saves list
301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Lewisburg B&B and Inns
Henderson, KY
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Lots & Lots of History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

My husband had stayed here 51 years ago with his parents as they would bring him to camp. He said the place was unchanged with a smile on his face. It was like stepping back in time. The bed as nice and the bathroom small. Very close to Washington Lee College & VMI.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Friends, Thanks for your thoughtful review of the Inn. Your husband was correct in his observation that it hadn't changed much in 50 years. The updates (WIFI, HVAC, Sprinklers) were all done with as little change to the overall look as we could possibly manage. It is certainly lots of history and a pleasure when our guest take notice. Thank you so much. I enjoyed seeing your beautiful paintings on line. Warm regards, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    53
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
38
94
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
RICHWOOD
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had a lovely dinner in the dining room and then spent a restful night in our second floor room. What a wonderful Valentine's Day present for both my husband and me. On Saturday morning after breakfast we talked with the Inn's owner and reminisced about her father who was "Mr. Personality" of the Inn and the first person we met on our first trip to the restaurant over 10 years ago. Going to the Inn is like visiting old friends, and we always enjoy returning and feeling welcomed..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Friends, What a great pleasure to reminisce with you about days gone by. Mr. Morgan, Dad, enjoyed the chance to meet and make new friends, year after year. They came to the Inn in 1985 which was the year that Dad retired from forty years with DuPont. How much fun it was for me to talk about Richwood and your dedication to travel and tourism there. It's a great business to be in!!! Look forward to having you back. Sincerely, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

My husband and I have fallen in love with the General Lewis Inn as have our friends, and this is our second weekend stay with friends. The Inn is charming and warm, and every room is different. They are all furnished with antiques, but still have flat screen TV and wi-fi! The food, too, is not to be missed! You absolutely must try the winter weekend special the Inn offers. The dinners and breakfasts are all included in a two night stay for a fabulous value. Make reservations for your dinner! Staff is great, too!

Room Tip: No elevators, so first floor rooms are great for those who'd rather not deal with stairs. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Well, thanks for a great Trip Advisor Review. You were such a fun group of people it seemed like the Inn came alive when you arrived, and it got very quiet when you left. We just loved having you all here and the weather seemed to give us all lots to talk about. Looking forward to having you back. Sincerely, Nan and all the Crew here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Excellent time...my sister and I took mom for her 60th. Great dinner and breakfast. Enjoyed the fireplace, string music, games and drinks on Sunday night. Had been there several times prior with my spouse. Always a great experience. Staff is very kind and accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Friend, Thanks so much for your review on Trip Advisor! Glad to hear that you enjoyed our live music! Hope that you'll make the Inn a destination for the next hallmark birthday. Thanks for celebrating 60, too. Warm regards, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We've stayed at General Lewis Inn a few times now, and it's always a wonderful experience; charming, cozy, and convenient to Downtown Lewisburg. The staff is excellent and the restaurant is very nice. Breakfasts are good and plentiful! The wait staff treat you like family. When traveling to West Virginia, this will be my "second home."

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thanks for your kind words on Trip Advisor. We're grateful for our downtown location and how our guests only have a couple of blocks to walk to great restaurants (in addition to our own!) and fun shopping. Looking forward to being your "second home"!!! Sincerely, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed here over Christmas and the decorations in the great room by the big gas fireplace
made for a great Holiday atmosphere.

The restaurant is also very good but frequented by locals so you need reservations.

Room Tip: This is an antique building so some rooms are more updated than others. Heating unit can be noisy...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest, Thanks so much for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. Paula did a great job on our Christmas Decorations and we had a wonderful holiday here. Glad that you had a chance to enjoy our dining room, and yes, we've got a lot of local people eating here, too, so it is good to have your reservations early. Sorry about the heater noise. Just can seem to get the fans to run as quietly as we'd like. Thanks for staying with us and looking forward to your return. Sincerely, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The staff were extremely professional, and the rooms were clean. It's a great place to stay if you want to explore the town of Lewisburg. There's a cozy common area with a nice fireplace and plenty of antiques and historic artifacts to look at. Best thing about this place is the silence. If you're looking for peace and quiet this is the place to go.

The food was decent (but not exceptional). The service offered was good too. I can't offer a perfect rating because I'm a coffee fiend, and there was no coffee ready in the lobby when I went down in the morning. Other than that, no real complaints.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Fellow Coffee Lover,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. And thank you ESPECIALLY for the reminder on the importance of Morning Coffee. My sincere apology for not having our coffee ready for you. That's certainly one of the first things on most (whether travelers or workers) minds as we awake and get going in the mornings.
We are always trying to improve, so thanks also for the heads up on the food. Thank you again for your help. Sincerely, Nan Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Lewis Inn

Address: 301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antique filled country Inn serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. We've been welcoming the traveler with warm hospitality since 1929. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Lewis Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.