We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, cozy, country experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of General Lewis Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
General Lewis Inn
Save Saved
You added General Lewis Inn to your Saves list
301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Lewisburg B&B and Inns
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
“Comfortable, cozy, country experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The staff were extremely professional, and the rooms were clean. It's a great place to stay if you want to explore the town of Lewisburg. There's a cozy common area with a nice fireplace and plenty of antiques and historic artifacts to look at. Best thing about this place is the silence. If you're looking for peace and quiet this is the place to go.

The food was decent (but not exceptional). The service offered was good too. I can't offer a perfect rating because I'm a coffee fiend, and there was no coffee ready in the lobby when I went down in the morning. Other than that, no real complaints.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Fellow Coffee Lover,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. And thank you ESPECIALLY for the reminder on the importance of Morning Coffee. My sincere apology for not having our coffee ready for you. That's certainly one of the first things on most (whether travelers or workers) minds as we awake and get going in the mornings.
We are always trying to improve, so thanks also for the heads up on the food. Thank you again for your help. Sincerely, Nan Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    53
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
38
94
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Had the most wonderful time during my stay in Lewisburg at the Gen. Lewis Inn. Can't wait to go back! Food was great, ambiance spectacular, and the staff was super sweet. Just a short walk into downtown Lewisburg with a great coffee shop and a pub that made me feel like I was back in Ireland!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Friends,
Thanks very much for your kind comments on Trip Advisor. It's great to be compared to being in Ireland!!! Hope your travels bring you back to Lewisburg again. Sincerely, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed at the General Lewis Inn for our 35th anniversary. The room (223) was excellent. Dinner and breakfast in the restaurant was superb. The wait-staff were so friendly and helpful. A 5-star stay!!!!!!

Room Tip: This is an older inn with wonderful, cozy, rooms. A wonderful fire awaits you in the foyer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear McClungs, Thanks for the great review on Trip Advisor. We also really appreciated the email. Yes, the Inn would not be the same without Elizabeth and Coleman. We'll look forward to having you back. Wishing you all the Joy of the Season, Thanksgiving and Christmas, and the coming New Year. Warm regards, Nan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Wonderful place to stay. Interesting rooms with antiques, good food, friendly. Great bicycling nearby on greenbrier trail. We have stayed many times and will be back soon. The town is interesting with small shops.

Room Tip: the doors to the unbooked rooms are open, look around and see what you like
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Friends. What great words to hear "best place to stay in WV" !!! Thank you. Glad that you mentioned the Greenbrier River Bike Trail. That's a great attraction and we've had people start and/or finish the Trail from here at the Inn - three days of isolated river beauty and bird watching.
Wishing you the best for the Holiday. Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our queen bed room was bright, cheery, and nicely decorated. We're glad we made advance reservations for the dining room, as we would have been out of luck. Both locals and inn residents filled up the dining room. The staff was very busy, but not too busy to chat. We even had a chance to talk with the inn-keeper. We pass through Lewisburg four times a year on our way from Columbus, Ohio to Hampton Virginia. We now consider the General Lewis Inn a must-visit indulgence.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Friends, Thanks so much for posting your delightful review on Trip Advisor. We'll look forward to you "to and from" stops here in Lewisburg. Sincerely, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villanova, pa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Just got back from dinner - very good American type food, wine was a BIG treat - Best french chardonnay only $32! - Dessert Choclate, peanut butter mouse cake was very tasty, Great dining room setting - felt like going back in time - very historic. Next time we will stay at the Inn,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Oh, I love that French Chardonnay too!!! Our small wine list has some great surprises. Thanks for your double post on Trip Advisor! Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Park
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

When I picked Historic Lewisburg WV as a vacation stop, I knew I wanted to in a local inn. After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor I decided to give the General Lewis Inn a try, and I am so glad I did. This was a truly lovely place to stay. Friendly staff, wonderful service in both the inn and the restaurant. The room were decorated with antiques, comfortable beds and were very quiet at night. I really loved the fact that they leave the unoccupied rooms open so you can see what the other rooms look like. The hotel is within walking distance of everything in the historic part of town and I did most of my sightseeing on foot. Everyone in town was so friendly and helpful, it was like I was a neighbor and friend not just another visitor. I talked to a number of guests at the inn that had stayed there several times before. They gave me great tips on things to see and do. Don't be afraid to chat up the other guests for some advice - you might make a new friend! The inn is also very close to the Greenbrier resort and worth the 15 min drive to go see. There is also an area to get to the Greenbrier River Trail to go hiking. It is a lovely hiking path next to the river. The leaves had started to change already and it was quite beautiful. Definitely go visit Historic Lewisburg and stay at the General Lewis Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Ms. Felicia. Thanks for the great post on Trip Advisor. We have more and more travelers who have found us on TA. Thanks also for mentioning our location and the great stores downtown. Sincerely, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Lewis Inn

Address: 301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antique filled country Inn serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. We've been welcoming the traveler with warm hospitality since 1929. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Lewis Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.