We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay -- and great service after, too!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of General Lewis Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
General Lewis Inn
Save
You added General Lewis Inn to your Saves list
301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Lewisburg B&B and Inns
Paris, France
1 review
“Nice stay -- and great service after, too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I realize I never wrote a review of the excellents stay we had at the inn in June 2011, when we took a two-room adjoined suite to share with our two children. Everything was lovely -- charming, well appointed, good breakfast, etc. -- but what really underscored the stay was what happened afterward. Our daughter forgot her lucky blanket -- a worthless thing, really, and bulky -- in the hotel, and was upset. We called them, and they immediately forwarded it back to us at home in Washington. We felt terrible about never getting our daughter to write a thank you note (tardiness, life, etc,...). So if you are reading this, General Lewis Inn, thank you for your wonderful guest service -- the real kind, not just the "candy on pillow" stuff! We have recommended you to several of our friends since!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Oh those precious things that we can sometime leave behind - how glad we were that it could return to the heart of it's owner! Thank you for your kind words and hope you'll stay with us again.
Sincerely, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    57
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
43
102
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Frankford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This place is extraordinary. When you are a guest, you feel as though you have not only stepped back in time, but to a time within your own family. The rooms are furnished with antiques, so you get a real sense of having walked into someone's living room, not into a stark hotel room. The staff is friendly and earnestly want to see travelers well attended to. The food is very good. There is a definite southern slant to the choices of fare offered. Also, the town of Lewisburg itself is a magical place. There are an abundance of restaurants that all have charm and style. Carnegie Hall up the street from the General Lewis offers some exceptional performances. If you want a taste of laid back, yet sophisticated country experiences, this is the place to come.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Ms. K. Your kind words about the Inn are greatly appreciated. We are fortunate to have a wonderful little spot in "Almost Heaven" West Virginia. Hope you'll be our way again. Sincerely, Nan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The General Lewis Inn is a charming historic inn with lovely grounds. It is walking distance from the shops and restaurants in downtown Lewisburg. The staff is very friendly. We had breakfast in the restaurant once, and it was good and reasonably priced.

My only complaint is that our room (206) was directly above the restaurant and we could hear everything below and our room smelled like food almost every night. I would have to strongly recommend against staying in this room, especially if you want to sleep in or go to bed early.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. Especially glad that you give a warning about 206. We really do want to make sure our guests know about the quirks of the inn and I had not realized the drawbacks to being in that location. I would recommend 206 because it was on the east side of the Inn and got early morning light. However, noise and smells from the dining room did not occur to me. Thanks again for the heads up! Sincerely, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paxton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We have visited Lewisburg a few times but never stayed, or even went inside, the General Lewis Inn. What we missed all those other times!! Our room was very nice, the food was good, the service was excellent and the location could not be better. We will be back

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thanks for posting your review on Trip Advisor! Hope you'll stay with again AND we'll have the air conditioning keeping us all cooled down!!! Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here on our way back to Hampton, VA from a week long motoring tour with the National Corvette Museum in Bowling Green, KY. Our tour ended in Lawrenceburg, KY, and I just picked a stopping point about half way home. The General Lewis Inn was very nice and the staff most accommodating. Our only problem with the room was the A/C was not working, and the staff could not move us as the inn was full. Ceiling fan helped us through the night. Breakfast the next morning was fabulous, and the manager adjusted our bill for the A/C

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Friends, Thanks so much for posting your kind words on Trip Advisor. Again, sorry about the air conditioning unit. We hope your travels will bring you our way again!. Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I've stayed in the General Lewis at least four times and considered it a lovely getaway each time. I love that you can walk upstairs, look in doors, and choose your antique-filled room for the night. Each room is different. I love that the windows can be opened for fresh air and that pillows come in different fluff levels. I love the wonderful food smells that waft up the stairs. There is so much to do just blocks away -- an Irish pub with Irish music, the Livery restaurant and its singers, at least four antique shops, four art galleries, Carnegie Hall, Greenbrier Valley Theatre, Trillium dance performances or movies in the Lewis Theatre, North House Museum, and lots of great restaurants and shops.
And oh yes, the staff is friendly too.

Room Tip: back is even quieter. Ghost is supposed to be on the east wing, but I've never met her.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks for the great Trip Advisor Review. Glad that you mentioned all the attractions within walking distance. We think that's a real plus having this location. Lewisburg continues to get more and more attractions within this 6 block area. Hope you'll be back again soon. Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lovely, old, historic Inn. Staff is simply wonderful. Parking quite adequate and convenient, the Inn is just outside of the town, and well within walking distance to neat old neighborhoods, the Farmer's Market, and other historic buildings and eateries. My husband and I stayed in the double-room suite, on our first visit. I asked when booking about storage (we are Living Historians and my hoops need room!) and, with the nominal charge for the larger option we reserved it. The hallway leading to the first-floor suite was full of antiques, and might account for the powerful scent of mildew that greeted us when opening the door to our suite. It was a large blemish on our experience. The small, simple bathroom did not seem up to the task of being on the same level as the rest of the Inn. The antique beds were very comfortable, however, one bed near the wall a/c unit had quite a cold blast from the unit-I stuffed pillows along that side. Breakfast was divine, Southern, and extremely inexpensive for the quality. Fresh, garden flowers accented the pretty chintz table cloth toppers and fabric napkins. In fact, the cost of staying here is very reasonable! We decided to go home one night early, and they were most accommodating - no problem! We never did get around to rocking in the chairs on the front porch - will save this for another visit. Top quality service!

Room Tip: Rooms are small, limited closet room. First floor is quite acceptable. Ask questions before reservin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Friends, We were indeed lucky to have the Governor and his Wife as guests here at the Inn. Droop Mountain Battlefield was an historic moment for our area. Thank you for adding to the honors done for the soldiers who fought there.

Thank you also for the information that we can use to get our Inn in better shape. We are addressing the pitfalls of humid weather and air conditioners this afternoon.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our staff and dining room. Thanks to Trip Advisor for providing this forum for us all.
Sincerely, Nan Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Lewis Inn

Address: 301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antique filled country Inn serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. We've been welcoming the traveler with warm hospitality since 1929. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Lewis Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.