We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming historic inn, but avoid Room 206” 4 of 5 stars
Review of General Lewis Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
General Lewis Inn
301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Lewisburg B&B and Inns
Alexandria, VA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming historic inn, but avoid Room 206”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The General Lewis Inn is a charming historic inn with lovely grounds. It is walking distance from the shops and restaurants in downtown Lewisburg. The staff is very friendly. We had breakfast in the restaurant once, and it was good and reasonably priced.

My only complaint is that our room (206) was directly above the restaurant and we could hear everything below and our room smelled like food almost every night. I would have to strongly recommend against staying in this room, especially if you want to sleep in or go to bed early.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. Especially glad that you give a warning about 206. We really do want to make sure our guests know about the quirks of the inn and I had not realized the drawbacks to being in that location. I would recommend 206 because it was on the east side of the Inn and got early morning light. However, noise and smells from the dining room did not occur to me. Thanks again for the heads up! Sincerely, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    52
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
89
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paxton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We have visited Lewisburg a few times but never stayed, or even went inside, the General Lewis Inn. What we missed all those other times!! Our room was very nice, the food was good, the service was excellent and the location could not be better. We will be back

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thanks for posting your review on Trip Advisor! Hope you'll stay with again AND we'll have the air conditioning keeping us all cooled down!!! Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here on our way back to Hampton, VA from a week long motoring tour with the National Corvette Museum in Bowling Green, KY. Our tour ended in Lawrenceburg, KY, and I just picked a stopping point about half way home. The General Lewis Inn was very nice and the staff most accommodating. Our only problem with the room was the A/C was not working, and the staff could not move us as the inn was full. Ceiling fan helped us through the night. Breakfast the next morning was fabulous, and the manager adjusted our bill for the A/C

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Friends, Thanks so much for posting your kind words on Trip Advisor. Again, sorry about the air conditioning unit. We hope your travels will bring you our way again!. Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I've stayed in the General Lewis at least four times and considered it a lovely getaway each time. I love that you can walk upstairs, look in doors, and choose your antique-filled room for the night. Each room is different. I love that the windows can be opened for fresh air and that pillows come in different fluff levels. I love the wonderful food smells that waft up the stairs. There is so much to do just blocks away -- an Irish pub with Irish music, the Livery restaurant and its singers, at least four antique shops, four art galleries, Carnegie Hall, Greenbrier Valley Theatre, Trillium dance performances or movies in the Lewis Theatre, North House Museum, and lots of great restaurants and shops.
And oh yes, the staff is friendly too.

Room Tip: back is even quieter. Ghost is supposed to be on the east wing, but I've never met her.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks for the great Trip Advisor Review. Glad that you mentioned all the attractions within walking distance. We think that's a real plus having this location. Lewisburg continues to get more and more attractions within this 6 block area. Hope you'll be back again soon. Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lovely, old, historic Inn. Staff is simply wonderful. Parking quite adequate and convenient, the Inn is just outside of the town, and well within walking distance to neat old neighborhoods, the Farmer's Market, and other historic buildings and eateries. My husband and I stayed in the double-room suite, on our first visit. I asked when booking about storage (we are Living Historians and my hoops need room!) and, with the nominal charge for the larger option we reserved it. The hallway leading to the first-floor suite was full of antiques, and might account for the powerful scent of mildew that greeted us when opening the door to our suite. It was a large blemish on our experience. The small, simple bathroom did not seem up to the task of being on the same level as the rest of the Inn. The antique beds were very comfortable, however, one bed near the wall a/c unit had quite a cold blast from the unit-I stuffed pillows along that side. Breakfast was divine, Southern, and extremely inexpensive for the quality. Fresh, garden flowers accented the pretty chintz table cloth toppers and fabric napkins. In fact, the cost of staying here is very reasonable! We decided to go home one night early, and they were most accommodating - no problem! We never did get around to rocking in the chairs on the front porch - will save this for another visit. Top quality service!

Room Tip: Rooms are small, limited closet room. First floor is quite acceptable. Ask questions before reservin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Friends, We were indeed lucky to have the Governor and his Wife as guests here at the Inn. Droop Mountain Battlefield was an historic moment for our area. Thank you for adding to the honors done for the soldiers who fought there.

Thank you also for the information that we can use to get our Inn in better shape. We are addressing the pitfalls of humid weather and air conditioners this afternoon.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our staff and dining room. Thanks to Trip Advisor for providing this forum for us all.
Sincerely, Nan Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I have stayed at the General Lewis many times, and have always been pleased. This time was no different. Summer is the perfect time to visit Lewisburg, and the gardens at the Inn are beautiful. The rooms are simply charming. You can pick out your own room if you like. Inn policy is that if the door is open, you may go in and take a peek! This Inn was furnished in furniture that was considered antique back in the 1920's and is still in use in the rooms, but it is anything but stuffy. My room had a large rope bed that had been modified to fit a modern mattress. the sink was in the bedroom and the bathroom had a large old cast iron tub. Some of the bathrooms are small, but they are charming. They do have handicap accessible rooms upon request.The rooms are lovely, and are very clean. Because of the age of the Inn, each room is different in size and layout. I love the first floor, garden view rooms down the left hall; but the upstairs rooms are lovely. There is a charming sitting room with a fireplace, and furnished with antiques off of the lobby. This room is well-stocked with games and puzzles. The dining room is truly a delight.Vintage glassware is everywhere, and the food is delicious! For breakfast this time, I had the western omelet (huge), fried potatoes, & biscuits ($8.95). The General Lewis is truly a step back into a gentler, peaceful era. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Oh, what a wonderful Review! Thank you so much for noticing so many things about our Inn. We truly appreciate your taking the time. Sincerely, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We've stayed at The General Lewis many times over the last 25 years and have never been disappointed. Very convenient to the many antique shops, museum, eateries, cavern tours, and a wonderful winery. The staff was attentive and made us feel like we were visiting good friends. Free wifi if you need it, but we were too busy with other activities to even pick up the iPad! Our room was one of the smaller rooms, but was all we needed to relax, read, or watch TV. We had breakfast both mornings and dinner on Saturday evening. Our waiter was fantastic and made sure everything was to our liking. The garden with all the gorgeous flowers and a koi pond were relaxing, as well. I highly recommend you enjoy this quaint piece of Lewisburg history! Truly a gem!

Room Tip: If you have issues with some light noise from the living room/dining and can handle stairs, then the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for writing such nice things about the Inn. I'll be sure to tell Paula, Alice and Mike about the comments on the Garden. All three of them work very hard to keep it looking so beautiful, especially keeping the pond up for the fish!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Lewis Inn

Address: 301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antique filled country Inn serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. We've been welcoming the traveler with warm hospitality since 1929. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Lewis Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added General Lewis Inn to your Saves list