We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Historical Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of General Lewis Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
General Lewis Inn
301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Lewisburg B&B and Inns
Charleston, West Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Charming, Historical Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I have stayed at the General Lewis many times, and have always been pleased. This time was no different. Summer is the perfect time to visit Lewisburg, and the gardens at the Inn are beautiful. The rooms are simply charming. You can pick out your own room if you like. Inn policy is that if the door is open, you may go in and take a peek! This Inn was furnished in furniture that was considered antique back in the 1920's and is still in use in the rooms, but it is anything but stuffy. My room had a large rope bed that had been modified to fit a modern mattress. the sink was in the bedroom and the bathroom had a large old cast iron tub. Some of the bathrooms are small, but they are charming. They do have handicap accessible rooms upon request.The rooms are lovely, and are very clean. Because of the age of the Inn, each room is different in size and layout. I love the first floor, garden view rooms down the left hall; but the upstairs rooms are lovely. There is a charming sitting room with a fireplace, and furnished with antiques off of the lobby. This room is well-stocked with games and puzzles. The dining room is truly a delight.Vintage glassware is everywhere, and the food is delicious! For breakfast this time, I had the western omelet (huge), fried potatoes, & biscuits ($8.95). The General Lewis is truly a step back into a gentler, peaceful era. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Oh, what a wonderful Review! Thank you so much for noticing so many things about our Inn. We truly appreciate your taking the time. Sincerely, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    52
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
89
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hurricane, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We've stayed at The General Lewis many times over the last 25 years and have never been disappointed. Very convenient to the many antique shops, museum, eateries, cavern tours, and a wonderful winery. The staff was attentive and made us feel like we were visiting good friends. Free wifi if you need it, but we were too busy with other activities to even pick up the iPad! Our room was one of the smaller rooms, but was all we needed to relax, read, or watch TV. We had breakfast both mornings and dinner on Saturday evening. Our waiter was fantastic and made sure everything was to our liking. The garden with all the gorgeous flowers and a koi pond were relaxing, as well. I highly recommend you enjoy this quaint piece of Lewisburg history! Truly a gem!

Room Tip: If you have issues with some light noise from the living room/dining and can handle stairs, then the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for writing such nice things about the Inn. I'll be sure to tell Paula, Alice and Mike about the comments on the Garden. All three of them work very hard to keep it looking so beautiful, especially keeping the pond up for the fish!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We only live a little over an hour away. We've stayed at the General Lewis several times. It is a wonderful B & B. You cannot beat the location and the staff could not be more helpful. I always recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Canadian Friends. Thank you for the great TripAdvisor recommendation! It's especially fun when our international friends can recommend us. Looking forward to having you as guests again, all three of you make wonderful guests. Sincerely, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have been visiting the General Lewis Inn for the past few years now and every time I return, my blood pressure goes down and I feel lifted into a sort of Nirvana taking me back through pages of history. With an abundance of presence in every room and an energy exuding from every antique not to mention the sound of Bach in the parlor, I am carried away from the stress of every day life into civility and splendor. Elizabeth has worked in the Inn's restaurant for many years and her laughter is infectious. Her bright eyes and smile fill my memory and the inn with harmony. Nan Morgan who is the present owner dating back to the inn’s beginning through her family history is truly lovely and proudly walks up to a family portrait of her parents when they were married at to explain to some guests who are planning their wedding at the Inn that her mother's wedding dress can be found in a museum of history. The homemade biscuits and brewed morning coffee compliment a start to my day after a peaceful and cozy night sleep in one of the inn’s many rooms. With a definite colonial feel, the hardwood floors in my bedroom and high bed with a lemon chiffon quilt are extraordinarily highlighted through the soft light from the candle in my window. I fall asleep after reading my favorite magazine and watching a film. Into the silence I drift under the crisp clean sheets until the sun comes up. In the morning the General Lewis Inn can be admired as a picture perfect building and at night with the candlelit lights in every window, I can almost hear General Lewis himself riding up to the front of the Inn in his carriage, horses hooves upon a piece of historic land of this beautiful State. I escape to the General Lewis Inn for more reasons than one and am reminded of this every time!

Room Tip: Double rooms are lovely but Queen rooms are my favourite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
How very kind of you to write such a glowing review! As you may know the reference "our creaky old Inn" is how we think of it! Thank you! Warm regards, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Everything from check-in to check-out was perfect. Staff was exceptionally courteous and helpful; room was spotless; and, amenities far exceeded expectations. Such a quaint hotel but modern needs are met, as well. I would not stay anywhere else when in the Lewisburg area.

Room Tip: No elevator so if you have a lot of luggage opt for first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
How kind of you to post your review on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to know that you had a good visit with us. Thank you from Nan and All the Staff here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I've pondered this review for awhile. Fifty five years ago I stayed at this Inn with my family. I was 6. The "life-sized" doll house in the back, several white gloved waiters at every table,were awesome to a little girl. Going back as an adult was different.
To be fair, for an historical inn to be as neat and clean and relatively unchanged, except for a few updates, it is still very cool. However, from the recent glowing reviews about the staff, I expected more. We were barely greeted upon arrival, asked if we had stayed there before and when we said yes, we were confirmed for our meals, handed our keys & that was that. We toted our own luggage up the stairs (don't bring too much)
Yes, some staff were friendlier than others. Some cordial, others seemed not to notice we were there. They all seemed pretty busy & tired. Well, I really won't go on and on. But, yes, I was disappointed. Maybe I expected too much. Maybe being left alone is what most people want. Maybe they don't want to be asked, "Is there anything I can do or get for you?"
There was confusion with the reservation. When I saw(on line) the availability of and wanted an additional room I called the Inn. I was told the entire weekend was booked. Then, I hung up, reserved the room on line & got the extra room. Wierd.
Would I go back? Yes. Would I expect to be treated "extra special?" No. It is what it is. A cross between a B&B and a small hotel.
But, ahh, to be 6 again...
P.S. I believe "Nan" reads these reviews. Wish she would have introduced herself to us as she did some guests. It would have made a difference (We were there all weekend and ate all our meals there.) Oh yes, food was delicious.

Room Tip: Upstairs is quieter although 206,208 above kitchen & dining room.(Chatter and laughter, etc.) Qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Friends, How grateful we are to hear about your stay with us. We have the opportunity to make changes and make sure that your next visit WILL exceed or meet the memory of your visits over all these years. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

A very nice historic inn with great atmosphere. The hallways and rooms were spotless. As some prior reviewers have stated, the bathrooms could use an update. Our servers for dinner and breakfast were friendly and personable and the food was very good - my husband especially enjoyed the fried chicken. I would say the cost is a bit high and would recommend that breakfast be included in the price to make the value more comparable with other nice B&B's we have visited.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you very much for posting on Trip Advisor. We've considered including the breakfast in the cost of the room and your posting will help us to reconsider, especially with the cost of lodging
(as you say) being on the high-end. Hope you'll come back for a visit again soon. Sincerely, Nan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Lewis Inn

Address: 301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antique filled country Inn serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. We've been welcoming the traveler with warm hospitality since 1929. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Lewis Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added General Lewis Inn to your Saves list