We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You 'should' feel special at 6 or 61, don't you think?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of General Lewis Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
General Lewis Inn
Save
You added General Lewis Inn to your Saves list
301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Lewisburg B&B and Inns
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“You 'should' feel special at 6 or 61, don't you think?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I've pondered this review for awhile. Fifty five years ago I stayed at this Inn with my family. I was 6. The "life-sized" doll house in the back, several white gloved waiters at every table,were awesome to a little girl. Going back as an adult was different.
To be fair, for an historical inn to be as neat and clean and relatively unchanged, except for a few updates, it is still very cool. However, from the recent glowing reviews about the staff, I expected more. We were barely greeted upon arrival, asked if we had stayed there before and when we said yes, we were confirmed for our meals, handed our keys & that was that. We toted our own luggage up the stairs (don't bring too much)
Yes, some staff were friendlier than others. Some cordial, others seemed not to notice we were there. They all seemed pretty busy & tired. Well, I really won't go on and on. But, yes, I was disappointed. Maybe I expected too much. Maybe being left alone is what most people want. Maybe they don't want to be asked, "Is there anything I can do or get for you?"
There was confusion with the reservation. When I saw(on line) the availability of and wanted an additional room I called the Inn. I was told the entire weekend was booked. Then, I hung up, reserved the room on line & got the extra room. Wierd.
Would I go back? Yes. Would I expect to be treated "extra special?" No. It is what it is. A cross between a B&B and a small hotel.
But, ahh, to be 6 again...
P.S. I believe "Nan" reads these reviews. Wish she would have introduced herself to us as she did some guests. It would have made a difference (We were there all weekend and ate all our meals there.) Oh yes, food was delicious.

Room Tip: Upstairs is quieter although 206,208 above kitchen & dining room.(Chatter and laughter, etc.) Qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Friends, How grateful we are to hear about your stay with us. We have the opportunity to make changes and make sure that your next visit WILL exceed or meet the memory of your visits over all these years. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    56
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
43
100
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

A very nice historic inn with great atmosphere. The hallways and rooms were spotless. As some prior reviewers have stated, the bathrooms could use an update. Our servers for dinner and breakfast were friendly and personable and the food was very good - my husband especially enjoyed the fried chicken. I would say the cost is a bit high and would recommend that breakfast be included in the price to make the value more comparable with other nice B&B's we have visited.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you very much for posting on Trip Advisor. We've considered including the breakfast in the cost of the room and your posting will help us to reconsider, especially with the cost of lodging
(as you say) being on the high-end. Hope you'll come back for a visit again soon. Sincerely, Nan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherdstown
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We spent two nights at the Inn. The building is full of antiques that you are encouraged to look at. The doors are opened to guest rooms that are not occupied so you can go in and check them out. We thought this was really neat and it gave you the feeling that you were at someone's home as opposed to a hotel. Some of the room's bathrooms were very, very small, however, ours was fine. The Inn did have wi-if but it didn't work very well from our room. The fire alarm went off during our first night there and they took $20.00 off of our bill. I expected it to be more but I guess it's better than nothing. The Inn is very conveniently located to Old Town Lewisburg which is full of cute shops and restaurants. Almost everything was within walking distance. Breakfast is not included but is available in the restaurant on the premises. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the General Lewis Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review. Especially liked "General-ly" good! Sorry that our $20 apology was not quite enough. That's a hard thing to gauge, whether money can even make up for a disrupted night at our creaky old Inn...we'll definitely remember your recommendation.
We enjoy hearing good things about, but the bad things are something we can work to change - so thank you for helping us get better.
Sincerely, Nan Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband, a friend and I just spent 4 delightful nights at the General Lewis Inn in Lewisburg. I can't praise the staff enough. Upon arrival we were greeted with huge smiles and warm welcomes from the owner, I think. Our check-in was quick and efficient. Breakfast was not only delicious but the staff was right there to meet our every need. I'm sure dinner was awesome as well--we just didn't get back in time to enjoy participate. The history and collections were everywhere to enjoy and appreciate. Would we return? You bet!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We love having our "Greenbrier Classic" guests! Thank you for your kind words about the Staff, the Inn and our "décor". It's hard to believe the PGA's already come and gone. We'll look forward to having you as our guests next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We recently returned to Lewisburg for a memorial service and spent two days at the General Lewis Inn. The staff was great and made us feel welcome from the start. Our room for the first night was cozy and comfortable. After a long and stressful day at the memorial service, it was just what we needed. Brunch the next morning was delicious. Coleman saw to our table and kept us supplied with coffee and anything else we needed. We wanted to change to a larger room with a sitting area for our second day so we could spend time with family in a quiet setting. The front desk took care of everything. Housekeeping moved our bags to the larger room while we were out. Our family came and we have a delightful visit. They loved the room and Inn. The collection of historical items and prints are amazing. Our last morning we had a delightful breakfast, and again, Coleman saw that we had everything we needed. Even though we have family in Ronceverte that we usually stay with, we will definitely will plan to stay here again,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Tennessee Friends,

Thank you for your tripadvisor post. What a great review! Coleman celebrated his 20 year anniversary with us last month. He also celebrated the birth of his daughter, Kaleah, 6 months ago - a very busy man, yet he continually charms us all with his wonderful quirky personality.

We know that a Memorial for a loved one can be a stressful time and are pleased to know that you felt the hospitality needed at times like this here at the Inn.

Thank you again, Nan Morgan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My younger brother got married at the Greenbrier and our whole family chose to stay at the General Lewis Inn. It was perfect for our big family and they were so accomodating. The rehearsal dinner was held in the resturant and it was also perfect. The staff was so personal and truely cared about our experience. Everyone from the owner to Linda in the kitchen to the third shift employee were so kind and made our weekend comfortable and we felt right at home. The decor of the place is so unique and beautiful. The garden and front porch made for ideal hang out spots during our down time. Also, there was a nice pub in walking distance for those of us that like to party and stay up late celebrating. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU for having the Gueldas at your Inn and treating us like family. The stay at this Inn was just one of the beautiful things that made it a perfect weekend and a perfect wedding.

Room Tip: Some of the bathrooms are really small or split up from toilet/shower and vanity in the actual room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guelda Family. Mrs. Guelda has to be thanked for how well the weekend went. She spent many hours, emails and planning to make sure everything went smoothly. We LOVED having you all here!!! Guests like your family make the hospitality business all worth it. What a true pleasure it was to have you here for this special event. Hope that your next wedding in a few weeks goes well. We were truly grateful for your kind words. Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

The surroundings are beautiful..the staff feel like family. The food..the dining room..at our table this evening they surprised us and made it special for us..beautiful flowers..candles and the table setting was eloquent and charming...We stayed at the Greenbiar Inn last year and plan on going back..Leaving in the morning and I already want to come back to the General lee Inn...Would stay here without a doubt..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Friends, Your review on TripAdvisor was very touching! Thank you. Some times we wish our guest COULD just stay here!!! Hope you'll come back again. Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Lewis Inn

Address: 301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antique filled country Inn serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. We've been welcoming the traveler with warm hospitality since 1929. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Lewis Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.