We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for our big family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of General Lewis Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
General Lewis Inn
Save
You added General Lewis Inn to your Saves list
301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Lewisburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place for our big family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My younger brother got married at the Greenbrier and our whole family chose to stay at the General Lewis Inn. It was perfect for our big family and they were so accomodating. The rehearsal dinner was held in the resturant and it was also perfect. The staff was so personal and truely cared about our experience. Everyone from the owner to Linda in the kitchen to the third shift employee were so kind and made our weekend comfortable and we felt right at home. The decor of the place is so unique and beautiful. The garden and front porch made for ideal hang out spots during our down time. Also, there was a nice pub in walking distance for those of us that like to party and stay up late celebrating. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU for having the Gueldas at your Inn and treating us like family. The stay at this Inn was just one of the beautiful things that made it a perfect weekend and a perfect wedding.

Room Tip: Some of the bathrooms are really small or split up from toilet/shower and vanity in the actual room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guelda Family. Mrs. Guelda has to be thanked for how well the weekend went. She spent many hours, emails and planning to make sure everything went smoothly. We LOVED having you all here!!! Guests like your family make the hospitality business all worth it. What a true pleasure it was to have you here for this special event. Hope that your next wedding in a few weeks goes well. We were truly grateful for your kind words. Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    64
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
48
114
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

The surroundings are beautiful..the staff feel like family. The food..the dining room..at our table this evening they surprised us and made it special for us..beautiful flowers..candles and the table setting was eloquent and charming...We stayed at the Greenbiar Inn last year and plan on going back..Leaving in the morning and I already want to come back to the General lee Inn...Would stay here without a doubt..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Friends, Your review on TripAdvisor was very touching! Thank you. Some times we wish our guest COULD just stay here!!! Hope you'll come back again. Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had our wedding at the General Lewis Inn in 1998. Our reception dinner and family party were held there too. The owners were great, as well as the entire staff. Our requests were handled professionally and with care. It was a small and intimate ceremony and it was the perfect place for it. The best place to spend our budget.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Friends Having Your First Anniversary! Thank you so much for your post on Trip Advisor. We are having a wedding here this weekend and hope they'll be saying how much they enjoyed it, too! Hope you'll come back and celebrate some of your anniversaries with us. Love to see you back again. Warm regards from us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis, IN
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed there recently. Pretty historic building with professional and friendly staff. . The rooms are quaint, the bathrooms small. Lovely antiques. If you want a chain motel-style experience, this isn't it. But that's what we like about this place-cozy, unpretentious...a place you'd like to stay in a picturesque town. Walk to restaurants and town. Had a nice dinner and breakfast the next morning. Cordial waiter.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind words for the Inn and our Staff. We feel very fortunate to have guests who are interested in our little spot in Lewisburg. Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed the general Lewis, great atmosphere and the coziness. The antiques add to it all and we liked it so much better than an average hotel. We were close to downtown to walk and the grounds were well maintained. We unfortunately missed the upcoming summer gardens but looked like they would be beautiful. I really liked all the rocking chairs on the porch also.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind words on Trip Advisor. Paula has been taking care of the gardens and flower arrangements for several years and she'll be glad to hear that you noticed. The summer flowers are just about here and we'll be posting pics on Facebook. Thanks again, Nan Morgan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Vert nice Inn. Great location. Food was good; service slow but staff was very customer oriented. Bathrooms were very small and not enough places in room to put items. Decor of the Inn was nice--lots of interesting antiques. Grounds were beautifully maintained. Only real negative was that the bed was to high and difficult to get in to. Could of used stepping stools on both sides.

Room Tip: Rooms and bathrooms are small. Be prepared for this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Pennsylvania Friends, Thanks so much for your review of the Inn on Trip Advisor. We appreciate that you let us know about needing additional stepping stools up to the beds. Seems like there are never enough! Hope you will come back for a visit with us again. Sincerely, Nan Morgan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Post, Virginia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have stayed at the General Lewis Inn many times over the last 6 years and have never been the least disappointed. The rooms have always been very comfortable, clean and quiet. The Inn and Restaurant staffs are all incredible and the meals are absolutely beyond compare. We stayed there again just last week and while I was there I had the Pork smothered in peaches and bourbon sauce for dinner. It was without a doubt one of the best meals I have ever tasted. I've stayed in many hotels and inns over the years and nothing compares to "The General Lewis Inn".

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Friends from White Post. Thank you very much for your post on Trip Advisor. I will be sure to let Misty know that you enjoyed her specialty Bourbon Pork! We look forward to having you as our guests again soon. Nan Morgan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Lewis Inn

Address: 301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antique filled country Inn serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. We've been welcoming the traveler with warm hospitality since 1929. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Lewis Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.