We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of General Lewis Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
General Lewis Inn
Save Saved
You added General Lewis Inn to your Saves list
301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Lewisburg B&B and Inns
indianapolis, IN
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Pleasant Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed there recently. Pretty historic building with professional and friendly staff. . The rooms are quaint, the bathrooms small. Lovely antiques. If you want a chain motel-style experience, this isn't it. But that's what we like about this place-cozy, unpretentious...a place you'd like to stay in a picturesque town. Walk to restaurants and town. Had a nice dinner and breakfast the next morning. Cordial waiter.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind words for the Inn and our Staff. We feel very fortunate to have guests who are interested in our little spot in Lewisburg. Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    55
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
41
97
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed the general Lewis, great atmosphere and the coziness. The antiques add to it all and we liked it so much better than an average hotel. We were close to downtown to walk and the grounds were well maintained. We unfortunately missed the upcoming summer gardens but looked like they would be beautiful. I really liked all the rocking chairs on the porch also.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind words on Trip Advisor. Paula has been taking care of the gardens and flower arrangements for several years and she'll be glad to hear that you noticed. The summer flowers are just about here and we'll be posting pics on Facebook. Thanks again, Nan Morgan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Vert nice Inn. Great location. Food was good; service slow but staff was very customer oriented. Bathrooms were very small and not enough places in room to put items. Decor of the Inn was nice--lots of interesting antiques. Grounds were beautifully maintained. Only real negative was that the bed was to high and difficult to get in to. Could of used stepping stools on both sides.

Room Tip: Rooms and bathrooms are small. Be prepared for this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Pennsylvania Friends, Thanks so much for your review of the Inn on Trip Advisor. We appreciate that you let us know about needing additional stepping stools up to the beds. Seems like there are never enough! Hope you will come back for a visit with us again. Sincerely, Nan Morgan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Post, Virginia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have stayed at the General Lewis Inn many times over the last 6 years and have never been the least disappointed. The rooms have always been very comfortable, clean and quiet. The Inn and Restaurant staffs are all incredible and the meals are absolutely beyond compare. We stayed there again just last week and while I was there I had the Pork smothered in peaches and bourbon sauce for dinner. It was without a doubt one of the best meals I have ever tasted. I've stayed in many hotels and inns over the years and nothing compares to "The General Lewis Inn".

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Friends from White Post. Thank you very much for your post on Trip Advisor. I will be sure to let Misty know that you enjoyed her specialty Bourbon Pork! We look forward to having you as our guests again soon. Nan Morgan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rose, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

General Lewis Inn is a true charmer. It is a two-story inn right in the middle of historic Lewisburg. We could walk to all the restaurants and sights that we wanted.
The Inn itself is an old grand dame. Furished with authentic, homey furnishings, and tons of interesting accessories. Our room and bathroom were tiny, but they always are in these type places. You take the good with the bad.....
My only complaint is a very unfriendly front desk clerk. Didn't fit with the rest of the staff at all. And the owner visited with us one morning and was delightful. I cannot imagine why they let a front desk clerk (the Inn's first impression for each guest) behave with such indifference.
But other than that, the grounds are beautiful, the location is perfection, and the Inn felt like a genuine, old-world Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Friends from Texas. Thank you for your kind comments on the Inn. And thank you for bringing to our attention a shortcoming at the Front Desk. It is always great to hear good comments, but the more difficult comments give us an opportunity to improve. We hope you will be greated with the warm hospitality and personal service that we'd like you to have on your next visit. Sincerely, Nan Morgan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, VA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and I booked a two night stay at the last minute. We originally planned to stay at a chain hotel but it was booked due to a golf tournament. So glad we couldn't get a reservation because the General Lewis Inn was perfect for us. Rooms met our extreme cleanliness standards and the linens were soft. Staff was pleasant and friendly. We enjoyed relaxing in the back garden during the evenings. A short walk to downtown provides specialty shops, bakeries, antique shops and fine dining.

During the days, we rode our bicycles on the Greenbrier River Trail. Very scenic and trail is well groomed.
We’re watching the weather forecast to determine if we can return next weekend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you. We all enjoyed reading your great review of the Inn and remember your recent visit. We look for to having you back! Nan Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. The family and staff were extremely nice and attentive. The room was very comfortable and had all the amendities you would need (even have handicapped accessible rooms). A big plus is that the Inn also has a great restaurant that has a very complete menu. The evening meal was especially good had to commend the "Chef", she prepared an excellant dish that was comparable to the meals we had just had in Washington D.C's finer establishments. We stayed here 20 years ago and must say it is still a great place. Another plus is the location that it is close to downtown and shopping. The last thing to say is that cost is very reasonable just check out their website and you will see. If your in the area the General Lewis Inn is a must place to stay.

Room Tip: It is a two level Inn, so if stairs are an issue, request 1st floor. Parking can be an issue as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Sir, Thank you for your review of our Inn. We certainly appreciate that you enjoyed your stay with us and have come back. Looking forward to seeing you again. Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Lewis Inn

Address: 301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antique filled country Inn serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. We've been welcoming the traveler with warm hospitality since 1929. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Lewis Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.