We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking distance to shops and restaurants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of General Lewis Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
General Lewis Inn
Save Saved
You added General Lewis Inn to your Saves list
301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Lewisburg B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Walking distance to shops and restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Remember, this is an historic building; the wooden floors creak, the walls have seen a lot of action, the doorways have had many people pass through. The decor and ambience stays fairly true to the 19th century. We stayed in Room 111 with two double beds and enough pillows to bolster any body. The room was clean and bright with plenty of good bedtime lighting. The bathroom was new, white, clean and fairly spacious; the plumbing worked just fine. Our room had two large windows to the back of the house but our view of the yard and garden was obscured by tall shrubs. We had two problems with the room: with 90+ heat with matching humidity on Labor Day weekend, we wanted blasts of cold air to offset the outside misery, but the AC rattled miserably on high--so we toned down the chiller and lived with the mugginess; and the chest of drawers may have been authentic, but they should have been functional as well instead of constantly off-track and unmanageable. The staff was pleasant and the room was clean. The backyard is perfect for kids to run around. What's nice is that downtown Lewisburg is just a couple of blocks away and a very pleasant walk. Returning from a lovely dinner, you can sit on the front porch and rock awa. I can see why it was considered the coolest USA town in 2011.

Room Tip: Visitors strolled outside our room all the time to see the 19th century antiques hung on the wall, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    53
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
91
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Charming Inn within walking distance of shops, restaurants and historic sites. Lots of character and history. Why stay at a chain hotel when you can have this experience for a few dollars more. Will come back here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budds Creek
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The stay was a little pricey, but well worth it. The room was just a perfect size, nice TV. The food was out of sight!! Everyone was friendly. Nice area, within walking distance of shops and quiet. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Nice rooms, good food, reasonable prices. Several blocks from the heart of downtown Lewisburg. Very nice grounds in a relaxing setting. Parking is very convenient. The nicely appointed dining room lends itself to unhurried dining. Be sure to take time to look at the many antiques and historical artifacts found throughout the Inn. We arrived fairly early in the day and were the first guests to check in. This was our first visit to the inn and after stepping through the front door, we could not wait to get our bags to our room so we could explore the rest of the inn. It is just that kind of place. We were very pleased with our room and we took time to view several other rooms during our stay. All were just as nice as ours but no two were alike. We recommend that you use the photos on the inn's website to select your room. Dinner was excellent. The menu choices were sufficiently varied that you will find something that suits your palate. In fact, the more people you have in your party, the more opportunity you will have to sample across the menu. Although the dining room was not particularly busy on the weekday evening when we dined there, the setting gave the impression that this was a place where local folks would want to come for special occasions. Service was attentive but unhurried and the prices were very reasonable. We enjoyed breakfast at the inn on the following morning and had another great dining experience. In all, our experience at the General Lewis was first rate and we would go out of our way to stay there again. We have recommended the General Lewis to our friends and neighbors and, based on our experience, we recommend the inn to you as well. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthernVirginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Great little garden and wonderful porch to relax on. Price is right and the rooms are dated, but perfectly functional. Nice staff too. I was there with a group of about 30 people, and the staff did a great job with a couple of receptions, and group breakfasts, etc. I hate to say it, but I was very pleasantly suprised at the great food. I'm giving this 4 stars not because it is a 4 star hotel, but because for what it is, this top notch; historic fun, in a very nice setting. And the proximity to other restaurants and fund things to do is a great bonus.

Room Tip: No elevator, so make sure to know what room you are getting if that is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We always have stayed here through the years when our daughters went to Camp Alleghany (13 years). Lewisburg is not only our favorite town, but the General Lewis is one of our most favorite places we have ever stayed. We have never met more accommodating staff. The rooms are old and lovely. The food and drink is good, and we enjoy relaxing in the rocking chairs on the front porch after a pleasant day in Lewisburg. We have had opportunities to stay at the Greenbrier, but it's much too stuffy (and overpriced). General Lewis is the place to stay if you are ever in this area!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My wife and stayed here one night over Memorial Day weekend. That was a plus because a lot of smaller inns/B & Bs require two nights over a holiday weekend. Inn is just outside of downtown Lewisberg - a very nice town to walk thru. Front desk personnel efficient and friendly and our room was comfortable and nicely furnished. Inn is decorated is full of antiques so it's somewhat like staying in a museum. We had some time to kill before dinner and the bar mix us drinks which we enjoyed on the front porch. Overall a very pleasant stay.We had dinner and breakfast (breakfast is not included) and both meals were excellent. You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Lewis Inn

Address: 301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antique filled country Inn serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. We've been welcoming the traveler with warm hospitality since 1929. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Lewis Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.