We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of General Lewis Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
General Lewis Inn
Save
You added General Lewis Inn to your Saves list
301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Lewisburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Historic Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Charming Inn within walking distance of shops, restaurants and historic sites. Lots of character and history. Why stay at a chain hotel when you can have this experience for a few dollars more. Will come back here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    59
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
44
111
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Budds Creek
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The stay was a little pricey, but well worth it. The room was just a perfect size, nice TV. The food was out of sight!! Everyone was friendly. Nice area, within walking distance of shops and quiet. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Nice rooms, good food, reasonable prices. Several blocks from the heart of downtown Lewisburg. Very nice grounds in a relaxing setting. Parking is very convenient. The nicely appointed dining room lends itself to unhurried dining. Be sure to take time to look at the many antiques and historical artifacts found throughout the Inn. We arrived fairly early in the day and were the first guests to check in. This was our first visit to the inn and after stepping through the front door, we could not wait to get our bags to our room so we could explore the rest of the inn. It is just that kind of place. We were very pleased with our room and we took time to view several other rooms during our stay. All were just as nice as ours but no two were alike. We recommend that you use the photos on the inn's website to select your room. Dinner was excellent. The menu choices were sufficiently varied that you will find something that suits your palate. In fact, the more people you have in your party, the more opportunity you will have to sample across the menu. Although the dining room was not particularly busy on the weekday evening when we dined there, the setting gave the impression that this was a place where local folks would want to come for special occasions. Service was attentive but unhurried and the prices were very reasonable. We enjoyed breakfast at the inn on the following morning and had another great dining experience. In all, our experience at the General Lewis was first rate and we would go out of our way to stay there again. We have recommended the General Lewis to our friends and neighbors and, based on our experience, we recommend the inn to you as well. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthernVirginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Great little garden and wonderful porch to relax on. Price is right and the rooms are dated, but perfectly functional. Nice staff too. I was there with a group of about 30 people, and the staff did a great job with a couple of receptions, and group breakfasts, etc. I hate to say it, but I was very pleasantly suprised at the great food. I'm giving this 4 stars not because it is a 4 star hotel, but because for what it is, this top notch; historic fun, in a very nice setting. And the proximity to other restaurants and fund things to do is a great bonus.

Room Tip: No elevator, so make sure to know what room you are getting if that is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We always have stayed here through the years when our daughters went to Camp Alleghany (13 years). Lewisburg is not only our favorite town, but the General Lewis is one of our most favorite places we have ever stayed. We have never met more accommodating staff. The rooms are old and lovely. The food and drink is good, and we enjoy relaxing in the rocking chairs on the front porch after a pleasant day in Lewisburg. We have had opportunities to stay at the Greenbrier, but it's much too stuffy (and overpriced). General Lewis is the place to stay if you are ever in this area!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My wife and stayed here one night over Memorial Day weekend. That was a plus because a lot of smaller inns/B & Bs require two nights over a holiday weekend. Inn is just outside of downtown Lewisberg - a very nice town to walk thru. Front desk personnel efficient and friendly and our room was comfortable and nicely furnished. Inn is decorated is full of antiques so it's somewhat like staying in a museum. We had some time to kill before dinner and the bar mix us drinks which we enjoyed on the front porch. Overall a very pleasant stay.We had dinner and breakfast (breakfast is not included) and both meals were excellent. You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed there 6-29-12 when the big storm came through. We lost power about 8:30 no power when we checked out at 6am next morning.it was so hot and miserable up all night. All they said at front desk was beyond his control. Well he could of giving all the patrons there that night was a coupon for another night even on there off season. We will never return again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Lewis Inn

Address: 301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antique filled country Inn serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. We've been welcoming the traveler with warm hospitality since 1929. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Lewis Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.