We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Inn with Fine Dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of General Lewis Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
General Lewis Inn
Save
You added General Lewis Inn to your Saves list
301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Lewisburg B&B and Inns
Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Historic Inn with Fine Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We have stayed here twice. The staff is friendly, there is a great front porch and it is walking distance from the shops and galleries in downtown Lewisburg. The food is excellent and compares favorably with high end metropolitan dining, and really good food is hard to find in West Virginia. Both times we stayed in the 1840's Inn, groups from the Greenbrier came in for small events-the anecdote is that smart people enjoy the grounds at the Greenbrier but spend the night at the General Lewis! The lobby is period with museum pieces and the rooms and bathrooms are clean and modern. FIne dinner for two, cocktails and appetizers on the veranda, big country breakfast and the room overnight was less than $300......

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    57
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
43
102
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worthington, WV
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

quaint, romantic inn featuring loads of antiques, delicious food, friendly, helpful staff, beautiful gardens. within walking distance to the historic town of Lewisburg.

Room Tip: check out the photos on their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Post, Virginia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

The accomadations and service is superbed. The rooms are always clean, quiet and comfortable. The location is perfect and easy to get to any locale event. The food is always delicious and the portions are ample. I've stayed there many times and each time it is absolutly perfect. I honestly cannot think of a single negative thing to say about the General Lewis Inn or anyone that works there. Everyone at the General Lewis Inn takes immense pride in what they do.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

The main reason to stay here was that there didn't seem to be many options in the area especially ones with something different to provide. Its a beautiful building from the outside with lots of antiques inside and the furniture is very traditional.

But traditional doesn't exactly mean comfortable and this place does the best it can out of history rather than the whole experience of one's stay. Amenities were minimal and we skipped the restaurant and the whole hard sell thing at it. Town was really nice with a few good options for dinner though looking around pays its dues.

Room Tip: book early has fills up due to weddings etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

The hotel staff went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. They were friendly and helpful during our entire stay. In particular, I want to mention that Kendra (I think that was her name) went out of her way to find directions somewhere for me and called my room to let me know. The experience was awesome! The Inn is historic and a museum in itself. I would love to stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Each room is unique. Something for everyone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

If you like old Hotels in a small town this is one of the best . Most places we do not eat at the hotel but if you don't eat at there restaurant you missed something.

Room Tip: Look at web site to pick your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterstown, West Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

One of our nicest visits to our beautiful state.
Recommend this quaint, well situated charming Inn

Room Tip: Didn't see any bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Lewis Inn

Address: 301 East Washington Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antique filled country Inn serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. We've been welcoming the traveler with warm hospitality since 1929. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Lewis Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.