We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcomed the Who Dat Nation!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Hunter Lane, Lewisburg, WV 24901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfort, Kentucky
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Welcomed the Who Dat Nation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed here while attending the New Orleans Saints training camp at The Greenbrier in nearby White Sulphur Springs. Everyone was friendly and accommodating and helped to make our stay pleasant.

The double queen room with the sleeper sofa was roomy and even had a mini kitchenette. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated and the beds were very comfortable.

The complimentary hot breakfast was standard, but well stocked. (Note: It started at 6 a.m., although the girl at the front desk told us 7.)

Great location near I-64, but very quiet. Lots of shops and restaurants close by.

I will definitely stay here again next year when I come to cheer on my boys in black and gold! WHO DAT!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for the comments you posted regarding our award winning Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Lewisburg, WV. We take pride in our hotel and staff, and I am glad we met your expectations. I am glad that you decided to try us and had a wonderful experience.

I hope you a good time watching the New Orleans Saints NFL training camp during their first year at the Greenbrier. We are excited the Saints have moved their training camp to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    47
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
47
43
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfort, Kentucky
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed here while attending the New Orleans Saints training camp at The Greenbrier in nearby White Sulphur Springs. Everyone was friendly and accommodating and helped to make our stay pleasant.

The double queen room with the sleeper sofa was roomy and even had a mini kitchenette. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated and the beds were very comfortable.

The complimentary hot breakfast was standard, but well stocked. (Note: It started at 6 a.m., although the girl at the front desk told us 7.)

Great location near I-64, but very quiet. Lots of shops and restaurants close by.

I will definitely stay here again next year when I come to cheer on my boys in black and gold! WHO DAT!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for the comments you posted regarding our award winning Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Lewisburg, WV. We take pride in our hotel and staff, and I am glad we met your expectations. I am glad that you decided to try us and had a wonderful experience.

I hope you a good time watching the New Orleans Saints NFL training camp during their first year at the Greenbrier. We are excited the Saints have moved their training camp to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I stayed overnight for the first few days of the New Orleans Saints training camp. I was very happy with the quality and cleanliness of the room. This was my first stay at a Holiday Inn Express and I was impressed with the little details of the decor and the little extras the room provided. I have stayed in a variety of hotels at different price points over the years and this had to be the first that provided paper towels and utensils!

The king size bed was very comfortable. The labeled "soft" and "firm" pillows were a very nice touch. The bathroom was large and very clean. They even had real HDTV available, which I find is pretty rare in a hotel.

If you're coming down to see the Saints, the location of this hotel is great. It's a simple drive down route 219 to get to the WV State Fairgrounds, where you can park and catch a bus ride to The Greenbrier for practice. It's literally like a 10 minute drive with traffic.

I thought the breakfast was quite good. There was plenty of variety and everything was setup nicely. They even have outdoor seating if you'd like to enjoy some coffee on the veranda.

Some people have complained about the elevator, which yes, it is a bit strange. For such a new hotel, I think they got a faulty unit. But really that's a minor thing. The hotel is only 3 floors so it's not like you're stuck in there for long amounts of time.

Unfortunately I didn't get a chance to use the pool or fitness center so I can't provide any information on them.

I found the staff to be very friendly. I wasn't there very long but I'll definitely come back next year!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you for the comments you posted regarding our award winning Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Lewisburg, WV. We take pride in our hotel and staff, and I am glad we met your expectations. I am glad that you decided to try us and had a wonderful experience.

I hope you a good time watching the New Orleans Saints NFL training camp during their first year at the Greenbrier. We are excited the Saints have moved their training camp to our area.

The elevator company has been aware of this issue since the hotel has opened. It has not caused any major problems with the slight screeching sound it has. Yes there is a slight delay once the doors open on each floor.

I am glad you enjoyed your visit to the Lewisburg area and hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Just spent four great days at this property. When visiting Lewisburg in the past I had stayed at the Fairfield down the street, but due to the hotel being full for the weekend, I tried the Holiday Inn. This gives me the ability to identify the pluses and minuses of 2 of the 3 best hotels in the area.

Check in here was a breeze despite the fact that there was a major event going on in the area. The front desk staff were organized and I got the room I requested without any hassle.

The room I reserved, an executive suite with the hot tub ( a very nice and large one, I might add) was great. It comes with a kitchenette with mini-fridge, microwave, small sink, coffee maker, and even utensils and paper towels. There is a sitting area with love seat, chair and coffee table which is nice for watching the large LG tv on. There is also a dining area with a small table and two chairs, and a small desk and office chair should you need to get work done. Aside from the great spa tub in the living area, there is also a decent sized bathroom with a tub/shower combo. Only downsides to the bathroom being the showerhead was not as forceful as I like, but it was decent enough. Plenty of towels were provided and their bath products were far superior to the ones offered at Fairfield.

The bed was comfortable and this is the only hotel I have been to where they included labeled pillows (soft and firm) so you can pick your desired firmness level.

The breakfast buffet was terrific and would rate on par with Fairfield if not for the hot cinnamon rolls which were amazing. I had been wanting a good cinnamon roll for a while so this was a nice treat for me. A slight advantage to Holiday Inn because of this.

The housekeepers were nice and all said hello in the morning, they also serviced the room promptly and never once woke us up which is a big thing.

The only minor downsides were the hot tub (in the pool area) was a little too hot for my comfort. The bath towels in this area were rough and not as high quality as the Fairfield ones too, so Fairfield's pool beats this one on that count. Also the elevator was kind of jerky and shaky which I am sure is nothing but I know it has been mentioned in reviews here before.

Another thing to mention is the cemetery next door. While luckily I did not stay on that side of the hotel (request an odd numbered room if possible), honestly it isn't as bad as I thought it would be and I would be okay with a room on that side, although would definitely prefer the side facing Walmart.

Between the two choices I would stay with Holiday Inn Express now due to the fact that their suites have the hot tub and some even have it with a little fireplace. Fairfield suites do not have either features which I think are a big bonus especially as they only run $20-30 more a night than a base guest room.


Thank you, Holiday Inn Express for the very nice stay! Will be back in the future.

Room Tip: The rooms with odd numbers face away from the cemetery. If this is a concern ask for an odd numbered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for the comments you posted regarding our award winning Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Lewisburg, WV. We take pride in our hotel and staff, and I am glad we met your expectations. I am glad that you decided to try us and had a wonderful experience.

Yes you are correct the cinnamon rolls are wonderful.

Again thanks for the excellent recommendation for future travelers that may be reading your review on our hotel. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Arrived to meet friendly staff who were friendly and efficient. The rooms were clean,cooled down (I find this rare) and even the corners and behind the nightstand were clean. I am usually fearful of plugging into the socket and this time I was surprised. Breakfast was a typical but I do love the pancake maker. While I stay in HIE on a regular basis, the was a step above the rest. Great job.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you for the comments you posted regarding our award winning Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Lewisburg, WV. We take pride in our hotel and staff, and I am glad we met your expectations.

Again thanks for the excellent recommendation for future travelers that may be reading your review on our hotel. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This was a very nice hotel. It is new and clean. The service was good. The pool and hot tub were fairly large. The hotel is in a nice area with a good variety of places to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for the comments you posted regarding our award winning Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Lewisburg, WV. We take pride in our hotel and staff, and I am glad we met your expectations.

I hope you enjoyed your time relaxing in the pool and hot tub. You are very correct that we are in walking distance to excellent restaurant choices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed here overnight before flying out the next day, not only were they easy going about at late check out due to my afternoon flight they were more then accommodating when I had problems with my credit card at check in. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
First of all I would like to thank you for your continued business at our award winning Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Lewisburg, WV. We take pride in our hotel and staff, and I am glad we met your expectations. I hope your flights went good.

Thank you for the excellent recommendation for future travelers that may be reading your review on our hotel. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg

Address: 222 Hunter Lane, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new hotel in Lewisburg, West Virginia boasts excellent facilities. Come and stay at our new Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Lewisburg near the Greenbrier Valley Airport. Our hotel in Lewisburg, WV is the perfect choice for both leisure and corporate travelers. Families looking for lodging in Lewisburg, WV will love staying at our hotel, near Lost World Caverns, located just off I-64 in the lovely Allegheny Mountains. We are convenient to several local attractions, including the scenic Greenbrier River, historic downtown Lewisburg & plenty of antique shopping. Other sights and activities near our hotel in Lewisburg, WV include Organ Cave, the West Virginia State Fair & Oakhurst Links, home of the oldest organized golf club in the United States. Business travelers will be impressed by the comfort of our Lewisburg, West Virginia accommodations. We also offer access to numerous companies, such as the Terradon Corporation, Gateway Industries, ABB Process Analytics, Wal-Mart and the West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine. In addition, we provide a Business Center with fax, print, copy services, a computer and free high-speed Internet access, so you can keep up with business on the road. While lodging in this Lewisburg, WV hotel, enjoy amenities including a heated, indoor pool, a modern fitness center and a free hot breakfast bar. Book your reservation now to enjoy great Lewisburg hotel rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Lewisburg
Holiday Inn Express Lewisburg
Lewisburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.