We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad....but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Hunter Lane, Lewisburg, WV 24901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Lewisburg
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Not bad....but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express while in town for a family reunion. The hotel had some flaws. The elevator was incredibly loud. It almost sounds like the door in grinding against something every time the door opens and shuts. I suggest that you ask for a room in the 20's (120, 220, 320) because those rooms are farther away from the elevator. We were in 229 an we were the last room on the floor and were lucky to be pretty far away from the noisy elevator. We took the stairs when we came and went. The cleaning is very inconsistent. We had a suite and upon arrival there was trash under our sink that was not removed from a previous guest. We stayed three nights and one day the bed was made, two days it was not, two days the towels were cleaned up and refreshed one day it was not. Toilet paper and Kleenex were not refreshed. I would have to ask for those items. We had a hot tub in the room, which was really nice, and it had towels on arrival and were only refreshed once. Having a suite it was nice to have a few plastic cups and some paper plates and a roll of paper towels in the cabinet. The pools is indoors and I think this hotel has the smallest pool towels I have ever seen. The room bath towels seemed bigger. The hotel offers a few breakfast which is a very nice gesture. Again, there is inconsistency here. One day the cooler has yogurt, hardboiled eggs and milk. The next day there was only milk. When another guest and myself peeked into the servers preparation room and asked for eggs and yogurt we were told they would have it out in a minute. After about 30 minutes, the items never came. I almost felt that maybe someone went to the store to get it, because we kept being told, they are coming. Overall, the staff seemed kind and professional. Our TV was not working right on Saturday night and they came up to help, most of them greeted you every time you walked past the front desk. The bed was probably the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in at a hotel and the location is about a mile from the Downtown Historic District....we walked back and forth.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 20's are farther away from the noisy elevator. Jacuzzi suite is nice. One side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for both your positive and comments of concerns you posted regarding our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Lewisburg, West Virginia. We take great pride in our hotel and are happy to hear that your stay was pleasant and that we met your expectations.

I do hope you enjoyed the suite you were in with the hot tub. Regarding the elevator, you are correct that it does have a scratching sound. This is the first time that we have heard that you can hear the elevator at the other end of the hotel. We know it’s not the quietest elevator, but we rarely get complaints because of it.

I am sorry that the pool towels were not what you expected. Most hotels use these same pool towels, you are correct they are not the same quality of the towels in our guest rooms but they serve the purpose for the pool and hot tub. I will address your other housekeeping concerns with our staff members.

I am glad hear the wonderful comments about the comfort of our bedding. We do get a lot of positive comments regarding our bedding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    32
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
41
37
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abilene, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at this Hotel for 5 days or more days at a time. The customer service and staff are great. The room is always very clean and there breakfast is great. Most of the Holiday Inn expresses you stay at the milk is warm or semi-cold at best for breakfast....not this establishment....it was super cold like it should be. Also, at most Holiday in expresses we stay at we have to ask for another towel and washcloth because they only put three in the room and there are four of us.......again, not the case here. The people that work at this hotel are very friendly and very helpful if your trying to locate a certain place in the area. We will stay there again when in the area. "Highly recommend."

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
I appreciate the wonderful comments and your return visits to our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Lewisburg, West Virginia. We take great pride in our hotel and are happy to hear that your stay was pleasant and that we met your expectations.

Thanks for the high recommendation for future viewers looking for a hotel in Lewisburg.

Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

When you check in you will see on the front counter a trophy for 2012 Award for Quality Excellence awarded by HI's umbrella hotel group, IHG. This is a well deserved award!

Everything was perfect. Clean and bright foyer and halls. Our suite room was spacious and perfect for us to entertain for a glass of wine another couple who were traveling with us. The bed very comfortable, great TV selection, excellent reading lighting, quiet, even though across from the elevator.

The breakfast was good, in a room large enough to accommodate a lot of people and comfortable couch and wing chairs. Staff very friendly.

Special kudos to Michelle who tried her best to get our two parties close-by rooms, on a night when the hotel was sold out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
I appreciate the wonderful comments you posted regarding our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Lewisburg, West Virginia. We take great pride in our hotel and are happy to hear that your stay was pleasant and that we met your expectations.

I am happy that you enjoyed the breakfast. We strive to make our breakfast a great start of the day for our guests.

I am glad you noticed that the hotel was one of the IHG Quality Assurance Award winners for 2012. I will also pass on your comments to Michelle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We checked in after a lovely drive through West Virginia. It is located close to a walmart and other stores with nice restaurants close by. It is also across from a peaceful cemetery. Check in was quick, attendant very friendly and helpful, and upon first impression the lobby and hotel looked clean and modern. Our room was large and one of the cleanest I've stayed in across star levels. The bed was a little too soft for my fiance, but I found it perfect. The bathroom was nicely appointed with citron bath products. We didn't have breakfast, but it looked good. If we're in need of hotel in that area again this one is number one on the list.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for the taking the time to let us know about your most current experience at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites located in Lewisburg, West Virginia. Our goal is to meet your needs from a clean comfortable room to friendly staff and I can see we did that.

Again thank you for the wonderful comments and if your travel plans takes you back through Lewisburg I hope you will stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel is relatively new or recently modernized. It is modern and clean. The rooms are a good size, bathrooms well stocked, microwave and small frig in each room. It's a three story building a with an elevator.

Today the breakfast had all the usual HIE items but at times some items were depleted and it took a while to get fresh items restocked. It was a little busy because of the Boy Scout Jamboree in nearby Beckley, WV.

The hotel is off Rt 219. A few restaurants are a short walking distance away.

The staff is very helpful. I would definitely stay here again if I was in the area

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments about your most recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express in Lewisburg, West Virginia. The hotel is just under 5 years old and was one of the 2012 IHG Award winning Quality Assurance Hotels.

The Holiday Inn Express breakfast program gives everyone many options to choose from. You can enjoy the hot breakfast which includes the signature cinnamon roll by Holiday Inn Express. Do to the Boy Scout Jamboree we prepared as best as we could and at times we did run a little behind on our breakfast. We were staffed knowing that this would be a busy time for the hotel and area.

Thank you for the recommendation for future guests that read your posting on our hotel. And I hope to see you again if your travel takes you back to Lewisburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, ky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a fairly new facility. It is clean and the location is nice, because it is a quiet place. Breakfast was average. The staff was very friendly. Really couldn't ask for more for a one night stopover.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed on the cemetery side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for the taking the time to let us know about your most current experience at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites located in Lewisburg, West Virginia. Our goal is to meet your needs from a clean comfortable room to friendly staff and I can see we did that.

Again thank you for the wonderful comments and if your travel plans takes you back through Lewisburg I hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at this hotel over the weekend of June 29-30, 2013. every single staff member I encountered was very pleasant and helpful. The entire property was extremely clean and taken great care of. I highly recommend this hotel when traveling in the Greenbrier Valley area...you can't go wrong with this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for the taking the time to let us know about your most current experience at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites located in Lewisburg, West Virginia. Our goal is to meet your needs from a clean comfortable room to friendly staff and I can see we did that.

Again thank you for the wonderful comments and if your travel plans takes you back through Lewisburg I hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg

Address: 222 Hunter Lane, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new hotel in Lewisburg, West Virginia boasts excellent facilities. Come and stay at our new Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Lewisburg near the Greenbrier Valley Airport. Our hotel in Lewisburg, WV is the perfect choice for both leisure and corporate travelers. Families looking for lodging in Lewisburg, WV will love staying at our hotel, near Lost World Caverns, located just off I-64 in the lovely Allegheny Mountains. We are convenient to several local attractions, including the scenic Greenbrier River, historic downtown Lewisburg & plenty of antique shopping. Other sights and activities near our hotel in Lewisburg, WV include Organ Cave, the West Virginia State Fair & Oakhurst Links, home of the oldest organized golf club in the United States. Business travelers will be impressed by the comfort of our Lewisburg, West Virginia accommodations. We also offer access to numerous companies, such as the Terradon Corporation, Gateway Industries, ABB Process Analytics, Wal-Mart and the West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine. In addition, we provide a Business Center with fax, print, copy services, a computer and free high-speed Internet access, so you can keep up with business on the road. While lodging in this Lewisburg, WV hotel, enjoy amenities including a heated, indoor pool, a modern fitness center and a free hot breakfast bar. Book your reservation now to enjoy great Lewisburg hotel rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Lewisburg
Holiday Inn Express Lewisburg
Lewisburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.