We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carnegie Hall

Carnegie Hall
105 Church Street, Lewisburg, WV 24901
+1 304-645-7917
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 17 things to do in Lewisburg
Activities: Dancing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Carnegie Hall was built in 1902 with funds donated by steel baron and philanthropist, Andrew Carnegie. Carnegie Hall, Inc. was established in 1983 as a regional, not-for-profit arts and education center to serve Southern West Virginia. The historic, Greek-revival structure houses an auditorium, studios for painting, weaving, pottery and dance; three art galleries; kitchen; administrative offices; and several other rooms used for meeting spaces, classrooms, lectures, receptions, and gatherings of all kinds.
Thomas, West Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

One of my favorite venues around. Great sound quality, really stellar acts for a town as small as Lewisburg, all in an absolutely beautiful setting.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alliance, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Venue, but ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We've been to Carnegie Hall in Lewisburg several times. The space is intimate, the sound is consistently good, and they have a pretty interesting selection of artists. But the balcony is something of a visual disaster, with little raking and large poles that obscure the view of the stage. Whatever you do, sit on the main floor.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A real gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We attended a concert here recently and had the time of our lives. It was our first visit. Any of you who regularly attend cultural events know how snooty people can be in these settings. There was none of that malarkey at Carnegie Hall. The volunteer who seated us was upbeat, down to earth, and made us feel immediately welcome and at home in the place. The room is small, the seating comfortable, and the atmosphere relaxed. While waiting for the performance to start, we explored the adjacent art gallery. During intermission, there was excellent food and wine to be had, all for a $5.00 donation! Not a typo! Definitely coming back!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dancin at Carnegie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just liked the ambiance. Nice size, small crowd for ssquare dance. No parking probs. Great fiddler, banjo, mandolin, and callers

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Enjoyable art museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My family and I visited Carnegie Hall. It is a nice building with different rooms where you can view art that is displayed. You can also look in the auditorium and see the stage and seating area. I liked that the museum is unlocked and since it is free, you can just walk in and see the art work as you like. We did walk to the office to see which rooms we were allowed to view and the staff was friendly and helpful.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carnegie Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carnegie Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.