We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse nightmare!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Fort Savannah

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Fort Savannah to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Econo Lodge Fort Savannah
204 Jefferson St., Lewisburg, WV 24901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Lewisburg
WV
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worse nightmare!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2007

It was so terrible, filthy, very bad odor and very rude staff in the office. We went home after the fair concert instead of staying, the air conditioning didn't work, the bathroom fixtures were so corroded and horrible. I asked for a refund and they refused, didn't even consider giving us a refund!!!!!!!! Beware of this place and the picture they provide it is very deceiving.

  • Liked — Absolutely nothing
  • Disliked — Everything - it was filthy!!
  • Stayed August 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    1
    2
    17
See reviews for
5
5
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

We had a confirmed reservation (via confirmation number and verbal communication directly with manager 2 days prior to our scheduled check-in) during the State Fair. Upon arrival, that confirmed reservation had mysteriously been given away. The people at the front desk were rude, completely unprofessional, offered no sympathy and simply did not care that they were causing an inconvenience to a family of 4 (our kids were 5 and not quite 2 at the time). We had needed 3 nights, finally got in on the last night...with NO apologies from them. Once we got in, we wished we were still camping in our cattle trailer--it was much cleaner than that joke of a room. The rooms were dirty, there was a huge gap all the way around the front door. The bathtub and sink were in horrible shape. I will NEVER stay in this dump again.

  • Liked — That it only lasted one night!
  • Disliked — Condition of the room and lack of a friendly staff.
  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lewisburg hotels

Fort Pierce, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2007

Mistake number one. Have a reservation before stopping for the night.
I ended up paying WAY too much for a night in this place.

Econolodge used to be an OK place to stay. It is no longer a place I could recommend if this is what you end up with.
I was afraid to park my car away from my room, so my room was changed. I was warned I may hear "noise", but I must admit it was quiet. I just couldn't bring myself to shower, as the tub looked very nasty.

I would be OK staying here, if I paid 25-30 dollars, but this cost me. with tax close to $60.

Never again.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2006

This place is disgusting! One building was boarded up, both should've been.... The room was filthy and reeked of urine. We booked online, paid prior to seeing the room... should've known better. Went up the road to the Super 8 and the girl at the front desk held the last room she had open for me till I could go back and get a refund from the EconoLodge. I did get a refund on the credit card, but not willingly. Stay at the Super 8. Very clean, nice size rooms and very nice people at the front desk.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — filthy accomodations
  • Tips/Secrets — don't stay here
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grottoes, virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2006

This motel is in a state of disrepair-in fact one section's stairs are cordoned off with police tape it is in such bad tape (assuming it's not a crime scene).The room we had was also in poor shape-broken furniture, missing bathroom necessities, broken equipment, missing light bulbs, etc. The restaurant at the motel is closed down. The "pub" is open, but the staff is rude and hostile (unless you're local).
EconoLodge should disassociate itself from this dump.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2005

The hotel was shabby, burn holes all over the place and not particularly clean. The staff was rude. The bed was as hard as a rock. We thought they might have put two box springs together, but it was a mattress. We got no sleep over the two days we were there because the bed was so bad. There were no other available rooms in the area otherwise we would have left. We paid $100/night because it was a weekend. The only redeeming quality was the water pressure in the shower. I suggest you make reservations elsewhere early.

  • Stayed July 2004, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2003

The room was shabby, rundown, and overpriced for what it was.

My big problem with them was that they tried to charge me an outrageous amount of money for dialing up my ISP using a local Lewisburg number.
They had a sign on the phone saying they charged 50 cents per local call, so I called the front desk to ask about a per-minute charge; they assured me that there wasn't one. When checked out and they tried to charge me for the calls, I told the checkout guy that I'd checked with the front desk. He still tried to charge me, and actually made up an excuse about how the motel didn't have an ISP so there was a charge for connecting to one from a room. I ended up arguing with him for 15 minutes, leaving with an itemized receipt showing they weren't going to charge me for the calls. When I got back to the office, I had a voice mail saying they were going to charge me after all-- this time they were claiming that it was a long distance call, which it wasn't. I got it straightened out, but it took three or four calls.

When I went to check out, a young woman was checking out and getting socked with $10 for a call she'd thought was local. This makes me awfully suspicious that this motel does this stuff all the time.

Parking was convenient. The room was clean enough so the Health Department wouldn't shut them down. The old fort is cool, if you're in town for a while maybe stop in and check it out. Stay someplace else.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge Fort Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Fort Savannah

Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Fort Savannah Hotel Lewisburg
Econo Lodge Fort Savannah Hotel
Econo Lodge Lewisburg
Address: 204 Jefferson St., Lewisburg, WV 24901
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge Fort Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Fort Savannah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.