We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turn your Team into a Family at Opossum Creek Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Opossum Creek Retreat Cabin Rentals

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lansing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Opossum Creek Retreat Cabin Rentals
Save
You added Opossum Creek Retreat Cabin Rentals to your Saves list
Opossum Creek Road, Lansing, WV   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Turn your Team into a Family at Opossum Creek Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Jim and Keith have a great set up for Corporate meetings. The facilities are intimate and minutes from terrific team activites in the New River Gorge. We held meetings in the morning and then did Zip Lining and Rafting in the afternoon.

This kept the meeting time really focused and allowed plenty of "follow up" discussion while doing the activities.

What really sets this meeting apart from the quarterly meetings we do as a sales leadership team is the service and attention to detail we received from Jim, Keith and there entire staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    4
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

We were able to stay one night Saturday after white water rafting. We opted for this rather than camping, and were EXTREMELY happy with this decision. Although the cabin is small and more rustic in nature (we were in cabin #4), it was perfect for us, we had all the cooking utensils we needed, including a gas grill, and enjoyed dinner and breakfast on the screened in porch, followed by a dip in the hot tub. We were even greeted with a basket of fresh baked cookies and complimentary glasses to take home. After we went rafting and grocery shopping, we never saw or heard another person, and that was what we were looking for.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA.
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
347 helpful votes 347 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

To be perfectly honest, when we first walked into our cabin (Over the Hill) we were disappointed. The cabin was clean, but very old, and very small (especially considering the price). The grounds were amazing (in the middle of the woods).... and it was close to all of the activities the new river gorge area has to offer.

Good: Location, grounds (unbelievably scenic). hot tub was clean and inviting, fresh cookies were waiting for us upon arrival (along with souvenir drinking glasses, and key-chain flash lights).

Bad: WiFi was nearly useless... only worked on rare occasion... and when it did, it made old dial-up seem fast by comparison. The cabin was small, and the appliances all looked like they were at least 15 years old (kinda low-brow for the price IMHO).

Other: Would have been hard to find but not for the map they send you (your GPS and Mapquest and/or Google maps will get you lost). Requested pics of the cabin several times before arriving (never got them)... I think I know why now (it's not very impressive on the inside... the ones w/inside pics provided on the website look nicer inside). Free common laundry was provided (2 small stacked machines)... which is better than nothing... but many cabins offer washer/dryer in the units. By comparison to other lodging options I suppose this one is OK (lots of older looking cabins, or lower-end motels)... maybe the bigger cabins are more nicely appointed (they seem to get great reviews)?

I had a hard time deciding whether to give this a thumbs up or down, in the end we had a good time so I give it a very lukewarm thumbs up.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

Buddy's and I stayed at El Gordo. Eight of us total for a bachelor party. Good enough amount of room for all of us. The owner supplied us with a map to get to the cabin and we found it, even in the dark on our ride into town. He even made us cookies! The cabin was stocked with everything we needed to cook our own food and it was centrally located for all of our activities. Between climbing, rafting and hitting Summersville lake as well as the restaurants in Fayetteville, we were within 20 minutes of everything. Would absolutely recommend to anyone looking for a great spot to vacation.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

I stayed at the largest cabin - the Meadows, with a group of 16 a few weeks ago. The cabin is fantastic, with a very large common area, and enormous grounds. It was very well maintained, and had a new feel to it. The bunkbeds weren't so ideal for the adults, but it wasn't a huge deal. Overall, it represented a great value, and I recommend it highly.

The reason for the half star deduction is the poor communication prior to our visit. I often had to leave several messages before hearing back a few days later. Additionally, we did not receive directions (nor are they on the website), so we used google maps, which led us to the wrong place. We drove for nearly 2 hours at 3 am trying to find the place -- my group was NOT happy.
To be fair, when we locked ourselves out one night, the owner was terrific and came by quickly to open up the door for us.

To sum up - a wonderful time -- just be sure to get proper directions before coming.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

We stayed there over July 4 weekend, and I would definitely stay there again. The cabins are really nice. Each cabin has a private hot tub on a screened in porch, and that was really great. The kitchen is fully stocked with plates, pots, pans, etc, so we were able to save a lot of money by cooking our own food. The setting is extremely peaceful and quiet - in the woods.

The only issue we had, was that the wireless internet service was sometimes very slow and sometimes even we could not connect at all. But, we didn't come out to the woods to sit online and surf the net, so that wasn't a big deal. Actually it was kind of a relief.

Since you are renting a cabin and not staying in a hotel room, there was no housekeeping service. They provided plenty of towels, but if you think you might need extra towels. I would talk to them in advance about how to arrange that.

Altogether it was a wonderful stay and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Opossum Creek Retreat Cabin Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opossum Creek Retreat Cabin Rentals

Address: Opossum Creek Road, Lansing, WV
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lansing
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Lansing
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Opossum Creek Retreat Cabin Rentals Hotel Lansing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opossum Creek Retreat Cabin Rentals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.