We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private, quiet cabin with a hot tub, what's not to like?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Opossum Creek Retreat Cabin Rentals

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lansing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Opossum Creek Retreat Cabin Rentals
Opossum Creek Road, Lansing, WV   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Private, quiet cabin with a hot tub, what's not to like?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We had a very relaxing few days between Christmas and New Years here. Every cabin has it's own hot tub. Ours was on a screened porch facing nothing but forest. It snowed lightly the first night and it was so fantastic to be in the hot tub with the snow falling drifting down outside. The warm inside of the cabin had everything we needed for cooking and relaxing. The cabin had a TV and (patchy) WiFi, but we never turned on the TV, and we didn't really need the WiFi (I mean, we wanted a cabin, not a city business hotel).

The area is great too, everyone we met was friendly. These cabins are a five minute drive from the New River Gorge and Bridge; a beautiful gorge with a lot of history. We hiked around and toured in the day, and Fayetteville is a funky little town and has some nice little eateries if you don't feel like cooking. Wow, I sound like an advertisement, but it really was a great getaway.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    3
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We spent 3 nights at the Meadows (and Cabin 1 for overflow) for a large family reunion with 6 families ranging in ages from 6 - 80 years. After much searching on the internet, I found this place. Everyone was very happy with the clean and modern accommodations. The spacious family and dining areas allowed everyone to eat together, socialize and spread out comfortably. The kitchen was very well stocked. The sleeping arrangements worked well for us as the children and teenagers were happy to sleep in the room with 5 sets of bunkbeds. The adults all had their own bedrooms. The location was nearby white water rafting and zip lining, and yet was very private.

Overall, a fantastic place for a family reunion - I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We were here last year for my friend's bachelor party, had a great time, so we came back to the same cabin, "el gordo". Same great experience! The owners had cookies ready for us again, which sounds unspectacular, but after driving 7.5 hrs, they are really a great surprise. The cabin is everything we wanted in amenities and room. Super clean and well stocked with towels and cooking gear. Hoping to get more friends down next year so that we can hit up the bigger cabins on the property! Well within 10-15 minutes of rafting and climbing and amazing hiking trails.

Room Tip: El Gordo has two large bedrooms and a third bedroom with two sets of bunk beds. Super clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

The owners definitely put a lot of thought & care into the property. They thought of many conveniences. One example is there are plenty of hooks to hang clothes. One thing I always check out is the carpeting - it was clean & looked fairly new. Adventures on the Gorge is only 10 minutes away for whitewater rafting. The New River Bridge is very close, too.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

We stayed at Opossum Creek in 2004. When we planned a return trip to WV, no doubt, we wanted to stay at Opossum Creek again. It was even better the second time around. I am itching to go back & stay again! The hosts are gracious, the cabins are cozy, the environment is exceptional! I would definitely recommend Opossum Creek to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avilla, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed at cabin 2 and had a great time. There were four adults and two teenage boys. Our purpose was to hang out and then ski for a couple days. When we arrived there was a lot snow that was absolutely beautiful. The hot tub had been changed out the day of our arrival so was freezing until the next morning but it was great to wake up and get in the hot tub surrounded by snow and trees.......and peacefulness!

We had all of the necessities to cook our own meals and took advantage of the BBQ grill. Our only suggestion for slight improvement would be an extended roof line over the walkway between the parking and grilling area as the melting ice, and later the rain, dripped on your head when outside cooking or loading/unloading luggage. NOT a big deal though!

All in all, a fabulous place that you MUST visit.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Jim and Keith have a great set up for Corporate meetings. The facilities are intimate and minutes from terrific team activites in the New River Gorge. We held meetings in the morning and then did Zip Lining and Rafting in the afternoon.

This kept the meeting time really focused and allowed plenty of "follow up" discussion while doing the activities.

What really sets this meeting apart from the quarterly meetings we do as a sales leadership team is the service and attention to detail we received from Jim, Keith and there entire staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Opossum Creek Retreat Cabin Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opossum Creek Retreat Cabin Rentals

Address: Opossum Creek Road, Lansing, WV
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lansing
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty lodging in Lansing
Also Known As:
Opossum Creek Retreat Cabin Rentals Hotel Lansing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opossum Creek Retreat Cabin Rentals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Opossum Creek Retreat Cabin Rentals to your Saves list