We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time back, still awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Opossum Creek Retreat Cabin Rentals

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lansing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Opossum Creek Retreat Cabin Rentals
Save Saved
You added Opossum Creek Retreat Cabin Rentals to your Saves list
Opossum Creek Road, Lansing, WV   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Newark, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Second time back, still awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We were here last year for my friend's bachelor party, had a great time, so we came back to the same cabin, "el gordo". Same great experience! The owners had cookies ready for us again, which sounds unspectacular, but after driving 7.5 hrs, they are really a great surprise. The cabin is everything we wanted in amenities and room. Super clean and well stocked with towels and cooking gear. Hoping to get more friends down next year so that we can hit up the bigger cabins on the property! Well within 10-15 minutes of rafting and climbing and amazing hiking trails.

Room Tip: El Gordo has two large bedrooms and a third bedroom with two sets of bunk beds. Super clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    4
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

The owners definitely put a lot of thought & care into the property. They thought of many conveniences. One example is there are plenty of hooks to hang clothes. One thing I always check out is the carpeting - it was clean & looked fairly new. Adventures on the Gorge is only 10 minutes away for whitewater rafting. The New River Bridge is very close, too.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

We stayed at Opossum Creek in 2004. When we planned a return trip to WV, no doubt, we wanted to stay at Opossum Creek again. It was even better the second time around. I am itching to go back & stay again! The hosts are gracious, the cabins are cozy, the environment is exceptional! I would definitely recommend Opossum Creek to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avilla, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed at cabin 2 and had a great time. There were four adults and two teenage boys. Our purpose was to hang out and then ski for a couple days. When we arrived there was a lot snow that was absolutely beautiful. The hot tub had been changed out the day of our arrival so was freezing until the next morning but it was great to wake up and get in the hot tub surrounded by snow and trees.......and peacefulness!

We had all of the necessities to cook our own meals and took advantage of the BBQ grill. Our only suggestion for slight improvement would be an extended roof line over the walkway between the parking and grilling area as the melting ice, and later the rain, dripped on your head when outside cooking or loading/unloading luggage. NOT a big deal though!

All in all, a fabulous place that you MUST visit.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Jim and Keith have a great set up for Corporate meetings. The facilities are intimate and minutes from terrific team activites in the New River Gorge. We held meetings in the morning and then did Zip Lining and Rafting in the afternoon.

This kept the meeting time really focused and allowed plenty of "follow up" discussion while doing the activities.

What really sets this meeting apart from the quarterly meetings we do as a sales leadership team is the service and attention to detail we received from Jim, Keith and there entire staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

We were able to stay one night Saturday after white water rafting. We opted for this rather than camping, and were EXTREMELY happy with this decision. Although the cabin is small and more rustic in nature (we were in cabin #4), it was perfect for us, we had all the cooking utensils we needed, including a gas grill, and enjoyed dinner and breakfast on the screened in porch, followed by a dip in the hot tub. We were even greeted with a basket of fresh baked cookies and complimentary glasses to take home. After we went rafting and grocery shopping, we never saw or heard another person, and that was what we were looking for.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA.
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
350 helpful votes 350 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

To be perfectly honest, when we first walked into our cabin (Over the Hill) we were disappointed. The cabin was clean, but very old, and very small (especially considering the price). The grounds were amazing (in the middle of the woods).... and it was close to all of the activities the new river gorge area has to offer.

Good: Location, grounds (unbelievably scenic). hot tub was clean and inviting, fresh cookies were waiting for us upon arrival (along with souvenir drinking glasses, and key-chain flash lights).

Bad: WiFi was nearly useless... only worked on rare occasion... and when it did, it made old dial-up seem fast by comparison. The cabin was small, and the appliances all looked like they were at least 15 years old (kinda low-brow for the price IMHO).

Other: Would have been hard to find but not for the map they send you (your GPS and Mapquest and/or Google maps will get you lost). Requested pics of the cabin several times before arriving (never got them)... I think I know why now (it's not very impressive on the inside... the ones w/inside pics provided on the website look nicer inside). Free common laundry was provided (2 small stacked machines)... which is better than nothing... but many cabins offer washer/dryer in the units. By comparison to other lodging options I suppose this one is OK (lots of older looking cabins, or lower-end motels)... maybe the bigger cabins are more nicely appointed (they seem to get great reviews)?

I had a hard time deciding whether to give this a thumbs up or down, in the end we had a good time so I give it a very lukewarm thumbs up.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Opossum Creek Retreat Cabin Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opossum Creek Retreat Cabin Rentals

Address: Opossum Creek Road, Lansing, WV
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lansing
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty lodging in Lansing
Also Known As:
Opossum Creek Retreat Cabin Rentals Hotel Lansing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opossum Creek Retreat Cabin Rentals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.