We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thatch Caye Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Thatch Caye Resort to your Saves list
Thatch Caye Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 miles off the coast - South Water Marine Reserve | Cocoplum Chain, Coco Plum Cay, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coco Plum Cay
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We were on a sailing trip and decided to moor overnight at Thatch Caye. When we got there we tied off on a mooring ball a couple of hundred yards offshore. When we looked at Thatch Caye it didn't seem as if there was much there until we took our dinghy in and the whole island is laid out with charming casitas and walkways all set within the tropical gardens. We stayed there two nights, had two excellent dinners eaten "family style" with the proprietors and other guests. The proprietor organized a bone flushing charter for us at short notice with some guides from the mainland....great service all around!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    25
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
137
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed at Thatch Caye for 3 nights as a family and rented the villa. It is a unique experience. You're on a tiny island with a few other people. The cabanas are simple but mostly comfortable (apart from the beds). The surrounding is nice, quite green, and best of all the resort is very environmentally friendly.

I give this resort 4 stars because of its unusual but excellent location. If this resort were anywhere else I wouldn't give it more than 3 stars. There're a few tiny beaches on the island but they're not really ideal for swimming. The food is mediocre and you don't get to choose (though we knew this before booking). They just serve you the food without even warning you what is about to come (apart from the main course at dinner). The people who work at the resort are friendly but the service isn't professional. The atmosphere is quite casual. If you have your own car, to get to the island, you follow a driver, drive outside Dangriga, arrive at a riverside area in the middle of nowhere and leave your car next to someone's house whose identity you don't know.

Overall, go there to experience an island stay, and for a laid-back time. But don't expect more.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatch_Caye_Resort, Guest Relations Manager at Thatch Caye Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at Thatch Caye Resort and for taking the time to share your feedback. We love that you enjoyed the uniqueness of Thatch Caye Resort! You’re right that we’re not a traditional beach resort, however, we hope you enjoyed the central beach, hammocks, loungers, kayaks and stand up paddle boards! As you may know, the best swimming, snorkelling and diving is at the Belize Barrier Reef only a short 10 minute boat ride from the island. We hope you had a chance to visit it during your stay!

We are constantly working on our menu and meal service and appreciate your feedback. We list our daily dinner menu by the bar and the breakfast and lunch menus in the dining area, however we will take your feedback into consideration and post the menu in a more visible location. We have also trained our staff to provide your dinner options at the lunch hour so that we can ensure we have all our customers meal orders taken into account.

Almost all of our clients arrive to Thatch Caye by plane or bus. However, if you do choose to drive in - there is no need to worry about the parking during your stay! We have a local home owner on-site who offers 24 hour surveillance to our boat launch and only allow permitted vehicles are allowed to enter through the locked gate into the boat launch (and parking) area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We thought we had landed in paradise when we arrived. That feeling never diminished during our stay. We wanted adventure, but also to spoil ourselves a bit for our 10th anniversary. We got just that, and more. The facilities are beautiful and well-maintained. The biggest dilemma of the day was which of the many hammock/beach/lounge chair spots to choose for reading and gazing at the azure waters. We loved our spacious casita with rooftop hammocks. Walking paths among trees from end-to-end let us explore and stretch our legs. Tiki lamps lining the paths lit our way at night.

With only 4-7 other guests during our stay, we were outnumbered by a wonderful staff -- friendly, fun, knowledgeable about sea life, flora and fauna, and ready to help with anything we needed. Managers Chris and Frank carefully look after guests and every detail. We began each evening at the bar, savoring one of Jess' surprise blender drinks, and then lingered over al fresco dinners shared with other guests. Alberto's food was good to great, using fresh and local produce and fish.

Short boat trips got us to top-notch spots for snorkeling and diving. I completed my diving certificate with one of their well-qualified dive masters, Shannon. Matt led snorkels and also dove with us. He was as excited as we were to see green sea turtles, exotic fish and a manatee. We also enjoyed an island hopping tour, sailing the Hobie Cat, and using the kayaks and paddle boards. We miss our island paradise and the friends we made. -Katie & Mark, Minnesota

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatch_Caye_Resort, Guest Relations Manager at Thatch Caye Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Hi Katie & Mark. It was our pleasure to host you at Thatch Caye Resort for your 10th anniversary (and congratulations)! We know what you mean about the toughest part of the day being trying to decide which hammock or lounger to relax on. Your snorkel and dive experiences sound incredible, and Shannon enjoyed working with Katie to complete her PADI dive certification with us. Please come back and celebrate with us again anytime and experience some specialty dives or maybe even diving with whale sharks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Badger, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I was looking for a peaceful, private getaway to celebrate my husbands' 50th birthday, and Thatch Caye was perfect for that. When we arrived we were the ONLY guests on the island- it doesn't get more private than that! Even when others arrived, we never felt like we had to share our little slice of paradise. Even thoughThatch is not a spa resort, it is so comfortable and laid back. Unfortunately, while we had a king bed, it was actually two twins pushed together, making it a bit uncomfortable if you strayed from your side. The staff was very nice, and Sheranda at the front and Mat at the dive shop were simply fabulous! My husband took a Discover Scuba dive with Mat and said it was a memory he'll never forget. While there is no sea access from the over the water cabanas, there are several access areas around the island making it easy to slip in the water for swimming or snorkeling. Unfortunately the weather didn't cooperate, or we may never have gotten out of the water! We even had a blast watching all the hermit crabs! We especially loved the evening walks from our cabana on the tiki-lit path! The only negatives were minor: 1) We would have appreciated curtains on the windows. Even though the cabanas are set off the path, they are surrounded by windows. At night when changing your clothes, you couldn't tell if there was anyone on the path walking by. Since the staff was constantly back and forth on the path, I had to stand in a corner hunched down to change, and actually had the staff picking up our bags arrive early, only to get to the window as I was getting dressed. 2) The food and the dining arrangements were not great. Since meals are only served in a specific time frame, we had to set our alarm every AM so we wouldn't miss breakfast, when we would have preferred to sleep in and lounge for a while. The quality of the food was average- some meals were very good, others not. Since you are at the mercy of the meal choice, you may go hungry if they serve something you don't like, and the portions were rather small. It would be great if they had a small snack bar available throughout the day. Drinks were wonderful- think we tried one of each! If you are looking for a quiet, private destination to unwind, Thatch Caye is ideal!

Room Tip: The sound of the waves crashing under the cabanas made falling asleep and staying asleep very easy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatch_Caye_Resort, Guest Relations Manager at Thatch Caye Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you again for joining us at Thatch Caye Resort. We’re so glad you chose us for your special birthday celebration and we got to share a bit of paradise with you! We appreciate you taking the time to share your vacation experience.

You’re right that meal times are posted, but please know that Alberto and the kitchen team are happy to cook up a later breakfast for guests that want to enjoy a bit of a sleep in. We will make sure to include that information in the island briefing. Also, don’t be afraid to ask for seconds! We know that snorkelling, diving, and just plain relaxing can work up quite the appetite. We are constantly working on our menu and in addition to recently adding a choice of entrees at dinner, we are hoping to add a bar snack menu for the afternoon period.

Thank you for your thoughts on the windows in the cabanas. The window panels were specifically chosen to let in lots of light and the ocean breezes as well as provide privacy for our guests. Based on your feedback, however, we will be adding some frosted glass panels to some of the more exposed windows. Thank you for highlighting the issue!

We hope your memories of scuba diving, the hermit crabs, and evening tiki-lit paths will lead you back to Thatch Caye in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Thatch Caye was an amazing place for our honeymoon. Staff was super nice and the island vibe was super cool. We were there for both Christmas and New Year's during a 9 day stay and loved every minute of it. Only word of advice is that if you are staying in one of the overwater cabanas, be prepared for geckos and island bugs that may make their way through the roof. Bugs love us and we had bug spray ourselves every night before bed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We were lucky to have the whole island to ourselves on our five night stay in January, and what an island it is! Crystal clear water surrounded the island, and we loved our stay the beautiful and comfortable water-bungalows. Truly peace and quiet and still we could do activities such as fishing, island hopping and snorkeling if we wanted. The staff took really good care of us, nothing was too much trouble and we felt truly welcome and blessed during our whole time there. We visited a few other islands in Tobacco Caye region, however, felt very fortunate that we chose to stay at Thatch Caye and would definitely stay here again if we come back to Belize, Diving at the reef was amazing, and Alberto the chef made the most tasteful delicious food. Last, but not least, Chris the manager does a wonderful job looking after the guests. We wish we could have stayed for weeks! Thank you for an unforgettable, personal, and relaxing experience!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Thatch Caye went above and beyond what we could have asked for on our destination wedding vacation. We got married on the island and the staff gave us the first class treatment with our stay and wedding. They decorated our weddding area with lots of love... we had seashells, palm leaves,candles and our names in the sand and so much more...The wedding was extra special because of everything the staff did for us. The island is so breathtaking no words to describe the views you will see.
The staff takes alot of pride in cleaning every part of the island making sure the island looks amazing for the guest. We love and miss our new Belizian family they become our new friends and we will never forget our time with them!
We love and miss yall :)
Love,
Todd and Christie Baze

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coco Plum Cay
10.6 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#4 of 12 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Turneffe Island Resort
Turneffe Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Turneffe Island
5.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
8.6 mi away
Chaleanor Hotel
Chaleanor Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dangriga
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 12 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 stars 418 reviews
10.6 mi away
Almond Beach Resort
Almond Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
23.8 mi away
Belize Ocean Club
Belize Ocean Club
#5 of 20 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thatch Caye Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thatch Caye Resort

Address: 9 miles off the coast - South Water Marine Reserve | Cocoplum Chain, Coco Plum Cay, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Coco Plum Cay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coco Plum Cay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thatch Caye Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thatch Caye Resort introduces a whole new level of eco-adventure and comfort for marine activities in Belize! Enjoy the amazing sights and sensations of the largest barrier reef in the Northern Hemisphere while relaxing in a top-quality upscale resort. Thatch Caye Resort is a private island located 9 miles from the main town of Dangriga in south-central Belize and two miles inside the barrier reef. Join one of our amazing getaway packages or let us help you customize a stay just for you. The Rest & Relaxation package offers you the freedom and flexibility to choose your own mainland and marine adventures while you are with us. The Reef Explorer explores the Belize Barrier Reef and mangroves on guided snorkeling tours. Visit Tobacco Caye and South Water Caye on the scuba diving package. Enjoy guided adventure and a hint of romance on our Honeymoon Getaway. Sea kayakers, saltwater fly-fishermen, snorkelers, scuba divers, and marine sightseers will love this Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Thatch Caye Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thatch Caye Hotel Dangriga
Thatch Caye Dangriga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thatch Caye Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.