We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sekoma June 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sekoma Island Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mambova
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sekoma Island Lodge
Save
You added Sekoma Island Lodge to your Saves list
Mambova, Kazangula, Mambova, Zambia   |  
Hotel amenities
Mtubatuba, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sekoma June 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I have just returned from my first trip to Sekoma Island, what a special place. Easy to get to, stunning location, very comfortable accommodation, good food, nice boats, helpful guides and good fishing!!! The management and staff went out of their way to assist us with what ever we needed and the trip was excellent value for money. The next trip is already being planned.

Room Tip: There were three of us in our group and we stayed in the 4 bed tent which was very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
2
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Ilombe Lodge a smaller island lodge connected to Sekoma is just the greatest. I went with a group of fly fisherman and had the most awesome experience. At ilombe Lodge. The food was great the staff managed by Peter and Agatha super. The ambiance and situation just beyond explanation. The fishing guides were all helpful and knowledgeable.

Go with the knowledge that nature will be your lead, and just live the time.
All in all a worthwhile and wonderful holiday.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I had wanted to tiger fish the Zambezi for years and finally had the time and the cash to organize a visit. the choice of venues is bewildering but after much research, settled on sekoma lodge.
so glad we did. we were met at a small dock for one of the best approaches to holiday destination. a speed boat swung out into the Zambezi and the magic began.
staff were all wonderful (though quite why the owners deem it necessary to have a white SA couple to manage the very competent local managers, I do not know-perhaps it's a cultural thing that as a Brit I simply don't understand).
we were a little. off season but guides worked hard so that as novices, we both caught. food's good but a bit like British private school dinners....why not let the chef (who can obviously cook) produce food more in tune with the location.

all in all, a joy

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Last year I visited with two good friends but unfortunately this year I had to do it alone. The staff are amazing at Sekoma (Kelvin, Peter, Agatha, Precious, Vincent & guide Morgan) plus all the others that just make your stay there a real pleasure. New to me this time round were the new managers Justin and Samantha, what a lovely caring couple. The fact that I only Flyfish made my trip there even more of a challenge as the Zambezi is at its highest now so fly fishing for Tigers is not for the faint hearted. tI required constant re positioning of the boat by Morgan and of course the ever present "reed fish or structure fish" to capture an ill placed fly! Dinner is held in the Boma style area and can be rather intimidating for a lone person amoung a group. This was always taken care of by one of the staff always joining me for a meal to chat and discuss the day.
The guides do a great job and special thanks to Morgan for his enthusiastic and untiring efforts to get to the spots for me. A surprisingly large number of Tigers fell to my fly and a great experience was once again enjoyed by me !

Room Tip: Cabin 1 is closest to the lodge so is the noisiest. I was in number 8 and it was super quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salthouse
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

just back from 5 nights at this awesome place.
the location as stated by other reviewers is unbelievable - approaching by boat only adds to the sense of adventure.
the lodge is sensitively and discreetly positioned and immaculately kept
staff were all charming (precious/agatha/peter kelvin-though it's not really fair to single anyone out) and the fishing guides really know their stuff.
food was plentiful and great.
bar prices by western standards are good value especially when you consider that you are an extremely captive audience.
but it's really all about the location.....stunning outlook...elephants on the opoposite bank and even raiding the bins - crocs drifting lazily by

just go there

Room Tip: i wouldn't want to be in a room close to the bar when a large all male party were in camp.....to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The relative remoteness of Sekoma adds to its charm. The lodge can only be reached by boat. The tendted rooms are quaint and offer great views on the river and the animal life on the opposite bank. Whether its fishing, game viewing, photography or just relaxing - this is an ideal lodge. The staff are very friendly and the boats all very modern and well maintained. The food was good and they catered for a vegan with ease. I am definitely going again!

Room Tip: Room 1 is right by the reception, bar and dining area. It is very convenient, but if you're worr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

The lodge is reached by a 1hr30 road trip from Livingstone and then a 10min boat trip to the island. A very attractive thatched main diningroom lounge and bar area greets one on your arrival. The staff are friendly and always polite and willing to assist. The accomodation is in permanent tents with a bricked ablution area ajoining each unit (very comfortable shower and toilet area). The food that is prepared by the enthusiastic kitchen staff is superb ! The food is really special and a good variety of meals was enjoyed by ourselves over the 5 days we spent there. Supper is taken in the boma area whereas breakfast and lunch is taken in the main lodge area.
Now to the Tiger fishing. As pure Fly fishermen, we were given two boats for the 3 of us and two guides, Stephen and Morgan. Both were very positive and knowledgable, Stephen was great at making Ricky and I comfortable with casting to the banks and drifting the long distances on the High water of the Zambezi this year. Jannie was always at home with his guide Morgan. The lodge staff really excelled when after I suffered a 'fatal rod break' from a fiesty large Tiger, manager Quentin sorted me out with a replacement fly rod within minutes and had us back on the water catching Tigers !! Jannies 9wt fly rod also fractured during a battle with a wild tiger. His guide Morgan performed an amazing 'field' repair which saw his rod land fish days after. Well done to all of you really wonderful staff at Sekoma ! Thanks for a great experience !

Room Tip: All tent/rooms are nice and close to the rivers edge. Rooms 1 & 2 are closest to the main lodge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sekoma Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sekoma Island Lodge

Address: Mambova, Kazangula, Mambova, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Mambova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mambova
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World Class Fishing and Birding on the Upper Zambezi River Zambia. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sekoma Island Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.