We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine lodges” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1937 Short Road, off Short Road exit, Rt. 9 East, Kearneysville, WV 25430   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kearneysville
Elkins, West Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Fine lodges”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I spent two days at the Comfort Suites off Route 9 approximately four miles east of Martinsburg, WV. Since Route 9 is a four lane highway, it doesn't take but a few minutes to get into Martinsburg traveling west and a little longer to get to Charles Town. Unlike other area motels, there are no restaurants or shops other than a Sheetz located nearby. Therefore you have to travel a bit to find a restaurant, whether it is a fast food restaurant or a regular sit-down restaurant, or a business such as Walmart and Kmart, both of which are in the area.

The room was very attractive with a refrigerator, safe, flat screen TV and an alarm/radio. The bathroom was clean as was the entire room. A tasty continental breakfast was served from 7 - 10 am on weekends in a pleasant dining room. The breakfast room staff woman was very efficient, friendly and helpful as were the front desk persons. The facility is a non-smoking motel, and unlike some such motels, I could not smell any cigarette smoke from former occupants.

My only complaint was that the walls appear to be very thin. I could easily hear conversations from the room next door even though the people were speaking in a normal voice. Thank goodness they did not blast their TV or radio. I kept wondering how disturbing my walking might have been to the people in the room below me on the first floor. When water was run in the bathroom in an adjacent room either for the bath or sink or when the commode was flushed, I could hear the running water.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    19
    10
    7
    5
See reviews for
13
14
6
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jersy Shore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed here in late December and were really pleased with the experience. Staff were friendly and accommodating, the room was spacious and clean, and the complimentary breakfast was what you'd expect from a Comfort Suites-level hotel -- filling and tasty. We felt as if we got a real bargain. The en suite whirlpool tub was sluggish (no real bubbles or much movement), but that was the only thing that wasn't quite satisfactory; still no biggie. Beds were soft and comfortable and the room temp was easier to control than in a lot of similar places. All in all, a fine stay at a great price. About 20 minutes from Hollywood Casino in Charles Town and very close to downtown Martinsburg.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen B, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Hello! We are to currently offering a promotional rate and I am glad you chose our property out of the many in the area. Our property is centrally located which makes it makes it convienent to the the leisure and business traveler. We appreciate the time you took to to review our property. I will personally look into the issue you exerienced. Please come visit us again should your travels bring you back to the area!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catawissa, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights here on a much needed vacation. We were very happy with the location, the comfortable room, the service and the staff. A great value. Check-in and the express check-out were very convenient. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They were able to map out routes to our destinations that kept us out of the heavy traffic areas and were actually faster. The breakfast area was always clean and the food was fresh. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very prompt to resupply clean linens and towels. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We spent a long, rainy weekend at this hotel. The room was dark and not really a suite. It did have a microwave and fridge but still not what I would expect for hundred a night. Wifi was a problem. Our fan did not work in the bathroom.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kearneysville hotels

Sellersburg, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I enjoyed my stay 2 night stay at this hotel! The room was very comfortable, staff very helpful, breakfast fully stocked and overall it was great! Visiting Charles Town and Harpers Ferry found this location to be very convenient. Shopping and restaurants are only an exit away on 9E.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The place is semi convenient and the price is usually good. There is always an issue though. The walls are thin so you hear everything. The remotes in the rooms dont work. Had to replace my room remote twice in one stay. The heating and air units are very noisy. Now let me start with check in. Most of the people are nice enough. The morning staff. The midnight shift. There is one girl works every Tuesday. No personality. No idea how to talk or interact to make a customer feel at home. Now the worst was this past week. The were not only out of yogurt , but had no meat to serve. The woman told me they had a busy weekend and were waiting for the truck to arrive. Now this was a Wednesday morning that they were out of everything. So were they out earlier in the week? I guess my big question do they not care about the customer and their needs. If they new they were low or out , couldnt they have spent a few buck at Costco or sams? Do you care that much about money , and that little about your guest that someone couldn't go and get some stuff to make it an enjoyable breakfast. To me that is the worst in service and management. When your customers suffer because of the bottom line, it wont be long before there is no bottom line. There will be no customers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed at this hotel because of its proximity to work as this was a business trip. There is nothing around this hotel other than a Sheets gas station and the Government Building where I had to work. I stayed 2 nights and the only hi-light were the people who worked there, they are very nice. This place is run-down and the rooms do not have internet. There is a mini-fridge and free continental breakfast with waffles, eggs, sausage, coffee, juice, etc. The rooms on each of the 2 floors share the same hallway so if someone slams the door (like mine did at 2:30AM) it will wake you up. The next time I will drive further to get a place with better facilities, amenities, and more to do in the area, including restaurants.

Room Tip: Room at the end of the halls are quieter as you don't hear as much door slamming. Keep your fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 1937 Short Road, off Short Road exit, Rt. 9 East, Kearneysville, WV 25430
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Kearneysville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kearneysville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Martinsburg Hotel Martinsburg
Martinsburg Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.